We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Ranked #87 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
“Great for the price”
Reviewed July 12, 2010

This is my first time staying in a hotel since moving from Downtown Chicago. For the price it was great! The location is perfect! It is close to everthing a tourist (which I am not) would want to see. The room was a bit run down, but we were only there to sleep so that was not that big of an issue. We feel the best part of the visit had to be the free cocktails and apps in the evening and the full breakfast in the moring. What a wonderful deal for a family. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    801
    300
    99
    91
See reviews for
1,005
377
86
533
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winona, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We loved our experience from the moment we drove up! This was our first visit to Chicago. The staff were all great about answering questions, suggesting things to do, and their ideas were very helpful. We were amazed at how the city was always moving and full of life! We loved the breakfast every morning. The hotel location was walking distance from all the destinations we had on our agenda. We definitely will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynette55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We weren't exactly sure how the hotel would turn out, but it ended up better than we expected. It was fairly crowded with teens and their families for some sort of school-related event in the area. Didn't notice it too much until breakfast time, and then it was hard to get in/out of the dining area and find a table. The kids seemed to love going up and down in the elevators in the atrium and running up and down the hallways on the floors. Aside from this, we enjoyed the hotel. The room was cozy and the bed was comfy. We ordered room service and it was very prompt. Figuring out the parking was a trial. We had to drive around the hotel several times before we finally found the valet entrance. There's a lot of traffic, and it's hard to turn into the entrance. The hotel was also not too convenient to downtown Chicago sites (from a walking perspective). Overall all, though, our stay was fine.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxboxcolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I stayed here for three nights in June and the hotel was amazing, very clean great location everything within walking distance and the free breakfast was brilliant. The pool could do with a bit of a clean but the gym was free and the facilities were great. The staff are very helpful and friendly I would definitely stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowseywowsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron,IN
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We recently stayed at the Embassy Suites at 600 North State Street in Chicago, Illinois. The hotel is clean, the staff very friendly, and location was great. Our room was also very clean, and very roomy. There is a complementary breakfast each morning, which saves you a considerable amount of money, since the restaurants are a little pricy sometimes. Lots of restaurants within a few blocks, and the Rock and Roll McDonalds is about 2 blocks in back of the hotel. Michigan is only a 5 minute walk, with lots of shopping. We parked on Ontario about 1/2 block away and saved a little money there too. Its a self park garage. Whole Foods is about 2 blocks north and is a great grocery store. LOVE CHICAGO TOO!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We stayed at the Embassy Suites for 5 days following a wedding in Chicagoland for a mini vacation. We enjoyed the location. It is walking distance to the Magnificent mile and close to an CTA stop. The room was spacious and the cook to order breakfast was tasty and well stocked---except for first day.
The staff was amazing and helpful. The elevators were amazingly fast. We seldom waited more than 10 seconds.
The business center was up to the volume and had all necessary tools to do away from home business. Valet parking is pricy, but we did not bring a car.
The property is looking a bit worn (mildew in tub), but there is a complete renovation in the works for this year.
Great value

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2travelVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

This was one of the cleanest motels we have stayed at. Other than the beds being a bit small, the stay was perfect. The staff were friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ativan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Address: 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3853
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Chicago
#57 Family Hotel in Chicago
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Chicago Hotel
Embassy Suites Chicago
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing