We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #72 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel can't get any better with the location (right at the crossing from North Michigan Ave and the Loop). And the view from the room down the river is great. The front desk was very accommodating and friendly. They let us store our frozen Giordano's pizzas overnight and gave us a room change due to noise from elevator construction. The restaurant by the lobby has good views and friendly staff. Didn't eat there, but had a couple drinks. The room size is above average for the area and price. Nice flat panel television and roomy bathrooms. One downside I noticed was the noise level in the room. You could hear the hallway too much so doors slamming and people in the halls as well as street level noises could make for a restless night. Of the 20 plus different hotels I've stayed in downtown Chicago, this is one I would go back to for the price $100 - $150 per night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stl_cardinals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear stl_cardinals,

Thank you for choosing Hotel 71 and for the great feedback! I'm so happy to hear that you loved our location in the heart of Downtown Chicago, our views of the Chicago River and spacious guestrooms. I'll be sure to pass along your kind words about our staff to the rest of the team.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Safe travels,

Steve Shern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,005)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,001 - 4,007 of 5,005 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our first stop in US before setting off on Route 66. Beautifully clean hotel with superb well- trained staff who were always friendly. Great location for touring the city. Hoyts is good for breakfast and a special thanks to Jose for looking after us so well. Would really recommend this hote.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank kaptainkrunchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear kaptainkrunchy,

Thank you for your great review of Hotel 71! I'm so happy to hear that our hotel and staff members provided you with such a superb experience. I'll be sure to pass along your kind words to the rest of the team, especially Jose in Hoyt's. I'm glad you enjoyed our restaurant and location in Downtown Chicago.

Safe travels as you cross the US! I hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely,

Steve Shern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

One night stay over for a business trip. From the front desk to the restaurant on site, everyone was friendly and accommodating. Very clean room. Wireless worked well. I would recommend to anyone....lots of restaurants around the hotel as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonBob14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear OregonBob14,

Thanks for choosing Hotel 71 for your business trip! It was great to read all of your positive comments about our staff, guestrooms and complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access (great for business travelers like yourself!).

I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon. Thank you so much for recommending Hotel 71!

Safe travels,

Steve Shern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed at The Hotel 71 in Chicago from March 8-11, 2013. I did a ton of research before booking this hotel, which I usually do, and let me say I am glad I looked because I may not have found this little gem otherwise. This hotel is in the perfect location, right in the heart of downtown, within walking distance to dining, Millenium Park, and of course The Magnificant Mile. The rooms are beautifully appointed and very spacious especially the bathroom! The view from our room was awesome! I could have stared out the window all day long. The staff was very very friendly and helpful! I reccommend the Valet parking as well, they are quick and efficient and you never have to worry about your vehicle. I think we got this hotel for a steal!! I was expecting to pay well over 200.00 for a hotel in Downtown Chicago over a weekend but we didn't! it was only $420.00 Canadian for three nights an absolute steal in my opinion! I will for sure stay here again! Thanks for the great stay!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drea2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Drea2227,

Thank you for choosing Hotel 71 and for leaving us such a wonderful review! We love thinking of our hotel as a "hidden gem!"

I'm glad you enjoyed our location in the heart of Downtown Chicago and our spectacular views of the Chicago River. We're lucky to have some of the largest guestrooms in Chicago.

I'd also like to thank you for all of your positive feedback about our staff and the valet parking staff. It's great to hear that you found everyone to be so friendly and helpful.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Hotel 71 again soon.

Safe travels,

Steve Shern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Larry D S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Hank44224
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,999 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#90 of 192 in Chicago
7,135 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Address: 71 E. Wacker dr, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Green Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
#44 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $102 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing