We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Ranked #83 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Location”
Reviewed March 14, 2008

I stayed on business at this location. Very convenient location as it was next to Merchandise Mart. I had a nice view of the river and the accommodations were nice. Rooms were big enough to make you feel like you have some space.
The parking is a little steep and I did not get a chance to eat at the hotel, but otherwise a decent stay. I am a PC member and they treated me well.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Price of the parking
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Haroldlhas2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, March 18, 2008
Thank you so much for your recent comments. We hope that next time you visit our hotel you can try some of the delicious food on our new menu in Regions Restaurant, also the extensive appetizer menu in our new Cityscape Bar. I certainly understand and agree with your comments regarding parking rates in Chicago, that is why our hotel has specifically priced our rates below the competition. Thankfully our location allows you to either walk or is just a short cab ride away. Again thank you and we look forward to your next visit.

Tony Miu
General Manager
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    823
    304
    93
    68
See reviews for
496
439
99
661
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2008

We booked our room through Priceline and got a weekend rate of $62 a night. When we checked in, the woman at the front desk informed us that the hotel was sold out and the only room available was a smoking room with a king sized bed. After a little pleading, a non-smoking room miraculously opened up, but it only had a double bed. We decided that a double bed was better than a smoking room. While room 2116 had an incredible view, it smelled like smoke and there was definitely water damage that had occurred at some point. There were water stains all over the walls and ceiling and the wallpaper was pealing off. Our room was in no way sound proof. I could hear every conversation going on in the room next door, as well as all hallway conversations-which we heard all night long. The room definitely could use some updating-the decor was dated and the bed was as quite hard. It was a sizable room, but had limited furniture (double bed, night stands and a desk with a chair). There was definitely room for a chair and ottoman and/or a king bed. There was free internet, although it was a bit on the slow side. As others have said, having to take two different elevators to get to the hotel rooms is a bit inconvenient, but not horrible to deal with.

I thought the location of the hotel was just fine. We took the blue line in from Ohare and then transferred to the brown line. Just one stop up and you are at the Merchandise Mart. You can walk through the Mart and get to the hotel. You can access both the brown and purple eL lines from this stop. The hotel is not far from Michigan Ave (if you don't mind the walk). We were able to get around in the city without any difficulty. Gino's East is just a few blocks north on Wells, but fine dining will require a cab ride. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant (prices were high for what you get), but did admire the bar located on the 15th floor (lobby level). It has a lot of comfortable chairs and tables to sit at and enjoy a cocktail and the view.

So, the hotel was not fantastic, but the price and location worked just great for us.

  • Liked — View from my room and the price
  • Disliked — smell of smoke and all the water damage in my room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelqueen34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, March 18, 2008
Thank you so much for your recent visit and the comments that you shared. We do appreciate your comments and have addressed the issues that you brought to our attention. We are happy that you enjoyed our location and some of the best views in Chicago. In addition we have enhanced our wireless support with an additional T1 line and are happy to say that our internet is faster and remains complimentary.

Tony Miu
General Manager
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2008

I got another great price on Priceline. Last time I stayed here I gor a fabulous room with a fantastic view of the Chicago River and the Sears Tower. Since I've seen that view, I decided to get a quiet room away from the elevator this time. Not much of a view of the "courtyard" and the top of the pool. However, it was quiet, and nicely furnished. The tub could have used a re-coating though. It was peeling a bit. Still all in all, it is a nice, comfortable hotel in River North and it is easy to get arounf the city. I will stay there again.

  • Liked — Getting the great price
  • Disliked — Could be a bit closer to Michigan Ave but not bad
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank deparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krokstadelva, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2008

As we have been traveling to Chicago several times now, we have tried several hotels too. This is one of the best so far. We came in by train from New York and it was only a short walk from Union Station.
The hotel is on the top floors of a pretty tall building, so you have to take the elevator up a few floors to get to the lobby. The lobby looked good, and had theire own staffed information desk were you could ask all kinds of questions, get directions and tips.
Check in was fast and the staff was polite. The room was spaciouse with to beds, a desk and a big tv. The bathroom was nice, big and clean.
The hotel was situated within walkingdistance of all the major attractions and there was alot of restaurants near by. We especially loved Rock Bottom Sportsbar and Restaurant. Great spare ribs, great prices.
This hotel is worth every penny, would stay there again in a hearbeat!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kitten78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, March 11, 2008
Thank you so much for the kind words. The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza realizes that you have many hotel options and appreciate your patronage. We look forward to your next visit.

Tony Miu
General Manager
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2008

I booked my hotel at a great deal through orbitz from san antonio..the room had an excellent view of the river and downtown area..what i liked the best was that the brown line (cta public transportation) connects right into the merchandise mart where the hotel is located, there are also fast food eateries right in the mart..I found the hotel staff to be very friendly and always helpful..the only downside i found was the rooms, while the view was great there was no microwave, no fridge, also the area doesnt have much to offer for late night eating..you of course have the option of room service (not really cheap) until 1:30 am ..nothing really within walking distance unless you want to take a $ 5 cab ride towards the magnificent mile. I would recommend this hotel highly and would stay here again.

  • Liked — the view, access to public transportation and cheap eats
  • Disliked — no late night eats outside the hotel
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MoreTravel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, March 11, 2008
Thank you for the kind words regarding your experience at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza, we too value our tremendous views. On your next visit step right outside the Merchandise Mart to Wells Street where you will find some of the best Restaurants and pubs in the city. We look forward to your next visit.

Tony Miu
General Manager
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2008

I've actually stayed at the Holiday Inn Mart Plaza twice. Once for a wedding (the reception was held in the banquette room with the spectacular view) and the other was just recently when I brought my nephew downtown for his birthday. Not many of the Chicago hotels have a pool but this one does. They have some nice breakfast choices...but room service is a bit pricey. They offer parking at a reasonable rate, but the cars are not covered as they sit in an outside parking area. There are very steep steps down to the parking area.
There is a drive-up area to the front entrance. The hotel lobby itself is situated on the 15th floor so you need to take an elevator up once you enter the building. I've always seemed to find the cheapest rates on the Holiday Inn website. They provided us a room with a wonderful view of the river and Sears Tower. Its easy to get a cab. If you walk 2 blocks you can catch the el. The hotel rooms were average size. We had 2 double beds, desk , 2 chairs, tv with lots of first run and just released DVD selections for an additional fee. Video game rental for an additional fee. Electronic checkout. Bathroom was large and brightly lit. We went at Christmas time so the lobby was all decorated. Overall its a great place to stay for the price, but if you want to walk out onto Michigan Ave its a bit too west .

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Uncovered parking
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ILuv2Travel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All Over America
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2008

I would have to agree with the last traveler! The views at this hotel are outstanding! I stayed there the first weekend in January and I have to say that my experience was good. The staff was friendly and helpful at all time. I would stay here again and plan to do so next month. If I based my decision to stay at this hotel off previous reviews I would not have done so because of some negative comments but I did not see any of this during my stay! I suggest everyone seeing for them selves!!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank regulartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#114 of 187 in Chicago
653 reviews
Near North Side
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Address: 350 West Mart Center Drive, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#80 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enhance your family vacation, corporate travel, or romantic getaway by staying at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North. Located atop the Chicago Sun-Times building presenting the best views of the Windy City from a unique 15th floor atrium lobby, our full-service hotel welcomes you with 521 newly redesigned guestrooms and suites, stellar service, and premium amenities that are most comforting to both leisure and business travelers. Amenities includes complimentary Wi-Fi throughout guestrooms and lobby, LCD flat-screen TVs with cable, premium channel access, and Pay Per View movies, over sized work desk, heated indoor atrium pool, 24-hour fitness facility, complimentary business center, and Concierge services. Guests of the contemporary Mart Plaza will find themselves in the middle of downtown Chicago's bustling River North area offering the top restaurant and nightlife options, within walking distance of the Loop, the main business district, and Michigan Avenue, aka the "Magnificent Mile" where chic shops and restaurants abound. Walk across the fully enclosed pedway into the Merchandise Mart where you can ride a train to just about anywhere in the city, including attractions like Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Plan a visit to Chicago and let the Mart Plaza and our award-winning staff provide you with a memorable experience and lasting impression. The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North is located 3 miles from Chicago's McCormick Convention Center, 12 miles from Midway International Airport, and 18 miles from O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Mart Plaza Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Mart Plaza
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing