We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, great location, and gorgeous views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #70 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Hotel 71 was about the perfect hotel for us. We asked for a high floor facing the river and we got it. The view was beautiful, the room was clean and spacious, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the hotel seems to have good sound proofing. We were right next to the elevators and we didn't hear them at all. The only frustrations we experienced were with the wifi as we had to stand in our room's entryway by the door to get it consistently and sometimes the elevators were a bit slow. However, they were doing some construction at the time of our visit which may have affected the elevators. The location was perfect as it's located right on the Loop so pretty much everything is within walking distance. The bed was also exceptionally comfortable. We ordered room service a couple of nights - the service was quick and the food was delicious - one of the best burgers we've ever had. We would gladly stay at Hotel 71 again.

Room Tip: We asked for a high floor with a good view so we got floor 15 facing the river. The view was beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dynahthirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear dynahthirst,

Thank you for leaving us such a great review! I'm happy you enjoyed your stay, specifically our location in downtown Chicago and views of the Chicago River, spacious guestrooms, and delicious room service (the burgers are also a favorite of mine!). Thank you for your patience with our elevators as we complete work on them to increase their speed and efficiency. Regarding our free wi-fi, if you have any issues with it in the future, please do not hesitate to contact our front desk staff. They will be happy to assist with any issues to help resolve them.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Steve Shern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,871 - 3,877 of 4,962 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Meredith F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank William Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank CincinnatiMoms
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Robb V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

A very nice local in a great location. Renovated. Pleasant staff. Hotel has a restaurant Hoyt's.
breakfast there was good except for coffee. I found the room quiet amidst the noise of Chcao.

Its location at Wacker near Michigan ave is great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Norma N,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, specifically our location in downtown Chicago, quiet guestrooms and friendly staff. I think you will be happy to hear that we will soon be featuring Starbucks coffee.

I hope you will be able to visit again soon!

Sincerely,
Steve Shern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,941 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#90 of 192 in Chicago
7,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Address: 71 E. Wacker dr, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Green Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
#43 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $111 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing