We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in the middle of Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #68 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed here during the PackExpo in McCromick Plaza and got a room on the 36th floor with a wonderful view to the Chicago river. The room was clean, the bathroom too. A radio-clock with iPhone dock charged my phone and in a small business corner I had plenty of space for my notebook. The staff is friendly and car-parking is very convenient at the hotel-own garage directly beside the main entrance.

Room Tip: riverside view, the higher - the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kranhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,990 - 3,996 of 4,929 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

Decent high rise hotel. Nothing too fancy. Outside looks a little plain with slightly faded mirrored glass. Large room - clean - quiet - comfortable bed. Nicely appointed. Nice bathroom - big tub. Not overpriced. Good TV, wifi, desk. pretty good value. Paid extra for river view and was happy I did - I was on 37th floor - hotel is on a bend in river so you can look down the river and see several bridges. Good location across the river from Trump Tower. Nice little lobby bar - a bit plain but okay. I would return.

Room Tip: Ask for river view. Costs about 15.00 more per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philipengs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel 71 for 3 nights in August 2012 while attending the Lollapalooza music festival. We stayed in 2 different rooms throughout our stay.

Pros:
1.The Hotel was clean
2. Staff were superb.
3. Location!

Cons:
1. The restaurant was disappointing, not worth eating here.
2. Noise. Our first 2 nights we were in a room that was located next to the elevators, street view. There was noise all night of people coming and going to and from the elevators; also our neighbours were up partying all night and we heard it all. I finally went down at 4am on our second night to ask if we could change rooms. The front desk was very accommodating, upgrading us to the best room they had available. We spent our last night on the 36th floor, in a corner room facing the river. This room was huge, and the view was amazing.

Overall we would stay again, but will make sure to request a room far away from the elevators.

Room Tip: Rooms near the elevators are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here for a business meeting. At the last minute, I upgraded my room to a fitness suite with a treadmill. The room was huge, especially the beautiful bathroom. The entryway had a wetbar with refrigerator. I didn't find any plates, wine glasses, etc., but room service brought them upon request.

The bedroom itself was large, with a very comfortable king-size bed and excellent pillows. There was also a chaise lounge, which was great for a solo traveler, but made it impossible to invite my friends in for a drink or snack, to take advantage of the fabulous wetbar. The treadmill was a top-of-the-line machine in a separate room, facing the window and a TV. However, the TV was too low to watch, and the view was terrible. I was a bit disappointed after hearing about the amazing views, but obviously, with its city location, not every room can have a view. (I wasn't disappointed at all with the treadmill itself, and I really enjoyed the privacy while working out!)

I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat. In fact, I miss it already! This will be my hotel of choice in Chicago from now on.

The location is very convenient, only about 2 blocks from the State and Lake stop of the Orange line. Be warned, though: there is no escalator or elevator to the elevated tracks, so be prepared to carry your bags up and down the steps.

By the way, I found a great cheese and wine store--Pastoral Artisan Cheese--about a block away. Highly recommended for stocking your wetbar!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmlco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel 71 for work and I thought it was wonderful. My room was on the corner and I had LARGE windows all the way along the outside. I was on the 15th floor and had a spectacular view of the Chicago River. The room itself was very nice. My favorite part was the Kurig that they had in the bathroom! I also had breakfast at the hotel one morning and the food was delicious. I would say that it was a little over priced, but it was very good!

Room Tip: Make sure your room faces the river. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lahanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our room at Hotel 71 was perfect! We had a corner room with windows on two walls of the room overlooking the river - absolutely beautiful. The room had more than enough space to comfortably accommodate three adults. Beds were queen size and very comfortable (I'm quite picky and get back and hip pain if I sleep in a bed that's too firm. I had absolutely no pain after sleeping on these beds for three nights.) Housekeeping always had our room clean by the time we got back at around 5pm, and never bothered us when we had our 'do not disturb' sign up. They always brought us more coffee and towels when we requested extra. The bathrooms were also spacious and had enough counter space for our flat irons, make-up, etc. My sister is very picky about bathrooms and she was very happy with this one. We were on the 25th floor and didn't hear any traffic during the night; just the occasional siren.

The location was perfectly set in the middle of downtown Chicago. We walked to Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier (about a mile away), Millennium Park, Art Institute, and many restaurants in the area.

We didn't try the hotel restaurant or room service so I can't comment on those. But there is a delicious Italian restaurant a few doors down with great thin crust pizza and fantastic tiramisu.

I've stayed at a few other hotels in downtown Chicago, but I absolutely plan to stay at Hotel 71 next time I'm there!

Room Tip: Corner rooms on higher floors have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenC814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hotel 71 is the perfect opportunity to enjoy boutique accommodations in a fabulous location along the River, just steps from Michigan Avenue's "Magnificent Mile" shopping. The hotel has become our favorite for the annual "Greening of the River" at St. Patrick's Day, which takes place between the Michigan and Wabash avenue bridges, right in front of the hotel. An easy walk to Near North's wonderful dining offers a wide selection, from Portillo's and the Billy Goat Tavern, to Numero Uno and Lou Malnati's, to Gibson's and Quartino. Food is never hard to find! Millenium Park and State Street are blocks to the south, Lincoln Park Zoo and Navy Pier are a short taxi ride to the north.

The hotel itself offers an inviting, social lobby, friendly staff, and plenty of elevators. The hotel's restaurant is Hoyt's, an American Bistro offering contemporary cuisine and a lively bar atmosphere. Rooms are spacious and well-appointed at unexpectedly affordable prices. Views of the River are unmatched.

I enthusiastically recommend Hotel 71 and will enjoy its convenience and luxuries again soon!

Room Tip: The lower floors have been recently remodeled. Book a Premier River King on one of the higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davemaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,911 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#86 of 192 in Chicago
7,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Address: 71 E. Wacker dr, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Green Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $119 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing