We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #65 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 5, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,794)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,107 - 3,113 of 4,794 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Kamla B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Wyndham Grand Chicago is a fantastic hotel if you're in for a weekend visit. Centrally located but away from the hustle and bustle of Michigan Avenue this hotel offers very comfortable accommodations to the sheik traveler. My wife and I stayed here for a weekend away and were very comfortable throughout the stay. The rooms are very spacious and are kept pleasantly clean. The oversized shower offers a welcome respite from a day spent exploring the Windy City.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get river-side if you can, but request a room away from the elevators.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Joe S-
Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay. We thank you for choosing our hotel and are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chicago again very soon!

Warm Regards--
Bob Holland,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is in a great location right along the waterfront near Wabash and Michigan. It's near a couple of great restaurants (try South Water Kitchen) and walking distance to good shopping. I have to compliment the entire staff at the hotel who, without fail, always greeted me with a smile and were very attentive. Having reserved my hotel on a discount website, I was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a suite upon check-in. The room and hotel were well decorated and seemed to have been updated at least within the past few years. The bed was extremely comfortable and on par to a Westin or Hilton. The fitness center was clean, well maintained, and well equipped although I only used it once that week given the proximity to the Riverwalk which was fantastic to run along. Others in my company stayed at what are typically "better" brand hotels, but were quite disappointed. I, on the other hand, found this hotel to be quite a gem in the city. Highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Bcatgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Bcatgal-
Thank you for letting us know your thoughts on your recent stay with us, we're so glad you enjoyed yourself. We thank you for choosing the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed in Chicago for 6 nights and wanted somewhere that was central and having looked at the map this hotel appeared to be and it was. Ideal position. As we were not there for a long time we decided to pay more than we usually do for a room in the US and were not disappointed. We were on the 16th Floor and overlooked the river - large room with separate lounge area, small kitchen, big bathroom and good sized bedroom, 3 TV's!! Very clean and comfortable.
The Reception staff were very polite, helpful and efficient, and apart from one Concierge the others on this desk were more than helpful. Free Wi-Fi which was good, but it did drop out more than once. Coffee maker in the kitchen although not a plentiful supply of cartridges and only tea bags one day. This was the only hotel that we saw that had an outside patio where you could have a drink, which was very nice in the afternoon and early evening. Bar staff were very nice.
The position of the hotel was ideal for walking, either along the river, down the Magnificent Mile or anywhere you wanted to find. We used the trains which run a good service. Overall a very good hotel which I would recommend. Although we did not have breakfast there are several places near to the hotel.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view, especially a river view
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Hello--
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your room and our location didn't disappoint you! We thank you for choosing the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warm Regards--
Bob Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hotel is a little pricey, but for the location downtown in Chicago and the friendliness/attentiveness of the staff and the cleanliness of the room... It was overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Shaun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Shaun T-
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you returning again soon.

Warm Regards--
Bob Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#24 of 191 in Chicago
4,777 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 191 in Chicago
6,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Address: 71 E. Wacker dr, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $135 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing