We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Ranked #83 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great for business”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Clean, comfortable hotel. Nice views. Room service was fast and the food arrived hot. Reasonable rate for a big room. Great shower. Fast internet. Easy access to transit lines through the Merchandise Mart. A small, free breakfast would have been greatly appreciated, but downstairs deli had plenty of selections. Overall, great for business travel, will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tenfootflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Recent Guest,
We appreciate you! And we thank you for taking the time to give us your honest opinion. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    845
    306
    96
    71
See reviews for
513
448
103
687
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, Indiana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on Friday, February 22. Beginning around 1:00 a.m. the couple in the room next to mine had a very loud altercation. They screamed and cursed and slammed things around until I knocked on the wall. They then spent the next 2 hours having extremely loud sex - the woman was literally screaming. There were multiple drunk people in the hallways running from room to room, slamming doors, etc. The walls and doors are very thin and you can hear everything going on in the hall. I was in town for business and only got about 2 hours worth of sleep. Absolutely ridiculous. I expected more from this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Recent Guest,
thank you for your review and opinion. We certainly are interested in the your enjoyment of your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Title says it all - this place is great. Sadly, I was only here for 2 nights, but man, if all Holiday Inns were like this one, the Ritz-Carlton would have to be worried. I had a very reasonable corporate rate, and had a great corner room on a high floor with floor-to-ceiling windows. I had a beautiful view of the Chicago River, and a not-so-beautiful view of the train yard (but hey, it comes with the territory). I'll definitely stay here when I get back to Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisK6884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Recent Guest,
thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate you and do hope you will visit us again soon. See our web site or Facebook page for exciting reasons to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the Mart Plaza on a last minute decision for valentines day. We used Hot site that is wired and received a rate we couldn't pass up. The room we stayed in was 1936 and did not face towards the river (no big deal to us since we mainly just slept and showered there) The room was updated and has a modern look that was pleasing, but not over the top. The noise level of the walls was a little thin, but we had a quiet area of the hotel, so we let that slide as we heard nothing.The moment we walked in we were greeted with hellos and how are you from everybody we encountered, It seemed the word was out about service and attitude and they might be trying to turn it around for the better.The location of the hotel is a little out of the way from Michigan ave. specially since it was 20 degrees and windy, about a 15 or 20 minute walk. A great little diner for breakfast about a 10 minute walk away was called Brunch. (Highly recommended) Overall, i give the hotel a rating of 7 out of 10 and a good value for a hotel in Chicago, if your not looking to be on the Mile.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yngmichcpple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Recent Guest,
we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you again. We will strive for you to give us a 10 next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

There were several things that made this experience sub-par. First of all, based on the pictures provided by the website, I was expecting a wonderful view of the city, little did I know our room would have the view of the opposite side of the hotel, so in other words, there was absolutely no view. Secondly, it was very difficult to get to our room from the ground level because half of the elevators weren't working and there was construction going on throughout the hotel. Thirdly, the pillows in the room were extremely uncomfortable, so I ended up sleeping without a pillow. On top of all this, the tv guide was not correct, so I ended up missing the basketball game that I was anticipating on enjoying. Overall, not a good experience at all and I felt like the website and the expectations were misleading. I will not stay here again and would not recommend this to any of my friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Recent Guest,
we do apologize for your experience. This is not typical of what the majority of our guests comment. We would like to hear more about your recent visit, if you care to contact us we can be reached at flangan@martplaza.com or 312/529-1112.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviston, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here over the summer when our family took a vacation to Chicago. You will have an amazing view no matter what room you have. The service was great, and the lobby was pretty cool. I will admit the breakfast was very pricey, but it tasted good. Some rooms were updated, some were not. The only problem I had was getting a bottle of water. When I stayed there all the vending machines were sold out. Your best bet for getting some chips or soda would be at the shop on the first floor. They sell everything and more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke13068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Luke,
Thank you so much for the kind review. We hope that you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, NC
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here for almost 9 months; after the renovations from IHG, it's really outstanding. Comfortable rooms, nice layout and great location. A quick walk to the hot spots and downtown but very nice and quiet due to the location. Bar is nice, view is spectacular - never used the banquet rooms but would appear a wonderful place for a reception. Resturant is a bit on the odd side (Ital-asia) since I'd never have thought of an Italian-Asian mix but food is pretty good - I'm a big fan of the pizza. Service is good - people friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this one to anyone on a visit or on business.

Room Tip: Stay on the upper floors if you can for better views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you so much for this outstanding review. We are so pleased that you are pleased. We look forward to your next visit and continue to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#119 of 190 in Chicago
677 reviews
West Loop
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Address: 350 West Mart Center Drive, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#80 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enhance your family vacation, corporate travel, or romantic getaway by staying at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North. Located atop the Chicago Sun-Times building presenting the best views of the Windy City from a unique 15th floor atrium lobby, our full-service hotel welcomes you with 521 newly redesigned guestrooms and suites, stellar service, and premium amenities that are most comforting to both leisure and business travelers. Amenities includes complimentary Wi-Fi throughout guestrooms and lobby, LCD flat-screen TVs with cable, premium channel access, and Pay Per View movies, over sized work desk, heated indoor atrium pool, 24-hour fitness facility, complimentary business center, and Concierge services. Guests of the contemporary Mart Plaza will find themselves in the middle of downtown Chicago's bustling River North area offering the top restaurant and nightlife options, within walking distance of the Loop, the main business district, and Michigan Avenue, aka the "Magnificent Mile" where chic shops and restaurants abound. Walk across the fully enclosed pedway into the Merchandise Mart where you can ride a train to just about anywhere in the city, including attractions like Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Plan a visit to Chicago and let the Mart Plaza and our award-winning staff provide you with a memorable experience and lasting impression. The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North is located 3 miles from Chicago's McCormick Convention Center, 12 miles from Midway International Airport, and 18 miles from O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Mart Plaza Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Mart Plaza
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing