We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #71 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 22, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,022 - 4,028 of 5,012 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Jeanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

stayed at hotel 71 in downtown chicago very nice hotel modeled very nice. plan to stay there again, was just planning one night once we saw hotel tried to stay second night but was sold out

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Michael D,

Thank you for staying at Hotel 71 and for taking the time to leave us such a great review! I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations and plan on staying here again in the future. I hope you will be able to visit again soon!

Safe travels,

Steve Shern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This by far was the worse hotel i ever stayed in! I was moved aroung four times.First time they check us in a occupied room 2nd room was dirty 3rd room had a bowel movement in the toliet 4th room the toliet paper handel came off and we just stayed in there , with all the moving My ridding boot was lost and it was terrible. I mean the manager had an attitude because his staff couldn't get it right. NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ariel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Ariel J,

I would like to extend my sincere apologies. I'm sorry that your recent stay did not live up to your expectations, or up to our standards. I understand how frustrating it must have been to move rooms multiple times. I would like to assure you that this is not how our hotel operates and we are taking your feedback very seriously. Please feel free to reach out to our Director of Housekeeping, Kenny Franz, if you would like to give us more information about your stay and your misplaced boot. He will be happy to assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

Steve Shern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Do not plan your wedding at Hotel 71. My brother and sister in law had their wedding at hotel 71 and yes we had a wonderful time at the wedding but the communication was awful. The event coordinator Chelsea at Hotel 71 was appalling. Not only was Chelsea not available while the wedding party was arriving and setting things up but she was giving tours of the ballroom while we were taking pictures. Chelsea left the wedding while we were eating dinner and did not make plans to ensure the wedding continued problem free. After the wedding my brother and sister in law did not leave with the remaining cake, champagne glasses, display lights that they brought themselves. I absolutely do NOT reccommend using Hotel 71 and most definitely do NOT work with Chelsea. While on their honeymoon they also ran 2 payments for the wedding which exceeded their credit cards.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Katie O,

Thank you for your feedback. I was surprised by your comments regarding the wedding you attended. Chelsey, our catering manager, has been in touch with the bride since the occasion (both before and after you posted this review) and the bride has assured us that she was happy with the event and that everything was done to her satisfaction. I hope this will help ease your concerns.

To clarify a couple of our policies: The bride and groom asked to gain early access to the ballroom (before their contracted event time) to take photos with their family. Chelsey allowed them access as a courtesy, but let them know she had tours that were already scheduled and she would have to honor those appointments. During the event, Chelsey stayed past dinner and cake service, which is customary. She spoke to the bride before she left to make sure everything was taken care of.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to us directly and we’d be happy to speak with you.

Sincerely,

Steve Shern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Booked a city view room here for 3 nights. When checking in the man at the front desk advised we had a city view room on the 11th floor. When we got to the room we soon saw that all we looked over was a dingey rooftop and also a lot of dumpsters. No mention was also made of major renovations going in between 9am-4pm until we saw a note in our room about it. When we phoned down to reception to ask about city view we were advised the room faces in the direction of the city....not good enough. It is not a city view just because it faces the direction of the city.. Which all you can see is a rooftop and dumpsters.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funtraveller199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Funtraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback about your stay. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room views. Normally our guests are very satisfied with our views and rate them among the best in the city.

Since we are in the heart of Downtown Chicago, the city-facing views will differ by floor. The views are more open on the higher floors and many of our guests enjoy these views. For the best views, I would highly suggest upgrading to a river view room. These rooms feature magnificent views of the Chicago River and Marina City from every floor.

I hope you will give us another chance to impress you. I think you will truly enjoy our river view rooms.

Safe travels,

Steve Shern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 191 in Chicago
5,002 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#90 of 191 in Chicago
7,145 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Address: 71 E. Wacker dr, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Green Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
#43 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $101 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing