We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Ranked #84 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We could not have asked for a better location for a home base to explore the City of Chicago. We had a one-bedroom suite. We were traveling with our three young teenage granddaughters, so the breakfast was a big plus. There definitely was something there for everyone. We were pleased with the service and, for the most part, the room. It definitely was a plus to have an extra sink in the bedroom and a bar area with a sink in the main living area. There is also a Manager's Reception every evening, which we did not have a chance to attend. A couple of things that kept me from giving this 5 stars: The room always felt stuffy and a little musty even though the temperature was comfortable, like there was no ventilation. The pool was very small and always filled with young children, so don't count on a relaxing dip in the evening, even late. We would definitely return here though, and, in fact, are planning on it. I would definitely recommemd.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor and pleased with the location. The bedroom was on the street side though...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VacationDreamer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,417)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,533 - 1,539 of 2,418 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is clean, comfortable, and in a great location on the mag. mile. My rate was expensive, and upon my early arrival there were no rooms available because it was a busy summer weekend in Chicago, but if I can get a better rate, I would definitely stay here again. Missed breakfast (oops) but I am usually very happy with Embassy Suites breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Chelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel was not real friendly overall. Breakfast was not done well, lines were back up. good location, and the rooms were very nice. Might or might not stay here again. Had to fight with front desk to get my gold level points. No water waiting for me in my room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Embassy for 4 nights and had a pleasant experience. The hotel was very clean, well staffed and being centrally located downtown was a definite advantage. Easy walking distance to Navy Pier and tons of great restaurants and very close to the Magnificent Mile. Our suite was tidy overall but the shower/tub was slightly dingy (acceptable though). We had read some reviews that talked about noise (lots of sirens at night) and there was one night that was particularly bad. Overall though the noise was not intolerable. Lots of great value at this hotel, free breakfast was decent as was the managers reception with complimentary drinks. Disappointed that a hotel of this nature did not however have free wi-fi. $15 bucks a day for internet is not good value. Parking was also very expensive on site, so we parked at Grand Park Plaza just around the corner for only $65 for 4 nights. The Italian restaurant on site was excellent, with an extensive wine list. The pool was a bit small, but we had no issues as it was never crowded. A bit over chlorinated however... Overall I would definitely recommend the Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Trip was for both business and family. We got the mini suite and it was very nice. The room and the area were clean. The employees were nice. The hotel was very convenient to all Chicago attractions with walking distance to Michigan Ave. and the Metro. The breakfast had several familiar items. We particularly liked the made-to-order egg with the egg white option. I also appreciated the nice selections of fruits. The breakfast line could be long depending on the time but we could find seats without any problem. The manager reception in the afternoon was awesome with drinks (one alcoholic drink), fruits, and snacks. They changed the type of snacks each day which was very nice. The hotel also had laundry which was free (surprised!). We went out everyday and did not get to use the fitness or the pool. The internet was not free and it was quite slow. Bed was good but we heard siren almost all night. It is something of a trade off if you want to stay in downtown. We parked at the public parking garage nearby ($38/day) and did not use the hotel parking. Overall, we were very happy with our stay and will go back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdtravelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Best service I've had in years! The staff is wonderful, hardworking, very friendly. They want to make your stay unforgettable. Front desk was very quick at check-in and check-out.. Ranka (FD) was always there with a smile... The food was good..not great. The happy hour was amazing..This is the best value possible in downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

When traveling with the family, we try to stay at Embassy Suites. We have found the extra room space is what a family needs, even on vacations. This Embassy Suites has a great location which makes walking to sites, shopping and restaurants just so easy. We arrived around 8:30 am and were given a room right away!! The hotel had many guest, but the front desk was able to find us a room. The room was clean and had everything we needed for our comfort!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NjLovetraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Address: 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3853
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Chicago
#57 Family Hotel in Chicago
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $121 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Chicago Hotel
Embassy Suites Chicago
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing