We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They almost cheat us ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC
Ranked #130 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“They almost cheat us ....”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel almost try to cheat us when they said they did not have our room and want us to move to other hotel ( which they said closer to magnificent miles ) as we do not have much time in chicago we simply decline their offer we just ask the room that they have. I think I made the right decision , the room itself is clean and pretty good

Location wise is ok , just take the train to take you to magnificent mile area and strolling chicago from there

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    110
    45
    20
    14
See reviews for
68
46
22
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel while on business. It was convenient to UIC and to the "L" back to the airport. It was comfortable, the air conditioning was not loud. It was very clean. The staff was nice. The lounge area seemed a little outdated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ram1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Rooms were were very noisy. They lost outer reservation for the second night and the only way spew could stay was paying an additional $50 for the next night. They said that there was offsite parking for $13.50 but there was only valet paking for $39. The room was do noisy (street noise), the front desk was apathetic they offered me a free drink. Seriously. I don't drink. Never satay here!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmentally friendly? What a joke! This is the only hotel that I have stayed at that doesn't offer an environmental program.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My hubby and I stayed here for a few days after "winning" with priceline. All of the staff members were very friendly and helpful. The shuttle covers a mile radius, which doesn't reach the museums but is sufficient for a dinner trip to Giordano's or elsewhere (the driver had great suggestions!). Plan to spend the $40/day to park if you're driving to town, but know that pretty much every place you'll visit will cost at least another $20 to park while you're there. The mixture of bed pillows wasn't very comfortable, but we asked the front desk for some extra smaller (fluffier) pillows and they provided several, which definitely improved the quality of sleep. The doors seem to slam rather loudly, so be aware that if you're not a sound sleeper you may be woken up several times through the night and have a hard time sleeping late in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel three times in the recent past and it is always a clean and friendly place, with attentive staff who attend to all your needs and are very accommodating. This time I even received an upgrade.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nyneuropsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel was comfortable, and for the most part clean (common areas could use more attention to detail, stain in elevator remained for a day.) I was pleased with the service as well. The phones in my room did not work. Not a big issue since I only use hotel phones to contact hotel guests or front desk. But when the front desk was notified, very late Friday night, Brenda apologized profusely and offered coupons for the breakfast buffet. The hotel restaurant is convenient and has good food.

Room Tip: Being Chicago, parking is ridiculous, so getting a room package with valet parking included is worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JollyTravelerDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Great! Very nice, helpful staff, clean beautiful room, the shuttle took us to a mile of our hotel. Which was HUGE help! They were VERY helpful with reviews of places and things to do. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeriannemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Loop
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#119 of 190 in Chicago
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
West Loop
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago West Loop
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#144 of 190 in Chicago
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC

Property: Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC
Address: 625 S Ashland Ave, Chicago, IL 60607-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located opposite Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Medical Center & University of Illinois-Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Marriott At Medical District/Uic Hotel Chicago
Marriott Chicago Downtown Medical District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing