We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #68 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was a very nice hotel. The service was wonderful. I loved the location. Close to shopping, restaurants, and the train.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Maggie W,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Chicago soon.

Best,
Bob Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,914)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,605 - 3,611 of 4,914 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Cheri F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel located right near everything downtown. We were there celebrating our anniversary for the weekend. Nice surprise when we arrived to find that the hotel had upgraded our room to a river front room so we had great view. We even got to watch them filming a show or movie in front of the hotel. The staff was pleasant and very helpful. We ate breakfast down at the corner cafe and would highly recommend. Again the hotel was great. Thank you for the little special treat in our room. We were very impressed.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank scott b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Scott B,

Thank you giving us the opportunity to be a part of your anniversary plans. I hope we made it as memorable as possible. I am happy you enjoyed yourselves and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes,
Bob Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Fredrik F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here with 11 others over the Canadian Thanksgiving weekend (which happened to coincide with the marathon) and we were very pleased with the fantastic location. You can walk to pretty much everything, and if not within walking distance, jump aboard the "el" a mere 2 blocks away. Such a brillant location I cannot rave enough about it. Close to everything - shopping,eats,nightlife,"el".... It was so easy to find even in the wee hours of the morning.....enough said.

Staff was very helpful and over the top friendly.

Truly enjoyed our stay in a fantastic city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDickert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Hello-

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such positive feed back. I am very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the chance to get out an experience all Chicago has to offer. I hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Chicago soon.

Warm Regards,
Bob Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Was my family's first time in Chicago to visit family. Was a great experience and the hotel was AWESOME! Everyone from the bell man (who became my little girls best friend during the trip - was a sweet gentleman) to the maids were friendly. Every time we came into the hotel we were greeted by someone if not everyone. The location was perfect! We will be back for sure!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnhfromCoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Hello-

I am so pleased to hear what a nice time you and your family had at our property during your visit. I thank you for leaving such kind feedback and thrilled you enjoyed Chicago so much. I will be sure to share your wonderful comments with the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Bob Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Marathon Pasta special at hotel restaurant was a joke! I would have to order the same meal 2 or 3x in preparation for a marathon. Not enough to carbo load.

Other than that, all is good :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobHolland-GM, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Wendy L,

I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our pasta special. It is something we offer every year during the marathon, usually with great success. I will be sure to share your comments with our Chef, to improve the portion size for next year. I hope that we met your expectations as far as the remainder of your stay. We look forward to seeing you again next year for the Marathon.

Warm Regards,
Bob Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,900 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 192 in Chicago
7,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Address: 71 E. Wacker dr, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Green Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $120 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing