We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Could not have been worse experience for our wedding reception weekend….” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Ranked #85 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Could not have been worse experience for our wedding reception weekend….”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I will try to stick to the facts however it was disappointment after disappointment this past weekend. My husband and I booked 4 rooms at the Embassy Suites to host family for our wedding reception weekend. We are also Platinum Members at this hotel chain, we travel a lot. We knew when we booked the rooms that the hotel was doing some ‘renovation’ work. The website and employee we spoke a month before we booked the 4 rooms assured us the majority of the construction and renovation would be completed by the time mid-February. Upon arrival on Thursday, there were school groups all of over the hotel. Only two of four elevators were working so it took about 10-15 mins to even get on an elevator (each elevator held about 6-7 people comfortably minus luggage). I don't mind taking the stairs, but its harder when you are 7 months pregnant. From there our ‘experience’ went on a downhill on a runaway train:

•The free breakfast, was literally next to a construction area. So the omelet station was four campfire burners and you got to smell the fumes from the construction while enjoying your breakfast.

•Thursday-Sunday, either only one or two of the elevators were functioning. It was about a 20-30 min wait for the elevator during the day.

•Since the elevator took so long, all of the guests had to take the stairs. Which would be fine if I was not 7 months pregnant!

•On Sunday after finally getting an elevator after 10 mins, my family and I were seating and waiting in the lobby to go to the airport with our luggage. A hotel employee comes over to us and says “we need everyone in the lobby to leave so we can take a photo.” I asked her “where can I sit then?” She says “Oh , just take the elevator to the second floor.” That is fine if I was not 7 months pregnant and had to wait 10-15 mins because you have one working elevator!

•After speaking to the hotel manager and another front desk employee, their response was
“Sorry, there’s nothing we can do." or " I don't know when the elevators will be working again."

We will never stay at the Embassy Suites in Downtown Chicago again. One of the worst experiences I have ever had.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RoadTripper42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESChicagoDowntown, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear RoadTripper42,

I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel and thank you very much for selecting us for your wedding reception. I truly regret that you were disappointed and that we were not able to deliver the exceptional service you expected from us. As the final aspects of our extensive atrium renovation are nearly complete these types of inconveniences will come to an end. I hope you will give another chance to demonstrate our committment to service on your next visit to Chicago.

Ed Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    734
    266
    90
    84
See reviews for
880
345
81
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fish Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Remember when Embassy Suites (and all it's previous iterations) came on line in the 80's? Everybody loved them, then over the last 30 years so many of the properties became run down, and there were half baked renovations and re-do's? Well, this property is an exception! Great renovation, top to bottom! Beautiful room, nice public spaces, incredible location! The only issue is that this is still a property that, due to the amenities, attracts a lot of families. Coupled with the open atrium design and parents that don't seem to care meant a constant cacophony of screaming and running children that could be heard throughout the property. So, nice place, but if you are planning on staying out late in Chi-town and sleeping in you might want to check out a quieter property. I will most likely stay here again, but not on a holiday weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sailingfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, Michigan, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is undergoing some renovations, but it was still quiet. The complimentary breakfast and the happy hour suffered, however, due to a lack of seating. Some of the staff that have been there when we have stayed in the past have moved on, and the new ones are not quite as friendly, but were never rude.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
264 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I booked a last-minute trip over the holiday weekend for a girl's night out with my daughter. The location is ultra-convenient to just about everything!! It's a short walk to the El station (which we rode from the suburbs), there's a grocery store across the street, and of course Michigan Ave is just 3 blocks away. The room was clean (with the exception of cloudy, food-specked drinking glasses and dark fingerprint smudges on the bedroom door). The manager's reception is a nice gesture, but we skipped it -- the lines for beverages can be long. The morning breakfast with made-to-order omelets is OUTSTANDING!! There is construction on the 2nd floor and it appeared only 2 of 4 elevators were working (so be prepared to wait -- or use the stairs). The doormen were friendly and made us feel welcomed. The pool and work-out rooms were nicely maintained. If we ever spend another night in Chicago to play "tourists", this will be our first pick. Thanks ESH!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttaylor2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I love the Embassy Suites Hotels!!! Best service, welcoming staff, reasonable prices, beautiful accomodations and they really know how to show their appreciation for paying customers!! Their rooms are alwyas fresh and clean as well as extremly comfortable. I will be booking again very soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Past experiences have been good, but this trip lacked the service we are used to. Our room wasn't as clean as usual. The breakfast buffet had many items empty and we had to wait for clean plates. Checkout took an unusually long time.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 830cjbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Great location in Chicago, near shopping, restaurants and theaters, but incredibly noisy with the atrium, especially if anyone (like I did) sleeps in the front room of the suite. Breakfast and the managers reception were very nice, and the hotel employees were great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SBtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Address: 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3853
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Chicago
#57 Family Hotel in Chicago
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Chicago Hotel
Embassy Suites Chicago
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing