We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A city stay without all the noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Ranked #82 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A city stay without all the noise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was a very nice and clean hotel with a bar and two choices of restaurants. The main problem was that you had to take two different elevators to get to your room since the hotel starts on the 15th floor of the Chicago Sun Times building. Parking was expensive, $24 a day, but available. All of the staff was quite helpful with whatever questions you had. The matre d' of the morning restaurant even loaned me his reading glasses since I had forgotten mine.
Adequate rooms freshly remodeled. Nice swimming pool and exercise room. Wish it had a hot tub though.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if you want a view of the city. We overlooked the swimming pool (inner circle) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Recent Guest,
thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    823
    304
    94
    68
See reviews for
497
439
99
662
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houghton, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great Hotel, Clean rooms, Friendly staff, awesome view, great price. The location is not the best since you need to walk about 20 minutes to N Michigan Ave. But everything else was great. The hotel lobby is on 15th floor. The bar at 15th floor has a nice view to Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Recent Guest,
we appreciate your review and your endorsement. While we are slightly off Michigan Avenue, the River North Area of Chicago is the Dining and Nightlife attraction area of Chicago. We hope you had time to enjoy that as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We booked this hotel not knowing its identity through a third party booking agent- our first experience using this method. When we found out it was a Holiday Inn, we were a bit hesitant because of our prior poor experiences with this hotel chain two decades ago. The cost was $86/ night + tax, a substantial savings over the normal rates for this hotel.

We arrived at the hotel in the morning well ahead of the check-in time of 3:00 PM. The clerk initially told us she could pre-book us but not give us a room. However, when she looked at our reservation and saw we had already pre-paid she immediately gave us a room.

While the double room only looked out onto the indoor pool, it was spacious, clean and had a recently renovated bathroom. During our entire stay we found the room to be quiet.

The hotel is located on top of the Sun Times building and required taking 2 elevators to get to our room. This might be annoying to some people. The staff was friendly and accomodating.
They provided us with suggestions for local restaurants. We tried two of those suggestions and were very pleased.

While the hotel is not located in the Loop, it was only about a 15 minute walk from the "L". There is free Wi-Fi which was consistently easy to access. Overall, we were pleased with our accomodations.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from elevators and vending machines and this is what we were given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nashvillewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Recent guest,
Thank you for your reviewing and for staying with us. We’re glad you found us and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
263 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Love this place! Stay here at least twice a year for business and have not been disappointed yet. Got one of the remodeled rooms on the 20th floor and it was great. Would've thought that a remodeled room would've had a thermostat on the wall instead of the noisy unit since the adjoining room had one, but...

My only complaint about this room was the bathroom. The bathroom was gorgeous and remodeled, but the toilet was soooooo low. This may not sound like a big deal, but when you have two bad knees which need to be replaced, having a toilet so low to the ground is very difficult and painful. It also took a long time for my shower water to warm up, but the adjoining room had no trouble getting hot fast. It wasn't a big deal...I just turned on the shower earlier. Can't say enough about this hotel. It is not your typical Holiday Inn and I would stay here again any time!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room overlooking the river....they're bigger and gorgeous. Ask for a room away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbrenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Repeat Guest, thank you for your patronage and thank you for the great review. We also appreciate the “heads up”. Hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Overall a very nice location. Hotel was clean and well maintained. The hotel rooms start at floor 16 and provide a great view of the city. Pool and exccise area are clean and inviting. Easy access from the "L". There is a great deal of dining and shopping in walking distance and the Michigan Avenue shopping district is only a mile away.

Room Tip: Great choice for a stay within the Chicago Loop
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate your comments and feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I recently reserved a room for 3 nights. When making the reservation, we were informed that parking was $39/night (it had been "free" when we came to this hotel for the same purpose in past years) BUT that breakfast was included in our room rate. We figured the "free" breakfast offset some of the parking fee so we proceeded to make the reservation.

Later the first evening, when I asked about how the "free breakfast" was handled (coupons?), I was told I should have received coupons when I checked in and that they would look into it. A bit later that night, we were told that our breakfast would NOT be complimentary and that I'd been "misinformed". This, despite the fact that I was able to give them precise details of my conversations with their reps - names, dates and times, and exactly what I was told. They acknowledged that the name(s) I referenced were in fact their reps, and we agreed on every other detail (room rate, parking fee, etc ...). However, all they would say/do was apologize for the fact that I was "misinformed"!

I told them that the "free breakfast" offer (lie) was a factor in my deciding to book with them, and that I was very upset that I'd been deceived. Again, no response other than they were sorry I'd been "misinformed"!

So, I told them they were "SORRY" alright!! I cancelled the remaining 2 nights of our stay and, don't you know, the Manager on Duty told me that, considering the circumstances, she wouldn't charge us a late cancellation fee! Wow, how gracious was that?! Seriously?! Yes, she was.

Prior to this horrible experience, my family had made many enjoyable trips to this hotel over a 2 decade span. Sadly, despite the family memories, we're very unlikely to return again!

The worst part of this (and other similar experiences) is that their management could have done any # of things to make the situation right (and keep us in the city of Chicago for another 2 nights) and did NOTHING! NADA!! That's the really sad part!! I work for a service business and know that good service recovery can save the day (actually lead to increased customer loyalty). Of course, poor (no) service recovery leads to "Terrible" ratings and poor TripAdvisor recaps!!

So, Holiday Inn Mart Plaza, you're getting what you "earned". Shame on all of you!

P.S. - It's also ironic that I'm a member of Holiday Inn's "Priority Member" club. Can you imagine how this hotel would treat customers who aren't a "Priority"?!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnhappyHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Recent Guest,
we apologize for any misunderstanding. We have included a breakfast in the past with the group that you were here with, but through their contacts we agreed to not do that this last time. We appreciate the information and will research the methods used to relay this information to the attendees. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

It is a great location and beautiful hotel and room. Bed wasn't comfy though and bar was expensive. $12 for a drink. However, the location is great and the hotel is modern and located 4 blocks from the train to airports and you can walk through a building to another (merchandise mart stop) which will take you to purple and brown line.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasdoBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Recent Guest,
thank you for your kind review. We hope that you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#112 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Near North Side
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Address: 350 West Mart Center Drive, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#80 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enhance your family vacation, corporate travel, or romantic getaway by staying at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North. Located atop the Chicago Sun-Times building presenting the best views of the Windy City from a unique 15th floor atrium lobby, our full-service hotel welcomes you with 521 newly redesigned guestrooms and suites, stellar service, and premium amenities that are most comforting to both leisure and business travelers. Amenities includes complimentary Wi-Fi throughout guestrooms and lobby, LCD flat-screen TVs with cable, premium channel access, and Pay Per View movies, over sized work desk, heated indoor atrium pool, 24-hour fitness facility, complimentary business center, and Concierge services. Guests of the contemporary Mart Plaza will find themselves in the middle of downtown Chicago's bustling River North area offering the top restaurant and nightlife options, within walking distance of the Loop, the main business district, and Michigan Avenue, aka the "Magnificent Mile" where chic shops and restaurants abound. Walk across the fully enclosed pedway into the Merchandise Mart where you can ride a train to just about anywhere in the city, including attractions like Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Plan a visit to Chicago and let the Mart Plaza and our award-winning staff provide you with a memorable experience and lasting impression. The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North is located 3 miles from Chicago's McCormick Convention Center, 12 miles from Midway International Airport, and 18 miles from O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Mart Plaza Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Mart Plaza
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing