We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most beatiful views from 22nd floor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Ranked #84 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most beatiful views from 22nd floor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

It was easily accessible from public transit and right on the river. I flew into Midway and it took me about 30 minutes on a Friday night. For those that are unclear, this hotel is on top of the Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jai_dxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Dear December Guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments about our views and location. We hope you come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    816
    304
    93
    68
See reviews for
489
438
100
655
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

This is an excellent hotel with booking in advance I was able to secure a very reasonable rate. The room was large for a city hotel with a rather large bathroom with plenty of closet space. The views from the room were fantastic. The restaurant was great with good food at a reasonable rate with good service. I will be looking forward to my return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW WI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We found a good online rate for both rooms for family Thanksgiving in West Loop. The window walls of the corner executive king offered fabulous cityscape views, the bed was comfortable (no bedbuds) & small fridge necessary. Downstairs, the pool and exercise room were tops, and we found the bar and reasonable $ breakfast buffets good places to relax and nosh. When a knee injury meant walking became very painful, Philip, on duty in the lobby, searched the storage room & found help. He also located a walker, but the cane w/ arm brace was enough to get me outside to enjoy Zoo Lights opening night. So why not 5 star? Hot water & a good wifi signal were both too hard to achieve. For an advertised green hotel to have patrons wasting water before it's warm enough to shower is a problem that needs fixing. And my hubbie, who always travels w/ laptop & iphone, was frustrated by the weak (Verizon) signal in our room. Was it better in the biz center? Don't know because HI-MP has the quirk of free in-room wifi on your devices but $$ wifi in the biz center—and who needs any additional cost? Location was great for visiting the newlyweds but wifi & water may have us chancing the Crowne Plaza again (which had bedbugs summer 2010)

Detour for foodies: After Zoo Lights we headed to The Counter for best burgers so far in Chicago. It's fun to decide how to build'em in this well-lit, casual family spot. With all the 50-cent additions to choose from, believe me, you don't need a 3/4 pounder. And the pretzel burger is great way to hold it all together. Late night sorbet & wine in the HI bar went well w/ my painkillers, allowing sleep before (another) game day w/ the kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a room w/ a view; Chicago skyline deserves it. You can also request a fridge be brought up e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momNpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review of your visit to our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and our customer Service. We will share your kind words with Philip. With regards to our Free Hi Speed Wireless, we did experience an outage with our provider on 11/28 and all has been rectified. We are very pleased that we provide Free WiFi usage and just recently upgraded to Fiber Optic and just over 100 mbps. We apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced and have worked to correct the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
154 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel; initially we only stayed here because it was the site of a meeting. I was uneasy because there were two reports of bedbugs in 2011 on the Bedbug Registry and our group's meeting planner didn't get a response from the sales staff to her inquiry on that topic. (Both the meeting planner and I were hoping for a speedy response along the lines of "We solved that problem months ago!" ) Nevertheless, I went ahead with my reservation (after identifying several back-up hotels, just in case), just for the sake of convenience. I am happy to report that there were no bedbugs in our room on the 17th floor -- and I checked thoroughly. Our king room met standards for cleanliness, was spacious, and had a great view. All staff we encountered were courteous and pleasant. Parking is very convenient (and we paid only $50 for two nights). The hotel is connected to the Merchandise Mart by a skywalk, thus is also convenient to public transit. There's a food court in the Merchandise Mart which is handy for a quick breakfast. It seems odd at first that the hotel actually starts on the 15th floor, but there's an express elevator so it's fine. Both nights we were there, we enjoyed drinks and a really great view from the bar in the lobby, which I definitely recommend! There are a number of restaurants in the River North area, too.

Room Tip: A room facing South [overlooking the river] or SouthEast will give you an interesting view of the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLane_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be convenient, comfortable and clean. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and are also pleased that you found our rooms to be spacious with great views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Booked this hotel on Priceline for the weekend of 10/21/2011-10/24/2011 (3 nights) for ~$120/night after taxes. It was easily accessible from public transit and right on the river. I flew into Midway and it took me about 30 minutes on a Friday night.

For those that are unclear, this hotel is on top of the Chicago Sun-Times building. From the outside, it doesn't appear very special but after you take the elevator to the hotel lobby, it is nice without being overly ostentatious.

We were originally booked for a bed with a single king bed but instead asked for one with two double beds. Initially, we were told this was unavailable but a manager overheard our request and he freed one up for us. The room was reasonable size with a spacious bathroom. The bathroom did not have a vent fan which was annoying after showering but nothing to make me not stay here again. I left a note for the cleaning crew to leave some extra shampoo and they did so.

Beds were not great but not terrible. Four Pillows come with each bed (two firm, two plush).

Our room was an inner room which meant the only view we had was of the pool (which closes at 11pm. It would've been nice to have a view of the river or the city but because we had already placed one special request we decided not to go to the well too many times. The hotel bar had fantastic views. Drinks at the bar were a bit expensive.

The free Wifi was convenient and never dropped out once.

A/C units were noisy.

For the price I paid ($120/night) I would recommend it but I would have difficulty paying the asking price of $200+/night for it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vintage1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear recent Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so happy that you found our hotel and hope that you choose us again on your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We are from Chicago and we used this hotel for our wedding room block. The sales staff were extremely helpful. We got a good room rate for all our block. The views from the hotel lobby, bar, and guest rooms are outstanding. The guest rooms were comfortable and clean. There is a ton within walking distance which was really great for our out of town guests. It is a perfect location to be near everything, but not so close where you get all the noise and commotion. Great experience overall.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renae G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the kind review and Congratulations! We are so happy that you chose our hotel for this great occasion and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

This hotel is off the beaten path but certainly within walking distance to things and right on the Brown line. We have a corner room #2045 and it has a Great view of downtown and fairly large. The bed and furniture are in serious need of an upgrade and the pillows are........ Just bad! Service has been ok and for the price you can't beat it. We also have a mini fridge in our room which is nice to keep water cold. There is a convenient store on the 1st floor as well as a Starbucks and CVS less then a block away. We have stayed here before and as I stated you can't beat the price.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room #2045
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samthe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you for your review and patronage. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#109 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Near North Side
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Address: 350 West Mart Center Drive, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#80 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enhance your family vacation, corporate travel, or romantic getaway by staying at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North. Located atop the Chicago Sun-Times building presenting the best views of the Windy City from a unique 15th floor atrium lobby, our full-service hotel welcomes you with 521 newly redesigned guestrooms and suites, stellar service, and premium amenities that are most comforting to both leisure and business travelers. Amenities includes complimentary Wi-Fi throughout guestrooms and lobby, LCD flat-screen TVs with cable, premium channel access, and Pay Per View movies, over sized work desk, heated indoor atrium pool, 24-hour fitness facility, complimentary business center, and Concierge services. Guests of the contemporary Mart Plaza will find themselves in the middle of downtown Chicago's bustling River North area offering the top restaurant and nightlife options, within walking distance of the Loop, the main business district, and Michigan Avenue, aka the "Magnificent Mile" where chic shops and restaurants abound. Walk across the fully enclosed pedway into the Merchandise Mart where you can ride a train to just about anywhere in the city, including attractions like Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Plan a visit to Chicago and let the Mart Plaza and our award-winning staff provide you with a memorable experience and lasting impression. The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North is located 3 miles from Chicago's McCormick Convention Center, 12 miles from Midway International Airport, and 18 miles from O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Mart Plaza Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Mart Plaza
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing