We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed review--Good & Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Ranked #83 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Waynes Fort, IN
Level Contributor
165 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A mixed review--Good & Bad”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had the opportunity to stay at the Holiday inn Mart in Chicago last weekend as fifteen years ago we used to stay there repeatedly until it had slid down hill. We thought we'd try it again remembering a great view and reserved a river view room for two nights to try it again. The first negative impression was parking in the "handicapped" parking area in the lower level and walking down a terribly long hallway treking our way to a series of elevators to finally get to the lobby which is not terribly fun when you can barely walk. Getting to the lobby we found a less than cordial individual who quickly provided the keys to a room with a "view anything but the river" finally he grudgingly did switch us to a room with at least some view even though not that expected. SO TO SUMMARIZE THE BAD PART ACCESS SUCKS AND THE DESK CLERK WAS IRRITATING AND ARROGANT ENOUGHT TO DISCOURAGE ANYONE FROM RETURNING..
AS FOR THE GOOD...we ordered room service and it was excellent and prices were fair. The room was very clean as were the halls and other areas. The buffet breakfast was good although not worth $20 and the rest of the experience was fine.
We may try again as we are in Chicago often but will likely park elsewhere and cab to the Hotel as they don't appear to have valet parking here and the walk is a killer for anyone with a handicap. We would also recommend that they admonish their clerks to attempt the professionalism and courtesy we have always encountered at all other upscale Chicago Hotels as they are the first impression a client encounters.
Try it but take your walking shoes and ignore arrogant clerks

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doug12345bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,
The experience that you describe is definitely not the level of service that we strive to provide. We would be very interested in speaking to you in person. I can be reached at (312) 529-1130 or at tmiu@martplaza.com.

Sincerely, Tony Miu, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    822
    304
    93
    68
See reviews for
496
438
99
661
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn - Mart Plaza with a bachelor party in June 2012. The location of the hotel is in close proximity to the train and there were always taxis around, making it quick and easy to get around town.

It was a little bit off the beaten path from the restaurants and other attractions that we wanted to get to, but the price we paid to stay for the weekend was worth it.

The service was good and the hotel bar was excellent, with views of downtown (as you'll see here on the TripAdvisor website).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you very much for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
320 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel meets all of the typical Holiday Inn standards. It's a nice hotel with an interesting layout (all the rooms are in a square, around a pleasant atrium), and the rooms are generously sized. The room I had was actually quite large, but that may be because I'm a Priority Club member. The room was furnished modernly, with a flat screen TV, work desk, and complimentary WiFi, and it had nice linens and Bath and Body Works amenities in the bathroom. There was a nice bar in the lobby with windows overlooking the Chicago River and downtown, and also a restaurant (but I didn't eat there, so can't review it). The staff was welcoming and efficient. The location isn't my preferred for staying in Chicago, because I prefer to stay near Michigan Ave, and this hotel is about 6 blocks west - but it was a pleasant enough walk to get to Michigan Ave. It is nice that there is an El station in the Merchandise Mart, which is connected to the building this Holiday Inn is in by a covered walkway, so that would be convenient for anyone wanting access to public transportation.

I only have a couple minor complaints about this hotel. First, the beds themselves in Holiday Inns just aren't that comfortable in comparison to those offered in Hiltons or Marriotts. The beds are a bit too hard for my taste, but they're not terrible. The thing that's even worse, for me, is that the pillows are too big. They are too thick, which often results in a sore neck the next morning. Some Holiday Inn hotels offer a variety of pillows, marked with a ribbon and/or a tag, indicating if they are 'soft' or 'hard'. This is a nice feature, but it doesn't address the problem that they are too THICK. They need to offer some that are more thin. So, unfortunately, after staying at this hotel for two nights, my neck and back hurt, resulting in less than wonderful sleep quality.

Otherwise, though, this is a lovely hotel and I'd recommend it to those who like the Holiday Inn brand, and who would enjoy staying in this particular area of downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethanieKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,
We are so pleased that you found us and chose to stay at the Holiday Inn Brand. We value your business and hope that you visit us again in the future. By the way, we are changing our pillows in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is a little off the beaten path. It is north of the Loop and west of the Magnificent Mile area. I was suffering from a leg injury when I stayed here, and while the Merchandise Mart 'L' station is a straight shot through a skywalk, it was a long and painful walk for me. The hotel obviously has nothing to do with my injury, but visitors will want to know it's not just around the corner from all the sights. It's not badly located, though, and the rates here are quite a bit better than at hotels on Michigan Avenue or right in the heart of the Loop.

Entering the hotel is a bit odd, particularly when coming from the 'L'. After going through the mall at Merchandise Mart and across the skywalk, you enter the second floor of the Sun-Times building. You must then go down an escalator to street level and then up an elevator to the hotel lobby. They would do well to have signage for the hotel in Merchandise Mart itself and better directions to and from the 'L' station on their website.

The lobby was pleasant (with lovely Christmas decorations), check-in was efficient, and all the staff members I dealt with were very pleasant. My room overlooked the Chicago River and had a fantastic view of all the famous buildings in the Loop. Something the hotel might consider would be to have a brochure identifying the buildings, so guests know just what they're looking at. This view is the hotel's best feature. I've stayed in many Chicago hotels, and this has by far the best view of any of them.

The room was fairly large, and while it did not have the most modern decor, it was bright and pleasant. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was immaculate. The hotel was busy, but I didn't notice any excessive noise in my room.

I could not connect to the hotel's free wireless service with my Kindle (the device recognized a strong wireless signal, but it would not connect to it), and there didn't seem to be any instructions in the room for how to access wi-fi. I didn't complain or inquire, since I was able to get good wi-fi service at the Dunkin Donuts at Merchandise Mart.

The hotel restaurant struck me as overpriced, so I chose not to eat there. There are so many outstanding and inexpensive restaurants in Chicago's neighborhoods that it's hard to imagine eating at a hotel restaurant in any event. The restaurant and bar did look quite nice, and they would offer the same outstanding view I had from my room.

This is not a pretentious hotel, but it is a very pleasant place to stay. I would not hesitate to return here in the future.

Room Tip: South-facing rooms provide unmatched views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you for the kind review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Just back from Chicago. We spent 4 nights at the Holiday Inn - what a perfect position to stay. We walked everywhere, just across a bridge from the loop, a few blocks to the Sears Tower and a lovely walk along the river to magnificent mile for all the shopping. We even walked to Navy Pier and into Lincoln Park Zoo. The Holiday inn was great, we had amazing views of the river and the city from our room on floor 22.
Our room was right next to the lift but never caused us any noise problems. The lobby is on the 15th floor but is easy to get to by lifts from ground level or from the Merchandise Mart, easy.
The staff were really friendly and the room really clean and big.

The L trains are so easy, we got the blue line from the airport straight in to town and walked a short way to the hotel only cost $2.25 each, better than the $45 for a taxi and soooo easy. We went to the Goodmans Theatre to see 'A Christmas Carol' brilliant show a must do if you get the chance.

Would highly recommend the Holiday Inn Mart Plaza we will definately stay there if we return, which we hope to some time.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citygogetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,
we are so pleased to hear of your recent visit. We appreciate your comments and agree with others that find our location convenient and affordable, plus easily accessible by foot to everything Chicago has to offer. Thank you again for you patronage and we look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here on a weekend - had tickets for a show at Cadillac Palace. The location was extremely convenient for walking to the theater (about 15 min walk) and avoiding the commotion of driving or taking a taxi. The Daley Plaza Christmas market was also in walking distance.

Check in was a breeze. We arrived at 11:30 am and were surprised to find we could get into our rooms immediately. After dropping off our luggage we spent the afternoon shopping on both state street and michigan avenue. Not a short walk, but doable - and our group included several middle aged ladies who don't exercise all that much. We did not make it into the Mart area to shop - so not sure how many things were open on the weekend.

The lobby of the hotel is on the 15th floor. We had great rooms on the 23rd floor facing the river. The rooms were clean and nice size with 2 very comfortable double beds, desk, and flat screen TVs. The bathroom counter is a bit small, but the towels were great. We did hear a bit of noise from people in the hall - but not more than the average hotel.

We ate supper in the restaurant - because it was convenient for a somewhat quick meal prior to the show. Pasta and asian dishes - @10 dollars for a sandwich @20+ for entrees - depending on what you are looking for - could be considered $$. The breakfast buffet was 22 dollars - that did seem high priced for what was provided. Drinks in the cityscape bar were @11 dollars each - so we only had one.

Concierge and front desk staff friendly and very helpful. Paid the 39 dollars for the parking - you are allowed to go in and out - but we did not move the car until after checkout. Apparently there are about 200 spaces and by saturday night it appeared to be full- maybe due to the wedding reception in the ballroom.

We saw the pool area - but did not use it or the exercise room.

Next time we attend a show in this area - would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budgettraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you for your detailed review. We really appreciate this and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We're travelling Route 66, staying at 12 hotels from Chicago to LA. This was the first, and we had 2 nights here. We're halfway through our trip as I write this, and I just wish all the hotels were as nice as this one, as it's definitely the best so far!

The staff were nice, the hotel beautiful, the room clean, but the best thing was the view from our 20th storey room! Loved it! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neens2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Recent Guest,
have fun! And, thank you so very much for the kind review. We hope that you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#114 of 187 in Chicago
653 reviews
Near North Side
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Address: 350 West Mart Center Drive, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#80 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enhance your family vacation, corporate travel, or romantic getaway by staying at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North. Located atop the Chicago Sun-Times building presenting the best views of the Windy City from a unique 15th floor atrium lobby, our full-service hotel welcomes you with 521 newly redesigned guestrooms and suites, stellar service, and premium amenities that are most comforting to both leisure and business travelers. Amenities includes complimentary Wi-Fi throughout guestrooms and lobby, LCD flat-screen TVs with cable, premium channel access, and Pay Per View movies, over sized work desk, heated indoor atrium pool, 24-hour fitness facility, complimentary business center, and Concierge services. Guests of the contemporary Mart Plaza will find themselves in the middle of downtown Chicago's bustling River North area offering the top restaurant and nightlife options, within walking distance of the Loop, the main business district, and Michigan Avenue, aka the "Magnificent Mile" where chic shops and restaurants abound. Walk across the fully enclosed pedway into the Merchandise Mart where you can ride a train to just about anywhere in the city, including attractions like Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Plan a visit to Chicago and let the Mart Plaza and our award-winning staff provide you with a memorable experience and lasting impression. The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North is located 3 miles from Chicago's McCormick Convention Center, 12 miles from Midway International Airport, and 18 miles from O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Mart Plaza Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Mart Plaza
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing