We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Can't think of one complaint about the room"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #64 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Wayne, IN USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“"Can't think of one complaint about the room"”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We booked at the Wyndham when the Hancock area hotel where we normally stay was not an option. I have to say that we weren't sure what to expect, but that we were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in a Junior Suite on the 18th floor and can't think of one complaint about the room, The room was quiet, clean, plenty big (two rooms), had a huge bathroom with a gigantic soaker tub and nicely tiled rain shower. It even had two refrigerated drawers which were useful to keep food items in. The beds were also very comfortable. The fitness center had a wide variety of equipment and a killer view of the river, especially at night. Each time we were there, it wasn't very busy. The hotel location is definitely a positive. It is within easy walking distance to the loop and upper Michigan Ave, as well as the bus, L and trains. The only negatives would be that we had asked for an upper floor with a river view. We ended up on the 18th, which was fine, but didn't get the river view. Maybe next time. Also getting onto the WiFi took a ridiculous amount of time and work. We ended up having to be talked through the process by someone from the carrier, who was very nice and stated that "this happens all the time." Luckily, we weren't in a hurry, otherwise it would have been maddening. We have travelled all over the world and in the USA and never, once, has this ever been an issue. In this day and age, Wyndham needs to get this resolved. It seems like they don't want to spend the money on this piece of the puzzle. For a Chicago hotel that gets a lot of business travelers, I would think that this is unacceptable. Even so, we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wynne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear wynne1-
Thank you so much for your feedback. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your room and your stay. I apologize if there was any issue with your WiFi-- and I assure you that it has been remedied. We have been in the process of upgrading our WiFi and that might have been occurring during your visit, causing some hiccups. I am terribly sorry that this was an inconvenience to you, but assure you that next time you stay with us it will have been solved. We look forward to having you again soon!

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,310
    1,467
    513
    176
    83
See reviews for
1,066
1,487
172
1,045
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at this hotel the first weekend in march the location is ideal its right in the center of everything we were able to walk every where (typical NYers) the check in was great and smooth when we arrived and check out was as well most of the girls gave great recommendation for places to eat since the concierge guy didn't he gave us a list with the names of the restaurants and that was it.
our room had a nice view but we were located right next to the elevator and could hear it when it got to our floor and when people were getting off. We could also hear someone in the bathroom above or below us not sure which one but we heard there who conversation.
the room was comfy the shower was amazing and our turn down service was also great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nuevamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear nueveamaria-
Thank you so much for choosing the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront for your visit to Chicago. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay as well as the city and hope to welcome you back very soon!

Warm Regards,
Bob Holland,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
198 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights to attend the ACHE Congress last week. We got a great deal on this hotel at $143/night (Sunday-Friday), but booked several months in advance. For the area in which this hotel is located, this was a true bargain.

We stayed on the 8th floor with a riverfront view, The room itself was very large, however the bathroom was huge. The bathroom consisted of a separate soaking tub and a very large; frame-less door shower with a rain shower head mounted on the ceiling of the shower. I also appreciated the separate vanities on either side of the bathroom.

The towels and bed linen were very nice as were the mattress and pillows.

Everyone at the hotel was super nice. Dave the bellhop was super helpful both while checking in and leaving.

My only negatives were:

"Free WiFi" - If you are happy with less than a 1mbs download and equally slow upload speeds, read no further. For you non-techies, this is probably less than 25% of what you get on regular 3G and 10% of what you get on LTE/4G. Yes, you can pay for real WiFi if you like. Truly, either provide real WiFi free or charge for it, but do not have a free, unusable tease.

In addition, it would be great if a shaving mirror could be provided as the vanities are wide which means the mirror sits back pretty far.

Overall, this is a great hotel and I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc19002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Marc19002--
Thank you so much for letting us know your thoughts on the experience you had with us-- your comments will be shared with the team. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warm Regards--
Bob Holland,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#83 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,340 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#66 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,879 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing