We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views, Great Location, Clean Rooms and Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Ranked #82 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Views, Great Location, Clean Rooms and Friendly Staff”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I attended a work related conference and stayed here as it was the conference hotel. I guess I wasn't expecting much but in the end was really impressed by the hotel. Overall it was very clean, and peaceful (until the High School groups showed up on the day we were wrapping up). The room was clean and, as luck would have it, on the 23 floor facing north. I had an incredible view. So nice I left the curtains open all the time. The views on the opposite side had more of the city with the Willis tower (Sears Tower for us old timers!) viewable. Ask for the top floor! The views are worth it!

I only ate at the restaurant once, and the food was wonderful. The hotel itself is within walking distance of the Millennium Park, the Sky Ledge and many wonderful restaurants and art museums (meaning less then a mile one way). The staff were friendly and helpful as well. Always present, but never overbearing. Very friendly and always gave me a smile when I said hello.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

One comment, you enter on the ground floor, but the lobby is actually on the 15th floor so don't be alarmed when you walk in and see a doorman at a counter and not much else. Just head past that station to the elevators and go up to 15! Also, there are two sets of elevators. One takes you to the first, 14th and 15th floors only. One takes you to all the floors up to 15 ... but those require you push the floor you want on the keypad, which then tells you which elevator you take.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room, facing either the Willis Tower, or on the opposite side of the building. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skipper M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Recent Guest, thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate the wonderful review and our so pleased that you enjoyed our views. We are especially proud of our Friendly staff. We look forward to your next trip to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    860
    308
    96
    71
See reviews for
521
453
104
693
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Room was very nicely redone with modern fixtures and furniture. Could have spent a little in soundproofing but overall very nice and very friendly staff. Had pleasant view toward east of river and skyline. Could hear neighbor on the phone pretty clearly, as well as folks in the hall.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank washermfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Recent Guest, we appreciate your comments. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is located on the 15th floor of the Mart plaza and as such is a little hidden away. The views are spectacular from the Bar and from the rooms on the river side. It is easy walking distance to the Theater district, close to the Brown line El and the loop. Simple to get to from Midway on the El and well worth the cost! The only meal I ate there was breakfast and that was well prepared and served quickly. Tom the concierge sent us to two wonderful restaraunts. The staff was uniformly friendly and very helpful!

Room Tip: Get a room on the river side for great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dallas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Recent Guest, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I just spent 4 nights at the Holiday Inn Mart Plaza. WE had a great stay. Carlos at the desk was very helpful. We had a newly remodeled room which was great and we had a great view of the river. The location is terrific and we could walk to everywhere we needed in Chicago.. Lots of great restaurants nearby and the staff was great with recommendations. The hotel is also unique in that the lobby is on the 15 floor. If in Chicago we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Howard, thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, the first of 13 hotels on our Route 66 trip. Greeted by a friendly helpful lady at the check in desk where we were upgraded to a kingsize room and we didn't even use the honeymoon card (they must have known through the booking). Lovely, clean, spacious room with the most amazing view. Great start to a great trip. Thankyou holiday Inn!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Jenny, thank you! We hope that you can visit us again soon. And, really appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a four night stay for a conference. The highest marks go to the housekeeping and maintenance staff. Wherever we encountered them in the hotel they smiled and said hello, and wished us a good day. They appeared genuinely pleased we were staying there. That was not the uniform experience with other staff, who weren't necessarily unfriendly, they just didn't make it a point to initiate a friendly encounter. The lowest marks go to the condition of the room. We had read the reviews about a big rehab of this hotel, but from our experience it must not have been on the rooms. The furnishings in our room were pretty worn and nicked up, and were of a style we hadn't seen for many years. One nightstand had holes drilled in the top, where apparently a lamp or radio had once been secured against theft. There wasn't even an attempt to fill the holes.
We felt the room didn't warrant even the reduced conference rate. If you have business at the Merchandise Mart, the location is good. Otherwise, it's a hike to Michigan Ave. and some restaurant areas. This would have been a two star review if not for those welcoming staff mentioned above.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodside79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Recent Guest, thank you so much for the review. We appreciate that you mentioned our housekeeping and maintenance staffs. Our entire staff appreciates your business we can assure you. we are assuming that you did occupy some of the rooms left to be completed in December, after that all of our 521 rooms will be completely re-modeled and re-designed. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Was here for a convention in October 2013.

Pros:
1. Location - 15 to 20 min to Millennium Park, 15-20 min walk to John Hancock Observatory
and about 20min walk to Navy Pier. Surrounding the area also with a lot of restaurants
ranging from Halal to Thai, American, Italian, french, etc.
2. Clean area
3. Friendly Staff
4. Nice swimming pool
5. Good aerobic machines
6. Good on-site bar/lounge/restaurant (though quite pricey)
7. Easy access to the Plaza Mart which has a small shopping area and connection to the
subway all being in-doors.
8. Rooms are nice, clean, and has the essentials. Some rooms have great view.
9. One free HBO channel
10. Free Wifi Internet
11. The whole decor and make of the Hotel is pretty.

Cons:
1. Machine weights need to be updated. Some of the equipment are damage and poise a
danger to guest.
2. You have to take either 2 different elevator to get to the hotel lobby or an escalator followed
by elevator.
3. No free parking for guest

Overall, I would definitely stay again given the Pros greatly outweighs the cons. There are other hotels around but ou should check for pricing of the rooms to compare.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Recent Guest, thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return. Please notice our all new fitness equipment and indoor pool furniture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#119 of 190 in Chicago
686 reviews
West Loop
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Address: 350 West Mart Center Drive, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#80 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enhance your family vacation, corporate travel, or romantic getaway by staying at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North. Located atop the Chicago Sun-Times building presenting the best views of the Windy City from a unique 15th floor atrium lobby, our full-service hotel welcomes you with 521 newly redesigned guestrooms and suites, stellar service, and premium amenities that are most comforting to both leisure and business travelers. Amenities includes complimentary Wi-Fi throughout guestrooms and lobby, LCD flat-screen TVs with cable, premium channel access, and Pay Per View movies, over sized work desk, heated indoor atrium pool, 24-hour fitness facility, complimentary business center, and Concierge services. Guests of the contemporary Mart Plaza will find themselves in the middle of downtown Chicago's bustling River North area offering the top restaurant and nightlife options, within walking distance of the Loop, the main business district, and Michigan Avenue, aka the "Magnificent Mile" where chic shops and restaurants abound. Walk across the fully enclosed pedway into the Merchandise Mart where you can ride a train to just about anywhere in the city, including attractions like Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Plan a visit to Chicago and let the Mart Plaza and our award-winning staff provide you with a memorable experience and lasting impression. The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North is located 3 miles from Chicago's McCormick Convention Center, 12 miles from Midway International Airport, and 18 miles from O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Mart Plaza Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Mart Plaza
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing