We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Hotel in Downtown Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Ranked #87 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, United States
2 reviews
“Great Family Hotel in Downtown Chicago”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Wife and I decided to take my 2 teenage boys and 2 young girls for a quick getaway and every one had a ball. Although the staff was not as pleasant as I am accustomed to when staying at a Hilton brand hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jenae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,067
    795
    294
    97
    90
See reviews for
980
376
85
529
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
adrian, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2014

vary nice hotel plenty of restarants in walking distance UNO pizza Weber Grill piano bar full service grocery across street with full wine center parking a priced a little high vary helpfill staff room was clean continental breakfast vary good evening drinks nice

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

A really good value, I stayed for $99/night. This is a typical Embassy Suites room. It is Clean. Excellent breakfast served, many options, far more than expected & very well done! Location seemed fine, I had meetings and took cabs everywhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had an excellant stay in downtown for our 30th Anniversary. The staff was excellent and helpful. They offered suggestions for sites and had helpful coupons. The hot breakfast was outstanding. Alot of very nice sites to see within walking distance. Cabs were also plentiful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

When I arrived things appeared great. However, there was a large wet area on the carpet between the bedroom and bathroom and a type of aroma that faintly smelled of vomit. I carry Febreeze with me so that was resolved. Then on Sunday morning about 7:45 am I rec'v a call from the "front desk, guest services" indicating the systems went down overnight and lost the majority of my info and they want to just confirm my information. Being awakened from sleep I asked if I could come down to the front desk later but the guy on the line indicated it needed to be handled right away. I went ahead and confirmed my info over the phone and hung up. After about 10 mins, I decided to call the front desk to verify if the systems went down. The front desk rep Ronnie indicated I needed to cancel my CC right away because I had been a victim of a scam. I hung up and called My CC Company right away and canceled my card. I was in a tough situation because I only had $40 in cash on me and the CC I had to cancel and my check-book with me. I went to the Front desk and asked to speak to a manager. Ronnie indicated she was the manager and I explained my situation and ask her how this could have happened. She explained that I would not Embassy's fault, indicating the staff does not have access to my personal info once the "check in process" was complete and unfortunately I would have been the fault of my CC authorization carrier. We went back and forth and Ronnie told me she was sorry for my experience but Embassy was not responsible and there was nothing she could do for me. Ronnie indicated that this type of thing happens quite often and others have reported this type of scam while staying at Embassy. Ronnie indicated in the future I would need to check the "caller id" on the room phone prior to giving out personal information. Which was the oddest statement she said because the room phones do not have caller id's but I ended the conversation because I no longer wanted to debate with her. I was so disappointed in the lack of compassion. I had to have a family member from home wire me cash. Prior to checking out I rec'v a letter under my door indicating I needed to contact the front desk regarding my balance. I went down stairs and spoke to Marrissa, who explained everything thoroughly. Marrissa indicated she did hear how Ronnie treated me and that Ronnie had informed me about the process incorrectly. She patiently explained why I had a balance and I understood why I still had a balance. I am not sure if I will stay at this Embassy Suite again.

Only 2 of 4 elevators worked which made coming and going really tough....

Ronnie contacted me on 1/31/2014 at 5:10 pm, indicating she called regarding the review I wrote, and wanted to know if I wanted to speak about it further. I indicated I felt really bothered by her service and I am very surprised and it was in poor taste that SHE would be calling me. Ronnie said given the circumstances nothing she said would have satisfied me and that she felt she did all she could. I let her know, this is not about her feelings and I was terrible turned off by her service, her way of communicating to me and also her only wanting to relieve Embassy of any liability of any wrong and wanting to be "Right". I let her know that I no longer wanted to be contacted by her and would like someone over her to contact me. Ronnie did not honor my request, instead she follow-up with an email at 6:08pm, expressing how sorry she was about me experience and to contact her if I had any further questions. At this point, I am LIVID! I had to research myself who the general manager. I will be contact him. To date I have not recieved a response from him either. I will now be contacting the BBB.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We (family of 4) spent a week here in August while I had some business meetings and some free time. This hotel is in a great location for good access to Chicago attractions for a reasonable price. Having a suite gave us the space we needed to spread out as well as put kids to bed earlier. The rooms are comfortable and quiet and the kitchenette was handy for preparing snacks and light meals. The hotel serves a great breakfast buffet with a wide variety of hot and cold food. The pool and spa were a hit with the kids and great way to end the day after sightseeing. There are plenty of shops nearby and it is a short walk to Michigan Ave with high-end shopping and bus connections to the rest of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoAlong2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I have never had a disappointing experience at an Embassy Suites hotel, but I did at this hotel. To start, the hotel staff is very nice and friendly and eager to answer any questions or help out. Housekeeping does an excellent job getting the rooms cleaned up nicely and in a very timely manner. It's great that both breakfast and happy hour are offered to guests. The lobby and second level are very nice.
We stayed at this hotel last year and it was being remodeled. A year later, we stay here again and it is still being remodeled. The hotel still only has two of the four elevators working, so it is rather slow getting on an elevator and to your floor. The rooms are fairly well maintained and offer the typical spacious Embassy Suites layouts...front living room area with desk, TV, couch, ottoman, and the bedroom area with a wet bar in between. The thermostat could never get the room below 69 degrees, so it was always warm in the room, which for those that like their rooms on the cooler side, it was uncomfortable. The TV in the front room was very nice and had inputs allowing you to connect a laptop to the TV. The TV in the bedroom, is an old, cheap flat panel that doesn't allow you to connect anything to it, so there is no way to watch movies or anything from your laptop on the bedroom TV. The bathroom is a bit small, but there was always hot water and good water pressure. The hotel internet worked pretty good with nice speeds. The hotel guest laundry is a joke. It is free to use, but you are better off doing laundry elsewhere. There is one washer and two dryers. The washer is very slow and leaves the clothes sopping wet. The dryers don't do anything to dry the clothes...even after three cycles. But I guess you can't complain if it's free. Everyone that used the guest laundry had the same complaint.
This hotel is in a great location, but there are several other Hilton properties right in the area that would be a better choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartinJLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Address: 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3853
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Chicago
#57 Family Hotel in Chicago
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Chicago Hotel
Embassy Suites Chicago
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing