We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great girls weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #65 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minnesota
1 review
“Great girls weekend stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

Weekend girls getaway - large room with 2 queens was perfect. Big bathroom and closets, plenty of floor space and great location. The staff could not have been nicer and they accomodated both a very early checkin and a delayed checkout. This will be the 1st choice for the next trip to Chicago and also 1st recommended to any who ask.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meemuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,272
    1,450
    504
    174
    82
See reviews for
1,047
1,469
172
1,026
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

Hotel 71 was conveniently located within 1-2 blocks of Michigan Avenue, other attractions, and restaurants. We had a beautiful view of the city from our room overlooking the river. Beds were comfortable. Room decor was pleasant. Hotel staff were helpful and courteous. I accidentally left behind some personal items and the housekeeping staff was instrumental in getting it returned to me. This was my first visit to Chicago and staying at Hotel 71 definitely made it memorable. The only drawback I can think of is that one of the elevators was not working. I recall seeing this complaint in other reviews and wonder if this is a permanent problem. The wait for the working elevators was very slow. That part was frustrating, but I wouldn't let it keep me from staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioRetiredGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

Hotel 71 is the perfect place to stay when you want to be in the middle of all attractions. Nice big rooms, very clean, excellent Italien Restaurant next door, Coffee Place around the corner. Everything in walking distance. And we made an excellent deal to get a room with the perfect view.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texasteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

What an amazing find! Our room was amazing - awesome view of the river and in a prime location. I only hope the rates stay as competitive as we found for our stay here in July 2009.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmartensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

We stayed at Hotel 71 for 3 nights and we couldnt be happier. I chose this hotel after reading plenty of good reviews on tripadvisor, and they were right! We upgraded our room to the Premier King/River-view based on reviews I read and it was the right choice. The view from our room was beautiful, looking right down the Chicago River, definitely worth the $. The rooms were big, definitely plenty of space with lots of drawers, big closet, and bathroom. Loved the amenities like free wifi, TVs in room and bathroom, rain shower, fridge(on request) and doorbell for the room! The hotel is modern and very clean(I'm usually picky when it comes to that). The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is an excellent location and to go to any of the sightseeing activities was an $8 cab ride at the most. We went to pretty much every tourist attraction during our trip and I dont want to write too much on here about which are worth it and which ones aren't but definitely go on the River and Lake Boat Tour(90 mins), its right across the street and it was fantastic. There are several companies to choose from but we went on the Wendella for the night ride($23/person), its worth it.
Overall I don't have one bad thing to say about this hotel, except maybe that if you have a car its a bit expensive for parking($43/night) so we did what another reviewer recommended, and parked in the Millennium Park Garage($24/night) about 3 blocks away. We didnt need the Jeep during our stay since we were right in the middle and close to everything, we either walked or took a cab. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Chicago!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KyT27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

Hard to find much of anything to complain about here. The desk staff was incredibly helpful and pleasant, always greeting us as we returned to the hotel. Just had new carpet installed in the main lobby, which despite the "new carpet smell", was nice to see that they refresh the place a bit. Rooms were adequate, clean and well maintained. This isn't a luxury hotel, but in a luxury location that really can't be beat! If you're expecting something fancy, this isn't it. But if you're looking for a nice, clean room where you mostly intend to relax and sleep after a day of exploring the city, this is the place.
Elevators were indeed slow at busier times. There are only 4 elevators, 2 serving the lower floors, 2 serving the upper floors. They were lightning fast once you got on, the only slowness was the wait occasionally, but never was more than 3-4 minutes for us. Not enough to frustrate us.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eljoe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

The staff are very friendly. The location is perfect for walking to all Chicago has to offer. The rooms are bright and clean. There is a great bakery 2 doors down. Great pizza next door. Only thing negative the hotel needs to be freshened up a bit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OntarioCoffeeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#64 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#81 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,214 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#69 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,842 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing