We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“6 night stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Ranked #86 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Woonona, Australia
1 review
“6 night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Great lakefront location. Close to main city centre. Suite hotel with good feel, service etc. Would definitely return. We had several people from UK, Europe and US all meet here and all commented on overall experience as very piositive

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    760
    279
    92
    84
See reviews for
916
365
83
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

This hotel is not only beautiful but convienent to everything you could ever want to do in Chicago. We took a two nigth 3 day get away for our anniversary and it was excellent. The price was unbelievable, the service was superb and the happy hour was fantastic! We walked to PF Chang's for our dinner, went to see a play and enjoyed the pool and hot tub at the hotel. The breakfast was to die for.

Room Tip: All rooms are suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patti4999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay, wished I could have stayed all day. The evening reception was nice and relaxing and the Breakfast had a good variety. Stayed there because the weather was bad and the trip home would have been too grueling, so happy I made hotel reservations here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Township, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great location. Visit marred by 50% of the elevators out in a hotel with 100% capacity. Could not get up and down from 10th floor without advance planning (ridiculous). Situation dangerous at breakfast when hoards of rude guests couldn't be bothered to wait their turn.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Janette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We booked a suite at this hotel to start out the evening for a girls night out. It was a corner suite and it was perfect for our group. It was nothing spectacular, but it was nice and comfortable. It was in the corner so our large group didn't bother anyone. It was perfect for our needs. It's also connected to Osteria Via Stato which is great Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emveeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
122 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

perfect location few blocks to magnificent mile , big hotel with comfortable suites , indoor swimming pool , not much to talk about the happy hour at the restaurant (very crowded and no choice and the line will take an hour ) the check in was easy and smooth thanks to miss Takawasa she was so eager to provide me a nice room on a higher floor as i request , being a gold hhonors member she welcomed me and thanked me for my loyalty .
the hotel is very clean and comfy and i would defiantly stay there again .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MustaphaEido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed for two nights a few weekends ago at the Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown. The first night, we were in a room overlooking the parking garage. Not a great view at all, but we weren't spending much time in our room anyway, so no matter. Room was nice and spacious...but there was a party happening in a room directly above us, so we heard EVERYTHING (beer pong, swearing, cheering, etc.) through the vents until early morning hours. We called the front desk three times to request security do something to quiet the guests and nothing was ever done, although we were told it would be. The group was extremely loud until around 11:30 p.m., when they must have gone out. At 4 a.m., they were back and dropping something on the floor for about a half hour. It honestly sounded like a bowling ball being dropped on concrete. None of us slept well that night.

After breakfast the next morning, we went down to the front desk and requested to speak to the manager on duty. After hearing about our experience the night before, the MOD's initial response was, "Well, we can't control who comes in and out of hotel rooms." Okay, but you can take action if other guests complain about how loud and rude other guests are and have security escort them out if they don't follow rules. After we said we called security three times and nothing was ever done, after saying it would be, he did agree to move us to a different room and gave us 50% off that first night's bill -- which we were happy with.

We were moved quickly to a room just down the hall. That room was cleaned fast and housekeeping forgot to empty the ice bucket from the previous guest, but otherwise, it was fine. And we got a good night's sleep that night! Quiet neighbors next door and above.

Aside from the vent/noise issue, both rooms were fine. I forgot how small double beds are, but we made due! The manager's reception each evening was great, the snacks were tasty, and the bartenders were awesome. Even though the hotel was fairly busy both nights, the bartenders remembered what we drank each time we went up to the bar. The complimentary breakfast was also good and there is plenty of seating in the atrium and behind the breakfast area.

Both bellmen were awesome greeters to the hotel and hailed cabs quickly for us.

Also, as of mid-January, only two elevators (of the four) were working, so there was some wait time for elevators. They had an alternate staircase marked for use, but we were on the 7th floor and two in our group have knee issues, so we kept the wait for elevators in mind when going places.

While our stay this year was not as excellent as our stay last year, it was still good. I wish other guests would keep other guests' comfort in mind, but alas, that does not happen sometimes. Given everything, I'll still be back at this property in March. Location is still one of the best in Chicago!

Room Tip: Request a room that does not overlook the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WiscDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Address: 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3853
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Chicago
#57 Family Hotel in Chicago
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Chicago Hotel
Embassy Suites Chicago
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing