We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little getaway for NYE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #67 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little getaway for NYE”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights from December 30th, 2013 until January 2nd, 2014. Great location, very clean, could have turned the heat on in the lobby a bit more. Felt a cold breeze every once in a while just sitting on the couch. The staff didn't really know much about restaurants and such in the area, they just have booklets on the side that you have to basically find on your own. I suggest you do your own research on what you might want to see and do and even eat in the area.
Overall, the location was great, could walk to most places and shopping wasn't too far either. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Spacious rooms with a nice size bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shtefaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hello-
We are so glad you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed your trip! These last few weeks of January were much colder than usual- even for this time of year. I apologize if the lobby was a bit chilly- we were doing our best to overcompensate for that cold spell. We do hope you will visit again the next time you find yourself in Chicago, we'd love to welcome you back.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,371
    1,503
    523
    179
    90
See reviews for
1,107
1,518
175
1,074
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carol Stream, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Park car yourself, it's cheaper
Breakfast restaurant next store is good, eat there instead of at hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank arcabrera790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hello-
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. While it is true that parking can be cheaper elsewhere, there is limited parking in close proximity due to our downtown location. We do keep our rates very competitive. I thank you for staying with us and do hope you will return the next time you are visiting Chicago.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Very good experience with the hotel.
Excellent location.
Rooms are very well equipped.
Riverfront rooms are worth it, views are spectacular.
I removed 1star because the housekeeping service was really bad! During our stay we did not get adequate and prompt room service. Also our beds were not made during our stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Uday R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Uday R-
Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience with us. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and your stay. I do want to apologize if you found our housekeeping to be less than extraordinary. I want you to know that I am taking your concerns into account and will be discussing them with our team here to improve our level of service. I thank you again for your comments and compliments, we hope to welcome you back to Chicago soon.

Warm Rereads-
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nice
Great view. Great location.
The room was next to the elevator, which sucked, but other than that it was awesome.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Peter S-
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feed back on your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, but sorry if the elevator noise disturbed you-- it is something we are working on. We do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,604 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#86 of 190 in Chicago
6,598 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 190 in Chicago
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#72 of 190 in Chicago
4,973 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing