We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, rooms, and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #64 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, rooms, and location”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel is in an excellent location on the loop. The rooms are large, comfortable, modern, and have great views. The service was top notch, and the restaurant in the hotel is pretty good (get the burger). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rastko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Rastko S--
Thank you so much for your comments -- we're so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and your burger! We hope to welcome you back to Chicago very soon.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,310
    1,468
    514
    176
    83
See reviews for
1,067
1,487
172
1,046
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We were visiting Chicago to celebrate our granddaughter's 7th birthday. We are Wyndham owners and we found the one bedroom unit amazingly modern and sleek with interesting artwork of Chicago sights throughout. The unit was spacious and spotless. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful and they responded quickly to any request. A lovely Emiguela was especially helpful. The location is convenient to many Chicago attractions and close to all modes of transportation. But the best part of staying here was the spectacular views of the Chicago River and the Chicago skyline reflected in the water. No matter what time of day or night the view was gorgeous- especially watching the sun set and the sparkling lights at night. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Do not rely on GPS to find location. You'll end up underground in a tunnel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 539Kathy261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review-- we're so happy you were pleased with our new Vacation Units! We're very proud to be featuring Wyndham Vacation Ownership within our hotel, it's been a great experience and knowing the owners are pleased makes all the difference. Your compliments will be passed along to Emiguela and the rest of the staff-- we hope to have you again very soon.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Burgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Very nice room with a great view of the river! Plenty of space for us girls to get ready. Only suggestion would be another mirror in the main part of the room...but that's a minor detail. The mixed drinks in the bar weren't great, but it's Chicago, you can find a bar! Staff was very friendly and great location. Steps from Mag Mile.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Aly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello!
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront. We're very pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your stay and the city-- we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Warm Regards--
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My brother is getting married so my future sister in law chose to have her bachelorette party in Chicago over St Patrick's Day weekend so we made reservations at the Wyndham. We arrived in town a little ahead of schedule after driving for some hours and chose to call the hotel to see if we could check in early. I was connected to the girl at the front desk (and I know she was the front desk because I asked her) and she said we would have to come to the hotel and check to see if we could check in early. Soooo we did.

Upon arrival two of the four of us got out of the car as the others stayed idling in front. The girl at the front desk (this happens to be the exact same girl we spoke with on the phone just 20 minutes earlier and I know that because he name was the same and she had the same very high pitched voice) told us there was no possible way to check in early because they had been sold out the night before. Why did they not tell us that when we called? They offered to hold our bags for us which we declined. So we chose to find alternative parking for the day and come by after check in. When we got back out to the waiting car the bell man had told our waiting party that they HAD to give them our bags so they could hold them for check in and they HAD to valet park the car. None of this is true. We did not HAVE to valet the car and the did not HAVE to take our bags and hold them. After a few minutes of me arguing with the bell man he finally gave us back our car keys and took our bags off of the trolley and we were on our way.

We finally check in around 4 that afternoon with no help from the pushy bell man. The view was AMAZING. River front corner room. Good size. Pretty standard for the price range. After a fun evening we came back to the room to discover that there were small blood spots on the sheets of one of the beds. As it was pretty late we chose to address it at check out in the morning.

Upon checking out we asked the front desk if we could have a trolley sent up for our bags. After 25 minutes of waiting we decided to skip the non existent trolley and take them ourselves. We mentioned the blood to the girl at the desk (the same girl from check in the day before) and all she said was "gross" and brushed it off like it was no big deal. I was shocked!!!!

I have stayed in a great many hotels in Chicago in my travels and would NEVER stay here again. The view was great but the hotel staff and facility was NOWHERE near worth the price.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here check the sheets first. Ask for a river front corner room. Best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Erin L-
I am terribly sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations while you were staying with us. Any stain or defect on your bedding or in your room is absolutely unacceptable and I assure you would have been changed out immediately, had we been aware. I apologize that when you voiced your frustrations to the front desk staff you were met with the incorrect response. I assure you that your comments will be shared with the staff in order to avoid this incident again in the future. I assure you that guest satisfaction is our number one priority and hope that you will return to stay with us so we can demonstrate that to you.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#83 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,352 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#66 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,879 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing