We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 4 star hotel, at an awesome location, for a 3 star rate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #64 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Roma
Level Contributor
150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A 4 star hotel, at an awesome location, for a 3 star rate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The best thing about Hotel 71 is definitely the location: it's in the very heart of Chicago, overlooking the river, and almost any room as an awesome view.
And you can get the rooms for prices that are way below the other hotels in the same area!
I reccomend this hotel warmly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veleno75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,239
    1,438
    500
    170
    81
See reviews for
1,027
1,451
173
1,014
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Friendly service, nice rooms, and right in the heart of the loop. Can virtually walk to most of the must see attractions. The restaurant (Hoyts) serves good food, but is a sports bar and can get very noisy if a game is on. Especially if the Chicago bears are playing. The most gracious staff go out of their way to accomodate you

Room Tip: If you go for the city view room, be advised to get one on a hgher floor. We were on the 8th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Amazing hotel on the corner of Wacker and Michigan Ave just minutes away from Millennium Park and the Mag Mile. I really enjoyed our stay here and everything was really nice about the hotel. Some of the stuff in the room wasn't ever working right like the tv and the fridge. Unfortunately, the fridge made so much night (like a plane) that I had to call down twice to get it replaced and even the service guy said that something was seriously wrong and that I should've called earlier because it was so loud.
The hotel room was great and I enjoyed the business desk as well as the couch to unload some of our luggage and relax. The room was very spacious and the bed was pretty comfortable. The bathroom could use some updating, especially the shower. It was interesting that the closet was actually in the shower room. They had a Keurig in the room which was nice. It was great to enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning with the amazing view from our room. The Purple Pig is a great restaurant off of Mich Ave at the start of the Mag Mile, you won't regret going there...great food and a fun place to be.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverfront view, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Well done rebuild here. The old International was seriously tired. They have some of the urban upscale touches without sacrificing comfort for us old timers. Thew room was fine. We were over the Chicago River,Trump Tower, Wrigley Building. Wonderfully located! Kameer on the street assisted us with a car and was wonderful. Front Desk was fine. Food and Beverage was OK. Vic? a busser with a dirty shirt and jeans in not impressive. Alex the waitress was OK. Food was OK, not outstanding. A beet salad was VERY predistrain. Downtown Chicago in mid September is beautiful for a get-away weekend. Folks from the provences come in and groan at the price, but this is not Des Moines.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

This was our second time in three years staying at Hotel 71. The stay was most enjoyable. Large room, great river view, clean, neat, quite, friendly staff, super location. We had driven and the valet was most accommodating. Charles, the doorman was most courteous and informative. Woud recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweethooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was my first time traveling to Chicago and the city as well as Hotel 71 were incredible. It was in walking distance to everything, except Navy Pier. The room and bathroom were spacious, with an awesome view of the Chicago River and city landscape. The bed, office area and my favorite chair with a foot stool were the perfect resting place after a long day walking. The staff was very helpful and happy. I had a late flight and called in to let them know and when I got there at 1:30 AM they were quick and helpful to get us to our room. They also held our luggage until 5 PM, even though check out was at 12 PM. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Select the city or river view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carobatgirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Travelled here on business last week and then extended our stay through weekend with my husband. My second time here. You cannot beat this location - what a view and excellent vantage point to take in the best of chicago!. Rooms are beautiful and loved the large bathroom. Beds and pillows are great - I slept so well!!
I ran each morning along the river and lake - what a great way to start the day!

The staff at the desk were very helpful and accommodating. We loved sitting outside Hoyt's and on Saturday, they had a live band...great touch!!

First choice for my next stay!!

Room Tip: Overlooking the River....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#61 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#85 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,105 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
LondonHouse Chicago, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#28 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing