We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Ranked #83 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hotel is very friendly and was always willing to help me navigate the city. The breakfasts were great with plenty of choices. The cocktail reception was wonderful after a long day running around the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,403 - 1,409 of 2,478 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

Embassy Suites is very comfortable hotel and located in the best part of town. The complimentary breakfast and nightly manager's reception add that nice touch so you never want to leave. The stay would have been perfect if the hotel offerred free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Penny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Had a very disappointing stay at the hotel around New Year's. The elevator situation was terrible - with long waits each time we needed to leave the room because at least one of the elevators was out of service. The room was poorly planned, with a refrigerator in the bedroom making normal refrigerator noises all evening, and very long waits at the evening reception and breakfast.

We've been to this Embassy Suites before and had excellent experiences. The location is great and people have been friendly and helpful. However, this time, the facility was overwhelmed - too many guests and not enough help, and one of the the elevators were not working, making it a nightmare because of the waits.

I was very frustrated by the stay and I must have returned a customer survey form at checkout (I don't even remember it). Out of the blue, I got an email from Hilton recognizing my frustration and making some amends. I appreciate their response and want to believe that this was not the way that the hotel generally operates. I will give them the benefit of the doubt (based on previous experience).

But they should get refrigerators out of the bedroom and into the living area.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower level floor so the stairs are an option if the elevators are busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FanofHockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Facility was very clean. Staff was Friendly and Helpful. Over all it was a very good and enjoyable experience. This review should not require a minimum of 200 characters! I gave My opinion and if this is not enough you should not be asking me for my opinion.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Timothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

A great place to stay in Chicago due to it's location and walking distance to many of the great restaurants and shopping that Chicago has to offer. Our kids love the pool and complimentary breakfast. The staff is very accomodating and recent upgrades to the lobby and dining area add to the experience. We have stayed here multiple times and continue to go back. It's been great for our family.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed here for three nights on business and it was very nice. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was filling and the happy hour was hopping! Michael the doorman was very welcoming and worked hard to get everyone a cab. Be sure to try the restaurant attached for dinner. It was so good! I will be back!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank btm1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The separate room for parents was a huge plus for choosing this hotel. The free happy hour and free breakfast is a deal you can't pass up. The pool was perfect for us to escape the cold wet snowy chicago weather. Location is perfect too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank 610jeffreyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Address: 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3853
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
#50 Business Hotel in Chicago
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $104 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Chicago Hotel
Embassy Suites Chicago
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing