We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #66 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
1 review
“TT”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

If you're traveling on business, this hotel is an excellent choice so long as you do not remain in the hotel room during the day. Rnovations were occurring from 9am to 5pm from Monday to Saturday. I was away each day from Monday to Friday and only experienced the sound of drills on Saturday morning, the day I was checking out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Mike S-

Thank you for your thoughts. We are wrapping up our renovations to better enhance our property for future stays and I assure you, we are doing all we can to ensure construction progress does not interfere with our guests. I do hope you will stay with us again, as I think you will appreciate our updates once complete.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,366
    1,500
    523
    179
    90
See reviews for
1,106
1,514
175
1,073
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

In short, the rooms were lovely, construction noise was not an issue, and the staff was absolutely delightful to deal with. I really wish I could remember the name of the woman at the front desk when we checked in because she deserve special recognition. She was a tallish fair haired woman, so hopefully her employer sees this and commends her service.

My first visit to Chicago was a two night side trip after a flyball dog competition in Indianapolis. I was worried about finding a dog friendly hotel in Chicago after friends told me it was difficult and inconvenient. I was concerned my border collie, Badger, would not be welcome and we'd face difficulties.

I couldn't be more wrong! Badger was greeted by name when we returned from our walks and there was no problem getting a delayed checkout so he could stay in the room while we finished our blitz tour before catching our flight.

The valets/doormen were super, the staff I bumped into in the elevators were very helpful handling the doors for my elevator phobic dog and I to reach the 29th floor safely, and the front desk staff I simply cannot say enough good things about. The young lady who was at the front desk, I wish I could remember her name, on the evenings of the 20th and 21st was just so great. She had the answer to every question, from where I could walk the dog, to how long it would take us to get to O'Hare from there during rush hour.

I felt very welcome, very safe, and I slept very well (the down comforters are such a refreshment from the usual hotel blankets). I loved the rainfall shower heads as well.

There was a pet fee, the walls are a little thin, and the doors are a little stiff, but I had a great stay and will be back in the future, Badger too.

Thank you for making our first visit to Chicago such a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Monika H-
Thank you so very much for your kind words. I believe the young lady you're referring to was Wendy at the front desk, and I will certainly pass along your compliments. I am so happy that we were able to accommodate you and Badger so hospitably, because that is exactly why we're here. We hope to welcome both of you back on your next trip to Chicago and thank you so much for staying with us.

Warm Regards-
Bob Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed at the Wyndham this past week- the staff, room, and stay couldn't have been better.
Definitely would stay again! The location is hard to beat and many of the rooms have really good views of the river. We like that it's a couple blocks from the State and Lake station which covers a majority of the "L" lines in the city. Also, the riverwalk in front of the hotel allows you to walk to the Lakefront without dealing with traffic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afinnigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for providing this feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your room and overall stay. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,596 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 190 in Chicago
2,065 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#86 of 190 in Chicago
6,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#65 of 190 in Chicago
1,030 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#72 of 190 in Chicago
4,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing