We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient but good.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Ranked #83 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Convenient but good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The room was booked by our tour company and I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, as was the bathroom, and well provisioned. Very convenient hotel to get to just about anywhere in Chicago. The breakfast was disappointing and slightly misleading - the first day I chose from the menu, the second I had the buffet and hadn't expected the buffet to be more expensive than the a la carte menu. Chose the buffet as the "skillet" had defeated me, so I had thought I could have something lighter as we were spending the day travelling, but was shocked when it was a good few $'s more than expected especially as we weren't warned.
Otherwise good stay. Excellent concierge service, (well done Todd!) informative and helpful gave us good ideas for sightseeing and an excellent suggestion for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank william v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    816
    304
    93
    68
See reviews for
489
438
100
655
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ann arbor
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We chose the Holiday Inn near the Merchandise Mart because of the great price for the long Easter weekend. Other properties near the Magnificent Mile were about $100 more per night. We've always enjoyed this area of town. This hotel is on the river and most views are pretty great unless you get an interior court yard room. The hotel is located next door to the Merchandise Mart, which is cool for a quick eat or if like us you want to take advantage of the public transportation, the "L" has a stop at the mart that you can reach via walkway to the mart. The hotel is located on the upper floors of the Chicago Sun Times building. There is parking $40 per day that allows you to come and go. This hotel is within walking distance to lots of great eats. Shopping and shows are easily reached as well. This area is not as busy as say hotels located near the magnificent mile. We were able to reach the museum campus in about 20 minutes via the "L" and a bus. Our kids enjoyed walking along the river and looking at famous Chicago landmarks. The hotel has a very updated look with friendly staff. The room was great, it would have been better if the beds were queens instead of doubles. but we manged okay.The pool area was nice and there were a few families enjoying it. If you enjoy Chicago deep dish, there are several famous pizzerias within walking distance to the hotel. I would highly reccommend this hotel for families. This is also a great location for those arriving by train. the Amtrak station is less than a mile away. This is a good location if arriving by plane since this hotel is located off the brown line of the CTA via the Mart. Pack your walking shoes because you can cover quite alot of ground at this hotel. Hotel is a good location for shopping on Michigan or shopping on State Street. Navy Pier and Millenium Park are not too far away either. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view and watch the tour boats float by. All rooms are on the 16th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cadchick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed Easter weekend to see friends/family. Great spot right on the river. If you don't mind walking, this is a good spot with reasonable rates and great staff. Took the Orange line from Midway and dropped off 2 blocks from the hotel. Staff was super friendly and the place was very clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you so very much for your recent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location. The good news is that our renovation of guest rooms is just about complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
208 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Terrible customer service & a gross/dangerous room. Was told that we get free breakfast when we checked out @ 11:15am. "Forgot to give you the 2 coupons @ check in yesterday." The $50 I spent off site this morning for breakfast could have been avoided, this made me really happy! Room was junk as well. No outlet wall plate that my 1 year old found when playing, very dangerous. Red stain on wall, scuff marks everywhere, lumpy bed = terrible sleep & 1/2 the channels didn't work. Asked @ check out where we pay for our parking and was greeted with an attitude "why didn't you tell me that first" insert sigh... Never told me how much parking even was. Terrible experience. Thanks for nothing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Partyof5ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Partyof5ish,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the conditions of the room, and your interactions with the staff prevented you from being able to fully enjoy your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I just returned from an enjoyable weekend in Chicago staying at and attending a wedding held at the Holiday Inn Mart Plaza. The location was great although you have to be willing to walk several blocks to get to Michigan Ave which we didn 't mind. There are many nice restaurants within easy walking distance if one doesn't want to venture too far. Overall the hotel was very nice with spacious and comfortable rooms. The venue for the wedding was lovely with great views of the river and city as a back drop. The bar was great with 2walls of windows with beautiful views of the city and river. The downside was the rooms are tired and in need of a bit of a facelift. Also, the restrooms were quite a distance from the wedding area which was inconvenient.

Room Tip: It seems all rooms have a nice view overlooking the river so you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you so very much for your recent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Chicago to go to a play and also attend a White Sox game. This location made both events either walkable or close to public transportation. The staff at the front desk and the dining couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. The room was very clean and spacious. The only issue we could find was that it is quite expensive, even on a weekend.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Recent Guest, thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your comments about our staff, we pride ourselves in our customer service and will share this with our staff. Please visist us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was my first trip to Chicago and I think the hotel was located in the perfect spot for us. As we are photographers and loved all the architecture along the river.The proximity to the Merchandise Mart station was excellent. It made getting around Chicago even easier. The common areas of the hotel were nice enough and the views from the bar fabulous. The rooms, however, left so much to be desired. They are truly in need of an update. We booked this hotel for a great deal through Priceline, so I can't really complain, as it was over 50% cheaper than anything else in that area. If I had paid full price though, I'm not sure I would have been as thrilled.

The price to park, by the way, is outrageous, but to be fair, most of Chicago's parking is highway robbery, literally!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeletingAccount123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Recent Guest,
thank you for your comments and your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#110 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Near North Side
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Address: 350 West Mart Center Drive, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#80 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enhance your family vacation, corporate travel, or romantic getaway by staying at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North. Located atop the Chicago Sun-Times building presenting the best views of the Windy City from a unique 15th floor atrium lobby, our full-service hotel welcomes you with 521 newly redesigned guestrooms and suites, stellar service, and premium amenities that are most comforting to both leisure and business travelers. Amenities includes complimentary Wi-Fi throughout guestrooms and lobby, LCD flat-screen TVs with cable, premium channel access, and Pay Per View movies, over sized work desk, heated indoor atrium pool, 24-hour fitness facility, complimentary business center, and Concierge services. Guests of the contemporary Mart Plaza will find themselves in the middle of downtown Chicago's bustling River North area offering the top restaurant and nightlife options, within walking distance of the Loop, the main business district, and Michigan Avenue, aka the "Magnificent Mile" where chic shops and restaurants abound. Walk across the fully enclosed pedway into the Merchandise Mart where you can ride a train to just about anywhere in the city, including attractions like Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Plan a visit to Chicago and let the Mart Plaza and our award-winning staff provide you with a memorable experience and lasting impression. The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North is located 3 miles from Chicago's McCormick Convention Center, 12 miles from Midway International Airport, and 18 miles from O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Mart Plaza Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Mart Plaza
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing