We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in the middle of Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Ranked #87 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2007

I stayed here for a convention that I attended. What a great place. They have a free cooked to order breakfast daily and in the evening they have a Managers Complimentary snacks and cocktails from 5-7 nightly. Lobby area is actully a floor above from the ground level which makes it a nice place to sit and relax. This is also where the breakfast area is. The rooms are mini suites and are very comfortable. The hotel is close to all of downtown and within walking distance from the Navy Pier. The city of Chicago is a great town. Other members that attended the convention were staying at the Sheraton and the Ritz across the street from us and were disappointed. They had to pay for everything including the newspaper. Our was delivered free daily to your room. There were a lot of families there also so I would recommned this hotel for families. Overall great place and very convienent.
I would stay there again for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank LinAnnBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,400 - 2,406 of 2,521 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2007

I have not stayed at this particular property in about 5 years, moved to the Lakefront Embassy for awhile. There has been a renovation done and it is great. Service is fabulous as I expected, rooms roomy and comfortable and well decorated. Breakfasts are the BEST...cooked to order or yogurt or doughnuts...etc. This hotel is close to all shopping, theatres and nightlife. I enjoyed the valet parking free "deal" offered by Hilton. It was nice to pull into the heated car lot, have someone park my car and take the elevator up to checkin. Loved the doorman, very kind and friendly and the evening hospitality included hot dogs, free drink and munchies. My 16 year old daughter and I took in the show "Wicked" and it was a great walk there and back. We love Chicago and all it has to offer and we love Hilton Hotels in Chicago!

Stayed: March 2007
3  Thank thebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2007

Great location! Girlfriend w/e....adjoining suites. Nice size living room area in suite,clean, good showers, lot of towels,empty refrig, microwave, hair dryer, drapes make rooms really dark. Entire staff was extremely friendly & helplful. Walking distance to Water Tower Place, the "bean", restauants. Includes full buffet breakfast (hot/cold foods) with lots of seating; also manager reception in evening. Nice lobby. Would HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mbeaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2007

The hotel was beautiful! Location was awesome. Large, spacious rooms. Large bathroom, clean too! Everyone was so helpful. The free breakfast was really good, nice TVs in the bar area. Elevators are fast, never have to wait. Parking is great underground, dont have to worry about your car. Down the street from hard rock, rock bottom, rock & roll mcdonalds. 5 min ride to navy pier. 5 min walk to michigan ave. Perfect perfect perfect!! Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jfox113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2007

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the hotel with my husband. The location is perfect. You are two blocks from Michigan Avenue, and one block from the Grand Subway station. There is also a Starbucks right beside the hotel and small grocery store right across the street.
The breakfast at the hotel is the normal stuff at breakfast buffets, omlettes were nice. The nightly reception was also great. It was very crowded over the weekend, but we never waited more than a few minutes in line for breakfast or for a drink a night. The room service was so-so, over priced, had it one night for dinner.
The room looked like it had been redone recently. Linens were nice. There was a little bit of street noise at night, but we were so exhausted every night from walking around that I hardly noticed it. The workout room was great, had 3 treadmills, 2 elipticals, and 2 bikes, plus free weights.
We did most of the tourisist stuff and really enjoyed ourselves in Chicago. I highly recommend going to see Wicked at the Oriental theater. Outstanding performance and enjoyed the venue. Also check out restaurant.com before you go, as there is many restaurants in the downtown area. We had an amazing dinner at the Chestnut Grill on Chestnut Street near the Hancock building. I bought a gift certificate on restaurant.com for $10 which we used.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank taz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2007

My husband, 4 year-old daughter and I stayed at this property December 30 - Januray 2nd. Overall, the hotel was clean, staff were friendly and the location was great. Unfortunately, we had a few problems.

Our room, upon arrival, was very cold and the cable was broken. A custodian came to fix both problems and was successful after several hours of work. My biggest complaint was the pool. The tile appeared dirty and the temperature of the water was very cold. We complained the first day and the staff admitted the heater had been turned down (why?) and that they would increase the temp by the following day. The next day, although it was a bit warmer, it was still too cold for us to swim. Since the pool is my daughter's favorite thing at any hotel, the cold temp really dimished our enjoyment. We will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank go_Kristin_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2006

Family and I stayed two nights at the beginning of the week and one night at the end of the week. I'm sure there are other great places to stay in Chicago, but it would be hard for any of them to beat the Embassy Suites Downtown. The staff - from the doorman to the bellhops to the front desk to the breakfast and evening hospitality crews - are all first class. Any request was met with a smile and "sure we can" attitude.

None of the nights were sold out, so evening and breakfast crowds were not too bad. On the Friday night stay, there were definitely more families with more children. This was most noticeable in the pool and business center (the hotel should ban under 18 from the business center).

We got an incredible Internet rate through the Hilton web site, but this place would have been worth a higher price. The place is modern and everything was in great working order. The breakfast line is very efficient as the get the omelettes started and add the ingredients as requested - it helps keep the line moving. Was always able to find plenty to eat and places to sit.

There is a grocery store right across the street and plenty of restaurants within easy (and very safe) walking distance. The grocery even has a good deli counter with hot food.

If going to Navy Pier, the free trolley is fine, but not as frequent as the bus (a bargain at $2 per adult and older child). Someone told me their family took a cab - $10, including tip. The Chicago Childrens Museum is really loads of fun - check your local museum for reciprocal membership privelages.

I will definitely try to stay here on any return trip, especially at a great rate.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank toomuchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Address: 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3853
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Chicago
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $108 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Chicago Hotel
Embassy Suites Chicago
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing