We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Wonderful Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #66 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Il
2 reviews
“Great Location and Wonderful Hotel Experience”
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Hotel 71 was ideally located just off Michigan Ave and located near many great Chicago attractions. The hotel was vey clean and our room, with two queen beds was very spacious with a great view of the Chicago River. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlr5601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juli C, Director of Rooms at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, September 10, 2016
Dear mlr5601,

Thank you so much for choosing Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, we definately have a great river view. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We thank you again for taking the time to provide such a GRAND review and we look forward to having you stay with us soon!
Regards,

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,400
    1,523
    531
    181
    89
See reviews for
1,134
1,537
176
1,079
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We stayed at Hotel 71 in May 2009 and booked the least expensive room because of a fantastic promo rate direct from their website. I was expecting just a small, kind of boring, but conveniently located room. I was also a little concerned about some of the poor reviews.
We were VERY spleasantly surprised!
We got a "back" view room" but it was on the outside corner of the 26th floor so it had huge windows on 2 sides and you could see the river.
I don't think the other "back rooms" would have this spectacular view.
Very sunny, pleasant, and decorated kind of funky - different than most boring chains.
It had obvioulsy just been decorated.

Close to Millenium Park, and the River Architectual tour was a block away. (highly recommend) We also took the architectual walking tour around the area. (it's FREE! -they won't even accept tips! highly recommend)
We took the Amtrak to Chicago - it's a pleasant 15+ min walk or a $7-$8 cab ride.

I think some of the reviews must have been written before the renovation was completed, because when we stayed, all elevators were working and everything seemed fine.
Not a lot of nightlife directly in the area, but cabs were inexpensive and the staff was helpful getting cabs, and directing to public transport, etc.
We didn't have time for the fitness center, but did look at it - it was on the top floor (great view) and might inspire you to actually use it.

No restaurant in hotel, but a good breakfast place next door.
I would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rsroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juli C, Director of Rooms at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, September 10, 2016
Dear Rsroad,

Thank you so much for choosing Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, we definately have a great location. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We thank you again for taking the time to provide such a GRAND review and we look forward to having you stay with us soon!
Regards,

Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Never stay here if you want your privacy and belongs to be safe.
We went to lunch and came back to have been locked out of our room.
Someone had come into our room, packed all our clothes in a crumbled mess, and touched our clean underware to place our things into another room with duck tape on the windows, and no tub or upgrades, and already had another family checked into our nicer room without our knowledge or permission.
We felt completed disregarded and disrespected for having a discounted room rate.
We were only entitled to the worst room in house since they were sold out, and refered to some inkeepers law, saying they did it all the time.
We felt completely violated that they some stranger had handled all our new purchases, and clean clothes, and threw our shoes in bags with our night clothes.
Don't ever stay here!!!!!
It was a nightmare, and they talked down to us, and were rude and horrible!
The rooms are dirty, and moldy, and the shower had water above our ankles.
Don't let the new lobby fool you.
They are young and arogant, and completely unprofessional in their services.
I am horrified by the experience, and my handbag was still in the room with the new occupants enjoying our view and room.
If it is the last hotel in Chicago, go north, but don't stay in this scary place!
Just beware.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ChicagoTraveleroften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juli C, Director of Rooms at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, September 10, 2016
Dear Chicago Traveleroften ,

Thank you so much for choosing Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront! We have definately addressed all the issues you mentiones. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we truly look forward to having you return to stay with soon!

Regards,
Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Room was not as booked or advertised. Worst part was that the manager was not helpful at all.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloudsurferToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juli C, Director of Rooms at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, September 10, 2016
Dear CloudsurferToronto,

Thank you so much for choosing Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront! We have definately addressed all the issues you mentiones with our management team. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we truly look forward to having you return to stay with soon!

Regards,
Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

This hotel is in a fantastic location for sightseeing in Chicago - easy walking distance to many attractions and several subway stops. Our room was updated and very spacious. We lucked out with a corner room on the 16th floor overlooking the river. Needless to say, the view was wonderful. The housekeeping staff were some of the friendliest and most helpful people I've encountered. And best of all, we got a fantastic rate.

Thankfully the good things were remarkably good, because the two negatives were very frustrating. First, I'm sad to say that the elevator issues that were previously noted in reviews and then noted as gone are back. They were down to one elevator and it's slow as molasses. It was so slow, the helpful cleaning staff would offer to take me up/down in their service elevator instead.

The worst for us was the front desk staff. We specifically reserved a room with 2 queen beds since we were 3 girlfriends traveling together. Not only did they not honor our booking as more than a request, but they didn't even acknowledge it - and I had a printout with it. They then offered our room type to the next two sets of guests who were checking in adjacent to us and tried to say that they weren't getting what we could hear them getting...like we couldn't see/hear the other representatives talking to the other guests?!? They made themselves look foolish and shady. Finally, after a bunch of clicking and conversing with 2 managers reviewing things, they miraculously found us the room type we should have had all along. They then proceeded to be snarky with the way they wished us a pleasant stay.

Due to the mishap with the room reservation, I probably won't stay here again. But if you want a deal, this is a good value hotel. Then again, there are a lot of good deals at Chicago hotels these days so it's probably best not to chance issues with your reservations either.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeforeSunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juli C, Director of Rooms at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, September 10, 2016
Dear BeforeSunrise ,

Thank you so much for choosing Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront! We have definately addressed all the issues you mentiones. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we truly look forward to having you return to stay with soon!

Regards,
Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Stayed in Hotel 71 for six nights on a business trip. Our travel agent presented us several choices for accommodation and we picked this one based on the information and the photos on the hotel's website. Not a good choice, I was quite disappointed with the hotel.

Location was good but not excellent, though right in the city center. View from the room was good but not spectacular. Room was ok but far from luxury. Lot of space but bit strangely and uncomfortably arranged. Bathroom was good size but the bath was tiny with sides only about 30 cm high so it was not possible to have a bath. Bed and pillow were clumby and to my great disappointement no duvet but sheets with wool blanket. Old tv with bad reception. No minibar, also really disappointing. Surprisingly quite a lot of noice from the street when staying high up, but more disturbing was the noise from the corridor and neighbouring rooms.

Not a luxury boutique hotel, just basic American business hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sininen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juli C, Director of Rooms at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, September 10, 2016
Dear Sininen ,

Thank you so much for choosing Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront! We have definately addressed all the issues you mentiones. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we truly look forward to having you return to stay with soon!

Regards,
Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

My husband and I lived in Chicago for four years, so when we went back recently to visit friends for a weekend, we weren't concerned with getting a top-of-the-line hotel to experience the city from. We wanted a good location, a comfortable room, and that was about it. We found a great deal at Hotel 71 through Easyclicktravel.com and found that the TripAdvisor reviews we'd read about the hotel were fairly accurate.

We checked in late on a Friday night due to a delayed flight. The man working the reception desk seemed a little spacey and first gave us a key to an occupied room--we went up there with our luggage and opened the door to find it chained and the TV on inside! We went back to the front desk to request a second room--this time we got a smoking room after we had requested nonsmoking. Finally, the 3rd room they gave us fit the bill. The chaos upon check-in is the one true complaint I have about Hotel 71.

The room was clean and comfortable and a great deal for the price we paid. The tub in the bathroom did drain a bit slowly, but not enough to bother us. The staff were all kind and attentive and the location truly can't be beat. I think my husband summed it up best by saying that the Hotel 71 is a hotel that probably used to be really great, but has languished a bit over the years and could use a little TLC. For the price we paid, though (about $115 a night), we felt we got a great deal of value for our money.

If you are planning your first trip to Chicago, though, I would recommend not going with the Hotel 71 just to save money--splurge on a nicer hotel in the same River North area and enjoy your experience in the city!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dany2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juli C, Director of Rooms at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, September 10, 2016
Dear dany2006 ,

Thank you so much for choosing Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront! We have definately addressed all the issues you mentiones with our staff. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we truly look forward to having you return to stay with soon!

Regards,
Juli Colon
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,682 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#89 of 190 in Chicago
6,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing