We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Holiday Inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Ranked #83 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
SAINT PETERSBURG
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday Inn!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel is great! Once you locate (Merchandise Mart - lobby on 15th floor) it's wonderful! Great room, great service. Not at all what I'd anticipated for a Holiday Inn. Great location, depending on room location you have a great view of the river.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Focused77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    842
    306
    96
    71
See reviews for
513
448
103
686
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a 3 day weekend to attend a wedding. The Holiday Inn, Mart Plaza, was the assigned hotel. I was impressed during our stay. The check in was very easy, efficient and welcoming. The concierge was very helpful in providing some eating recommendations. I found all the employees, in fact, very engaging. They wanted to earn your respect and did. They were proactive and friendly....someone is doing a great job in training.

Rooms are clean, the place is safe, the bar overlooking the city provided a perfect closure for a wonderful evening.

Kudos to the Holiday Inn for a job well done.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REGOR6649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Robert Brooks, the concierge, is a real gem! He is knowledgeable about the area and was unfailingly helpful. The room was spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable. The location is central, with easy access to transportation and all parts of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmaxjfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Recent Guest, We agree; Robert our Concierge is the best! Thank you for your recommendation and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northbrook
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had an amazing weekend spent downtown at the Holiday Inn Mart Plaza. Emily Cohen did not miss a single detail of our specifications for the room. She was so helpful and provided great service! The room was clean, beautiful and quiet! Room service was speedy and attentive as well. We will be back there soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Anniversary Guests, thank you for the wonderful review. We are so pleased that you mentioned our staff by name and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Holiday Inn hosted our group for business meeting and dining, and could not have done a better job. Staff was extremely friendly and eager to help from start to finish. The food tasted great and the view from their CityScape bar was relaxing and gorgeous. Great experience overall.. We look forward to working with Holiday Inn Mart Plaza again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 827LaurenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Business Traveler, thank you so much for your recommendation. We are very pleased and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcohen75
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Choosing a staycation for our 10 year anniversary was a perfect choice. Selecting the Holiday Inn Mart Plaza made me look like a stud. The room was new updated, clean and spacious. The staff was super friendly including Emily at the front desk and Todd at the concierge table. Both worked extra hard to make our stay a very special one. The room view was stunning as we saw both the east / west and north/south river. Noise was not an issue. Will defiantly stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view
See more room tips
Green Features: Always great to find a place that cares about the environment.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcohen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Anniversary Guest, we couldn't be more pleased that you chose this special occasion to stay with us. And, we are so happy it turned out above your expectations. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Great survice, big rooms and the location is excellent. Todd is great and the rest of the staff as well. Breakfast is great, something for everyone at the Italiasia restaurant. The view from the bar is lovely, over the river and the city. I woulf love to come back and then with my family.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gthorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Recent Guest, thank you for your review. We look forward to your return! Thank you for mentioning Todd, we will share this with him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#119 of 190 in Chicago
671 reviews
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
West Loop
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Address: 350 West Mart Center Drive, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#80 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enhance your family vacation, corporate travel, or romantic getaway by staying at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North. Located atop the Chicago Sun-Times building presenting the best views of the Windy City from a unique 15th floor atrium lobby, our full-service hotel welcomes you with 521 newly redesigned guestrooms and suites, stellar service, and premium amenities that are most comforting to both leisure and business travelers. Amenities includes complimentary Wi-Fi throughout guestrooms and lobby, LCD flat-screen TVs with cable, premium channel access, and Pay Per View movies, over sized work desk, heated indoor atrium pool, 24-hour fitness facility, complimentary business center, and Concierge services. Guests of the contemporary Mart Plaza will find themselves in the middle of downtown Chicago's bustling River North area offering the top restaurant and nightlife options, within walking distance of the Loop, the main business district, and Michigan Avenue, aka the "Magnificent Mile" where chic shops and restaurants abound. Walk across the fully enclosed pedway into the Merchandise Mart where you can ride a train to just about anywhere in the city, including attractions like Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Plan a visit to Chicago and let the Mart Plaza and our award-winning staff provide you with a memorable experience and lasting impression. The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North is located 3 miles from Chicago's McCormick Convention Center, 12 miles from Midway International Airport, and 18 miles from O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelPower, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Mart Plaza Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Mart Plaza
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing