We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #64 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

4,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,238
    1,435
    500
    169
    81
See reviews for
1,027
1,448
173
1,013
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blountville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband , daughter and her two small children visited after our son's graduation from basic navy training. Her husband was deployed and we appreciated the help with loading/unloading since we arrived before my husband. We had a bedroom on the corner of the building on the 21st floor. My grandchildren were so entertained just looking out the window. Views are spectacular. The room is wonderful but I'm not crazy about the shower having no door-I hope it's changed bc I will definitely be back for a Cubs game. My daughter had a room on the "city" side on the 20th floor. The room was nice but the view was uninspiring. I booked using time share points and although each room took the exact number of points, the rooms didn't compare. The other thing I would like is a washer/dryer. It is a large room....and we are accustomed to having them at Wyndham properties as we are platinum owners and have been to many locations. The bell men are wonderful. We used cabs and they helped us get the baby gear in and out every time. Great stay !!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Becky B--
Thank you so much for your comments as your feedback will be shared with the rest of the team. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Chicago again very soon!

Warm Regards--
Bob Holland,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Great room, great location. The room absolutely exceeded our expectations in virtually every way. The front desk was very helpful on check-in, but completely forgot who the owners were on checkout. Classic Wyndham approach... "Almost make out excellent in every way".

Train your people!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NoVABuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello--
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback regarding your stay. We're sorry if you were anything less than satisfied and I assure you that your comments will be shared with the team in order to improve guests' experiences. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Chicago again very soon.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are very nice and spacious but we had a terrible experience with customer service. Our door broke after our first night and they had to drill out out lock and replace it. They should've offered us a complementary night or at least moved us to a new room but no. On instead we had to wait and wait and wait while their maintenance fumbled around trying to fix it. Needless to say I won't be coming back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Matt S--
I am terribly sorry that you had to deal with such a messy incident-- an unforeseen and unfortunate experience to have when staying away from home. I apologize if you feel your situation was not handled properly and I invite you to discuss your stay in further detail with my office. You can reach my assistant, Kelly Buettner at 312-462-7070 to go over matters further, as we would like to see you return when in Chicago.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#62 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#16 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#86 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,101 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
LondonHouse Chicago, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#28 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing