We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wyndham Winner!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #66 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile


Stayed 5 nights at the hotel for leisure and we were very impressed by the central location ( 2 minutes walk to the loop and the Near North), great views of the river. Room was large with a great 'his and hers' bathroom suite and comfortable beds. We really couldn't fault the hotel for facilities vs the price which is why we chose it. We had drinks and snacks at the hotel bar, which didn't really feel like a typical hotel bar as it was quite busy and bustling with passers by. Only slight complaint is that the bottles water in the room wasn't replaced after day one but that wasn't a big deal. Highly recommend this hotel for a good value leisure option in the heart of the city

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review! We thank you for staying with us and are so pleased your enjoyed your room. We look forward to having you back again very soon!

Best-
Juli Colon,
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,060 - 3,066 of 4,862 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

First of all, location location location. This hotel is ideally situated for a first timer in Chicago (a returning visiter will know what they have come for and wand to be near). For us, all the downtown attractions were within easy walking distance. Second, the room. This was larger than average for a city centre hotel. If you are on a high floor the views are good (we were on the 36th). All the amenities were as expected and worked seamlessly. The staff were helpful when approached and not 'in your face' when not. It is a busy hotel, so while the service is not personal it is generally efficient. If you are visiting Chicago and want a well located base that is comfortable to come back to then you could do a lot worse than the Wyndham.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are quieter and have good views (on higher floors) without the supplement for river vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlanofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear AlanofLondon-
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts. It was lovely having you and we thank you for choosing our property. I am very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the city and that you got to take advantage of our central downtown location. We hope to see you again very soon.

Best,
Juli Colon,
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Nathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BobHolland-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BobHolland-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

A rating of four won. Let me tell you why. First off, the good things: Great location, close to the El and along the river. Room (3708) was large, big bathroom with both a bath and a tub (tubs are getting rarer nowadays and if the are big enough and deep enough, they can be really relaxing) and a great view. Could even see a bit of the lake. King bed, comfortable.

So why was I considering a three rating? First reason, the air conditioning. Quite poor and it was a hot time in the city. My belief is that the hotel has abandoned the thermostat on the wall and decided what temp your room shall be. I'm sure they deny that, but if the gauge is set to the coldest, and what comes out of the system is barely cool - something is wrong. I had to order a fan because I like it cold. The second reason is the incredibly lame and atmosphere-free "restaurant," Hoyt's. Just a big bar with a few tables thrown in.

Given all that, why the four rating? I received an email from management welcoming me to the hotel - you know, the standard you are a valued guest stuff. I responded to the email and complained about the a/c. Their response was almost immediate and I did get my fan.

So Wyndham Management, it pays to be responsive and it is noted and appreciated! But take down the thermostats or make them work.

Room Tip: 3708 has a small glimpse of the Lake and a nice city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVID C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear David C-
Thank you so much for your feedback and your comments. We thank you for staying with us and are always happy to accommodate as best as possible. I apologize if your room was not cold enough and thank you for bringing that to our attention. I assure you that we will have the thermostat issue you looked at and apologize if you feel you were mislead about the temperature reading. I hope that you will continue to stay with us when in Chicago and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Best--
Juli Colon,
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The location of this hotel is great. It is right in front of the river and major tourist attractions are easily accessible. What needs improvement is the service of the front desk attendants, as well as the concierge. I didn't find them welcoming or helpful at all. I asked the concierge very simple questions about the entry cost and opening/closing times of certain attractions. He couldn't answer any of them so I had to Google the information myself from my room. Also, when I asked the concierge to call the airport shuttle to arrange a pick up time for the next morning, his response was, "You can call yourself from the phone over there." My reasoning is that if a guest asks you to do something on their behalf, you should oblige them. After all, you are there to provide a service. Also, smiling every now and then wouldn't hurt either.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on a high floor as the street noise is quite loud. We were on a high floor an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Anna P-
Thank you so much for your feedback on your stay. We thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and will certainly be sharing your comments. I am terribly sorry if the service you received from our team was insufficient and I understand your frustration. I assure you we are committed to the highest level of guest satisfaction and that this is an issue that will be addressed and resolved.

Best-
Juli Colon,
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

In my opinion, this is the best hotel to stay in Chicago. It's modern, well decorated, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The bedrooms are really big for a hotel in downtown Chicago! There's room for like 4 people in there.The bedroom I stayed had a little space to make coffee. The view from the window is also very beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Raquel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Raquel O-
Thank you so much for your review! We thank you for choosing the Wyndham Grand Chiago Riverfront and are so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Best--
Juli Colon,
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,838 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 192 in Chicago
6,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#73 of 192 in Chicago
5,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Address: 71 E. Wacker dr, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $134 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing