We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable for Chicago Marathon runners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Ranked #82 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We book it through the Marathon travel link and it was a good value with in a reasonable walking distance to the Start line.
We checked in at 10am on Saturday morning and the staff was very nice and gave us a room already available...even though it was quite early for check in time!
The distance to the start line is fine, it has been a good warm up to me!
The parking at the hotel is kind of expensive (39$ per day) but being Chicago a big city you can find a lot of cheaper solutions within walking distance, we parked on a covered self parking garage on Frankling ave, we booked it on line before and we paid 9$ per day!
The hotel restaurant is nice, we did not taste the food but they were nice enough to warm up my pasta!
The pool is nice and big.
The only complain I have is that the AC/Heater fan in the room is kind of noise.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italiansinusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Recent Guest,

thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We appreciate your patronage and hope that you visit us again next year or sooner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,572 - 1,578 of 2,216 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were booked here through the trade show we were exhibiting in at McCormick Center. I was concerned at first, as I thought it odd that the hotel's lobby was on the 15th floor of a building that also houses the Sun-Times newspaper (floors beneath the hotel).

When you get off the elevator that takes you to floor fifteen, the front desk/ lobby is right there. The room I was in was clean and comfortable, a bit larger than I expected-a plus. The wireless internet connection was good in my room.

Our group met for drinks in the early evening in the hotel bar. The view from the bar is outstanding. The bar service was always prompt and friendly.

We have stayed in several hotels in Chicago over the years and this Holiday Inn is one of my favorites. There are not many restaurants within walking distance of this place, though. (Unless you don't mind walking 6 or 8 blocks-which we did not, since our feet were tired from working the show all day.) You can take a taxi for $6-10 bucks to just about any where you need to get to from there.

I would recommend this hotel for business or pleasure travel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garmentbagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Recent Guest,

thank you so very much for the great review. We look forward to your next visit. Next time in town, try Wells Street, two blocks from the hotel, with about 10 great Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here for several days for a convention. Had a great room - really nice size - almost a suite - with incredible views of the city and the river, (was on the 22nd floor)! King bed was excellent and very comfy. Service was excellent as well, and I enjoyed the hotel's room service - good food at good prices. There is a Starbuck's within walking distance for the mornings as well. Easy to get a taxi from the front of the hotel if you need one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snooksinK.C.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Recent Guest,

thank you. We agree and never get tired of our spectacular views. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I booked the Holiday Inn Mart Plaza for 5 nights while attending a recent health information conference.

The hotel is located adjacent to the Chicago River in the River North area of Chicago, across the street from the Merchandise Mart and just north of the Loop.

Finding the actual lobby of the hotel can be a bit tricky. When you enter the building at street level, you have to take the elevator to the 15th floor to access the Holiday Inn lobby, which is spacious and attractive with a generous seating area. The front desk and concierge staff were all quite friendly and attentive. Once you complete the check-in process, you take a different set of elevators to get to the hotel rooms on the upper floors.

As to the rooms themselves, mine was a decent sized studio room with a king-size bed, a chest-of-drawers, two night stands, flat screen TV, office desk and chair, an upholstered chair with burgundy-colored fabric and matching Ottoman, and two attractive decorative prints with a garden motif. The highlight of the room was its glorious view of the river and the downtown skyline, one that is unmatched even by the more expensive places in town. The bathroom was also a decent size with a shower-tub combo, toilet, and sink. Everything appeared clean and very well-maintained, though the furniture had a few minor nicks here and there. Throughout my stay, I found the quality of the housekeeping to be excellent.

I would have liked to have had a mini-fridge and microwave, as the suite hotels typically do, but most of the basic rooms in Holiday Inns I've stayed at don't have these amenities. I think they should reconsider this policy.

I had one dinner at the hotel's fairly new restaurant, ItaliAsia, located in the lobby. I had the Chicken Vesuvio, which I thought was very good, and Spumoni for dessert, which was even better. For cocktails, there is the Cityscape Bar, which has, as the name would imply, a wonderfully expansive view of the city. Also located in the lobby, is a small business center with computer stations and a printer where you can print your return flight boarding passes at no charge.

There are plenty of good places to eat within walking distance. Nick's Fishmarket Grill and Bar at the Merchandise Mart features maybe the best fish and chips I've ever had. If you're a barbeque lover, try Carson's at the corner of Wells and Ontario. For excellent steaks and pasta, there's the Kinzie Chophouse at the corner of Wells and Kinzie.

All in all, I would highly recommend the Holiday Inn Mart Plaza to anyone planning a trip to Chicago and would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asl492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Recent Guest,

We appreciate you detailed review and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were booked in here for 2 nights as part of an organised tour through Archers Direct.

Our room had a fantastic view of the river and city and the hotel was centrally located. However, our bathroom definitely needed a refurbishment as the bath had some peeling paint/enamel .
We didnt really expect this as the rest of the room was very nicely decorated.
The hotel starts on the 15th floor of the building, with the lower floors housing offices of the Chicago Sun Times. It is connected to the mart by a walkway.
Food was very good in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a river/ city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelandVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you so much for the review. You will be pleased to know that we are renovating again. Only two and half years since our last renovation and we are at it again, bathrooms included. We continue to improve the Mart Plaza to be the Premiere Holiday Inn of Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Well maintained, great location, close to L..easy trip to Wrigley Field.
Bathroom was smaller than we like.
Great view of the river.
Comfortable bed.
Reasonable parking fee..at other hotels we have stayed downtown parking fees are $50 plus.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cplot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and for staying with us. We look forward to your next visit. We hope that others see your remarks regarding Parking!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Location was great and the view as amazing! We were within walking distance to the trains to both O'Hare and Midway and also the train to Wrigley. Restaurants in the area were a couple blocks away but very walkable. We came and went to our hotel late in the evening and were never concerned for our safety. It is located in an office building which was a little odd but again the views of the river and city were amazing!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a river or city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Ute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you found the Mart Plaza to be convenient. We hope that you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#116 of 192 in Chicago
732 reviews
West Loop
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Address: 350 West Mart Center Drive, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#80 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $86 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago beckons as an exciting city escape, from boating adventures at Navy Pier to days spent exploring attractions like the Chicago Riverwalk, Field Museum, Art Institute of Chicago and the Lincoln Park Zoo. Newly updated rooms, redesigned for the ultimate in guest comfort, combined with award-winning service and thoughtful amenities like the best parking value in Chicago, make stays at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza unforgettable. Stop in for a leisurely breakfast buffet and enjoy a new take on comfort food with at Merchants Cafe. Meet for cocktails in Cityscape Bar and drink in a skyline view considered the best in Chicago. Situated in the vibrant River North area, our hotel puts you close to trendy shops, award-winning restaurants, night life and must-see destinations like the Magnificent Mile and Willis Tower Skydeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Mart Plaza Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Mart Plaza
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing