We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Windy City magic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Ranked #83 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Windy City magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was first class and so were all the staff. The location is ideal as it is only 5 mins walk from the L train station and within easy walking distance of most attraction. Finding it can be a little tricky especially if a large truck is parked in the street outside. The hotel is perched on top of another building which is a clever use of space but the sign is not at normal eye height. The rooms are very spacious with pleasing aspects on all sides. If you get a minute and are looking for a bargain in gentlemen's fashion pop across to the Mart building and visit the gentlemen's out fitters. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicagoMartPlaza, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Paul, We appreciate your kind words and the 5-star review on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased to learn of your magical experience and how convenient our location was for you. Our River North neighborhood offers top notch Chicago restaurants and nightlife within walking distance and various public transportation routes allowing you to travel all over the city! Our Staff continuously strives to provide our guests with quality service and we look forward to serving you on your next trip to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    816
    304
    93
    68
See reviews for
489
438
100
655
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Hotel is very nice and clean, with good staff always keen to help. A good location and our room gave us a great view on the river. The hotel is situted in walking distance to most of the sights to see and a great way to see the city and get a bit of history is to take a river cruise. Not sure on the cost as this was part of a big package.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicagoMartPlaza, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Alan, We thank you for your 5-star TripAdvisor review and are happy you enjoyed your recent experience! Our convenient River North location puts our guests only a few minutes walking distance to top Chicago restaurants, bars, and nightlife with public transportation attached via skywalk from our hotel allowing guests to conveniently travel the entire city! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Nice location, great view, the kids enjoyed the pool and Russell the concierge made a terrific dinner and drinks plan for my wife and I, while the kids stayed in with a babysitter, as well as a couple of other great tourist suggestions.

We really enjoyed our trip to Chicago for a big city visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicagoMartPlaza, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your experience and the 5-star review on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed our convenient River North location. Our heated, indoor atrium pool is a wonderful way for guests to enjoy an energizing swim or relax after a long day. We are glad Russell was able to provide recommendations and you had a chance to go out on the town! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next big city visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were nice and clean, but from the moment we checked in, it felt like we were putting the front desk clerk out. He was less than helpful when giving directions to the self park lot. Luckily the gentlemen at the concierge and vallet were very helpful.

We asked for a refridgerator and was informed there was a $25 fee. Over an hour later, it hadn't arrived so we again called the front desk. After being put on hold for over 10 minutes, my husband went down to the lobby to see what the holdup was. When he talked to the front desk clerk, he was told the order was never entered into the system. He was offered a cursory apology. An hour and a half after our initial call we received our fridge.

While the view was nice (don't fall for the $9 optional "upgrade" for a higher floor as all the rooms are 16 floors up or higher), the location decent, and the bed was comfortable, I have stayed in two star hotels with better service and expected more from this chain.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cragbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicagoMartPlaza, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Traveler, While we are pleased you found our accommodations nice and clean and enjoyed the view from your room, we regret that we were not able to live up to your expectations on the service provided by our Staff. Our #1 priority is to provide our guests with superior customer service and ensure every guest has a wonderful experience at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North. We appreciate your comments and thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention as we have shared them with our Staff. We hope you give us another opportunity to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed in this hotel to attend a wedding that was being held at the same location. The hotel is attached to Merchandise Mart (a large train station), so it's easy to get to and from transit. Check-in was a breeze and we went straight to our room on the 17th floor. We had a great view of the river and the views of the city at night are amazing. We decided against paying extra for a room on the 20th-23rd floors and don't regret that decision. The hotel starts on the 15th floor of the building, so you are sure to have an amazing view at any floor. The rooms are renovated, clean and spacious for a "city hotel room." We had plenty of space for the two of us (comfortable king bed + large couch). Our room was a connecting room, but we didn't hear much from the rooms next door or the open atrium area.

We had a drink at the bar one night, which was nice. Enjoy your drink there and enjoy the expansive views! There are not a ton of restaurants in the immediate area (such as with hotels closer to Michigan Ave), but it's not a far walk to find anything - and public transit is easy. We never needed a cab (opting for walking or the train), but cabs are readily available right in front of the hotel.

Russell at the Concierge Desk was AMAZING. He knows anything and everything to know about Chicago - where to eat, where to shop, and how to get there. He directed us to Lou Malnati's for great Chicago style, deep dish pizza. He also gives great tips, such as the small pizza would be plenty for my husband and I - thanks for the tip, you were right!!! We decided against eating at the hotel restaurant simply because of the cost and we wanted to explore the city. The breakfast buffet was about $22. Other breakfast dishes were less expensive, but to add certain things like bacon, it cost an additional $4.50. We made the 20 minute trek to Wildberry Pancake Café (near Millennium Park...Russell will help you get there). We waited about 40 minutes for a table, but once you ordered, the food came out pretty quickly. The wait was SOOO worth it! INCREDIBLE food at a reasonable price - can't beat that.

The wedding was beautiful as well! The ballrooms all have expansive views of the city, which is gorgeous at night. The wait staff was attentive and the food and drink selection all tasted great. The newly married couple and all guests danced into the night and had a great time. Thank you for providing a great time for this special occasion!

Check out was just as easy. With directions on how to get to the airport (Midway) from Russell, we were on our way to the train through Merchandise Mart.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkg04d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicagoMartPlaza, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Traveler, Thank you for the great 5-star review on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased you had a wonderful stay and the wedding was a beautiful and memorable experience. We love that you had the chance to experience Cityscape Bar with its specialty cocktails and expansive Chicago River and skyline views, and we hope you have the opportunity to try our new restaurant, Merchant’s Café opening in the next few months. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife was staying at the hotel for a conference and was to receive an award -- something she didn't know in advance. I called the hotel, asking that a bottle of wine -- and a message -- be delivered to her room after the awards ceremony.
Staff members Dominique Anderson and Thomas Robertson handled my request professionally and compassionately. As a result, I received an e-mail from my wife this morning: "Great evening. The best part was the bottle of wine."
I appreciate the kindness and professionalism of the staff.
Michael G.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicagoMartPlaza, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Michael, Thank you for the 5-star review on TripAdvisor! It was our pleasure to be able to accommodate your request and congratulations to your wife on her award! We will be sure to pass along your kind words to Dominique and Thomas. We hope that you have the opportunity to stay with us as during your next visit to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I flew in to Chicago for NeoCon last week and loved the fact The Holiday Inn was a short walk to the Mart without having to go outside. However the hotel did lack in other areas that should be looked into by staff.

One housekeeping issue was that as I was walking to and from the convention, I saw maids staging their clean pillows on the floor in the hallways. I didn't really think much of it until I realized I wouldn't want to put my face on those pillows. (easy fix)

larger issue were the lack of a fridge and microwave in the rooms. This is a big deal considering I am traveling away from home meaning any sort of food or restaurant-leftovers wouldn't be saved if I didn't have a fridge. I was able to talk the front desk into giving me a fridge to put half my deep dish pizza in, but they were unable to accommodate a microwave. their solution was to walk my food down to the lobby/restaurant and have them heat it. Walking down to the lobby holding my plate of pizza wouldn't be the first thing id like in my hands if I were to run into a client of mine. I don't know what the majority of you think but I hate cold pizza (i know, i know, crazy). I've dealt with not having a microwave during previous NeoCon's but I think now it's time for a change.

Overall this is a solid hotel, despite the overpriced food, but that's to be expected.

Room Tip: book in advance if going for a convention
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicagoMartPlaza, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Ryan, We appreciate the feedback on your recent stay. We have exciting news to share; the hotel is replacing all pillows with new, deluxe king-sized pillows! Our Housekeeping Staff is currently in the process of switching them out and that is why the old pillows were temporarily in the hallway. For future stays, refrigerators are available to guests per request, and some guest rooms do already come with a refrigerator. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#110 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Near North Side
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Address: 350 West Mart Center Drive, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#80 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enhance your family vacation, corporate travel, or romantic getaway by staying at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North. Located atop the Chicago Sun-Times building presenting the best views of the Windy City from a unique 15th floor atrium lobby, our full-service hotel welcomes you with 521 newly redesigned guestrooms and suites, stellar service, and premium amenities that are most comforting to both leisure and business travelers. Amenities includes complimentary Wi-Fi throughout guestrooms and lobby, LCD flat-screen TVs with cable, premium channel access, and Pay Per View movies, over sized work desk, heated indoor atrium pool, 24-hour fitness facility, complimentary business center, and Concierge services. Guests of the contemporary Mart Plaza will find themselves in the middle of downtown Chicago's bustling River North area offering the top restaurant and nightlife options, within walking distance of the Loop, the main business district, and Michigan Avenue, aka the "Magnificent Mile" where chic shops and restaurants abound. Walk across the fully enclosed pedway into the Merchandise Mart where you can ride a train to just about anywhere in the city, including attractions like Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Plan a visit to Chicago and let the Mart Plaza and our award-winning staff provide you with a memorable experience and lasting impression. The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North is located 3 miles from Chicago's McCormick Convention Center, 12 miles from Midway International Airport, and 18 miles from O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Mart Plaza Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Mart Plaza
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing