We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Downtown Hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #62 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Downtown Hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Clean and comfortable hotel. Centrally located downtown on the river, with easy access (5 block walk) to Clark/Lake metro stop. Minutes walking distance to Michigan Ave shopping. Staff friendly. The suite I stayed in had a handicap access bathroom (which I didn't request) - making it difficult to use, ironically. The shower only came up to chest level (made for someone sitting down). And that bathroom needed some updating. But apparently, the deluxe rooms (little more expensive) are updated. Overall would recommend for convenience of location and price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TToy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,089
    1,377
    479
    163
    76
See reviews for
979
1,358
167
966
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I spent nine nights lodging at Hotel71 and was very impressed with staff welcome, cleanliness, room size and location.

I was in an Executive King. The bed was huge. Seemed a lot bigger than my king size bed at home.

The view was nice looking up the river. Especially nice At night.

There was so much food to enjoy in hundreds, if not thousands, of locations in Chicago, Inever actually ate in the building.

A reasonable Fitness centre is available on the 7th floor, I believe. Not that I used it. I did look on it though and was well stocked with weights, aerobic equipment and weight machines.

I would definitely stay her again.

Walking distances

Magnificent Mile - 4 mins
Field museum - 30 mins
Navy Pier 20 mins
Hancock Tower - 15 mins
Wabash area shops 10 mins.

Room Tip: Stay on a floor where two lifts only service a fewer number of floors. That way you should get your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakes_traveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel has a truly terrific location ... and amazing views if you're lucky enough to get a room with a river view. While my room was a little tired, wallpaper peeling a bit in the corner, and no fancy bathroom fixtures -- it was immaculately clean, with a large flatscreen tv, comfy chaise, great bed, and two walls of windows that made me feel like I was in a tree house hanging out over the river.

Friendly staff all round from reception to room service to food service. Gym is nice with modern equipment and more amazing views.

This hotel is a serious winner -- and I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and river view! (Sadly I can't seem to post photos to tripadvisor from m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyfromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Nice place downtown, nice staff.. Restaurant Hoyt's very good and staff is terrific... BUT the housekeepers are terrible. The bathroom was filthy and forget shampoo.. One bottle for 6 days, had to keep requesting. The dust in that room and fifth on the walls was horrible. I had to pry a locked window to get clean air. The wall in bathroom was covered in old toothpaste and I do not want to know. The bed was comfortable.. But overall, I will not go back.

Room Tip: Room away from elevators. Very thin doors and you can hear everything. Check the bathroom , especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ntreskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The location is right on the riverwalk, and a few steps away from the Magnificent Mile. The rooms are clean, spacious, and well-designed. The service was very prompt (I needed something small fixed, someone was there in under 10 minutes). The gym is quite nice. There is no breakfast buffet, though there is a restaurant next door that serves pretty good (but slow and overpriced) meals.

WiFi is free, but the connection was quite slow. My room had a small fridge to store my own food and drinks, but no mini-bar (a plus, in my eyes). Great bathroom.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river, for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

I should preface this by noting that we had a convention rate of about $149/night (before taxes) which made this a decent value. I may have evaluated it differently at $250/night…

Stayed here a week or two ago for a conference. No complaints. Service was consistently good. The room was very clean throughout and nicely equipped. Really nice bathroom with two sinks, and another door that could be closed with the toilet and both a (rain) shower and a nice tub. No issues with water temperature or pressure. The room also had a small frig., coffee maker, and sink, a comfy sitting chair, and a nice flatscreen tv, as well as a good desk (although they placed the electrical outlets at exactly the same level as the desktop, so you had to pull the heavy desk away from the wall a bit to use them). Beds had very nice linens, clean and crisp, and the mattresses were nicely firm. I think we may have received a free upgrade for our double queen room, because we had a great view (both day and night) of the river and central Chicago on an angled corner room that looked out at the river, Wacker Drive, and another street. We were on the 16th floor. Noise was not an issue.

There was a restaurant attached to the hotel, but I didn't use it. Also, take a minute to take the elevator to the top floor of the hotel. They have an event room up there that has windows all around for great views of Chicago and the lake. It was completely empty on the day I went up there, your own private observation room. Also, I didn't use or view the pool, but I did use the exercise area, which was very well equipped with several types of exercise machines for lifting and for cardio, as well as a variety of dumbbells. It was one of the better equipped exercise areas I have found in a hotel.

The hotel has a good location with lots of restaurants, music, Michigan Ave., etc. all within easy walking distance. There is a bakery just a few steps from the hotel which is nice in the morning. If you are coming into Union Station by train and enjoy walking, it is walkable to the hotel from there - about 20 minutes. I wouldn't do it with any bulky luggage, however.

At this price I would stay here again if I was looking for a little extra luxury.

Room Tip: The corner rooms overlooking the river have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthWoodsWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at Hotel 71 a couple weekends ago and were very impressed. We had a deluxe room. It was huge and had a separate sitting room with a sofa, work area and tv. The bathroom was very modern and well appointed. There was a bar area with a small sink and refrigerator drawers. We were not there long enough to take full advantage of the amenities, but they would be great for people staying on business or a longer weekend. The location was great. It was out of a lot of the hustle and bustle, but still convenient enough to get to everything. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendylynn68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#65 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#11 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
LondonHouse Chicago, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#28 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing