We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Ranked #83 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hotel Lobby & pool under construction. We were aware of it when we booked our room, but not a problem. Easy check in & check out. Good complimentary breakfast & nice manager's reception with frees drinks! Wifi was $10 per day per device. I would stay here again. Close to alot of attractions & good restaurant/stores. Parked at a garage at 21 W Ohio through Park Whiz. Parked the car from Thursday afternoon till Sunday night for $86. Walked &used taxis & uber.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,719 - 1,725 of 2,478 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

First the good points. The rooms are great and the location is fantastic. My company rate is to die for!

Now the bad points. The hotel is being renovated and I'm told will be going on until Easter. It looks like it will be good, but the noise was pretty loud on the Saturday morning I was there. The temporary breakfast area could not cope with the volume (but at least they put a note in the room to advise of the busy times). Everyone was very helpful, but in the end, things were slow due to the construction and the temporary reception area. If you are going to go before the renovation finishes, just allow some extra time.

I'll try this place again next time in Chicago - it could easily get another star at that time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefrequenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

First, I am a Hilton Gold member so I stay at Hilton's whenever I can while traveling. First, I requested a no smoking room but the room I was placed in smelled like stale smoke. I later found out that they put me in a smoking room, which surprised me that they had smoking rooms at all. Second, there was some contraption in the bath tub (I am guessing for someone with a disability). I called and house keeping and they couldn't get it out. I then waited for an hour for maintenance to come up to no avail. When I called down to get service, they said the maintenance guy was doing something more important and wouldn't be up for another hour. I then demanded another room because it was already 11 pm. When I went to the front desk to switch rooms, they told me they didn't have another smoking room and tried to get me to stay in my current room, which I refused to do. I was also supposed to have free water in my room for being a gold member. So, I took a bottle of water from the room and was assured I would not be charged for it, but of course I was charged $4. Terrible, terrible experience and I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mattjd74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very clean room! The Hotel itself is under some major construction inside the lobby and pool area. Other than that, it was a great experience. Very helpful and pleasant staff. Parking is included which is a big bonus in Chicago! It is located in the heart of the city. You can walk to just about anything from shopping, spa's and restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim_c48346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

While this hotel is under a pretty huge renovation (main lobby area, pool and fitness center), the staff managed to make our stay a nice one. We needed two rooms as there were 7 of us girls enjoying a weekend together, so the front desk staff moved our reservation to 10th floor rooms with a connecting door (nice, thanks!). The rooms were recently renovated but dusty, understandable with the amount of tile work being done on the main level (just left a dusting reminder for housekeeping and it was taken care of). We liked the amount of space in the suites, along with the fridge in each room and sinks outside the bathroom.

Unfortunately we experienced a problem with getting room keys to work, and after going back 3 times to get this fixed, I was frustrated by a front desk person who refused to help without 'proper identification.' Prior front desk staff simply asked a series of questions to verify our room 'ownership' and helped us...no help from one person. We DID get room keys to work after proving our identity, but the extra hassle was a pain.

The lines were reasonably short for both the Manager's Reception and the Hosted Breakfast. We enjoyed the Manager's Reception bar staff as they remembered our drink preferences from one night to the next. Drinks were generous and flowing; snacks were tasty and plentiful.

Location is outstanding...only a couple blocks from Michigan Ave shopping and many good restaurants close-by. As long as you know that there is a bit of a mess (renovation) going on, no pool (but can use Hilton Garden pool across the street), a small fitness center and some noice/tiling mastic smell, it's a great hotel. We spent most of our time shopping and touring so this didn't bother us much. We really enjoyed our weekend!

Room Tip: Any room would be good at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamsGrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

As a repeat customer of the Embassy Suites location, we were anxious to enjoy this hotel with my family who came downtown to see the Zoo Lights and downtown Christmas decorations. We also looked forward to enjoying the spacious atrium lobby and pool. Unfortunately, we were greeted by a hotel under renovation, with a closed lobby, pool, and 2 of the 4 elevators, out of service.

The experience was very disappointing, and frustrating given that there were too many guests, to be served by 2 elevators. Guests resorted to using a single stairway, which exited into the kitchen. At times, the stairway was not allowed to be used, which left guests waiting up to 20 minutes for an elevator.

This was a poorly managed situation, primarily to overbooking the hotel beyond the capacity the facilities could handle. Shame on Embassy Suites for letting their customers down.

Room Tip: Stay on lower floors, which will make it easier to use the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dudeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Shortly after arriving, I realized why we had gotten such a great rate when we booked for the last weekend in December. There was major construction going on in the atrium. It was rather noisy and a little congested in the lobby area. HOWEVER, I felt terrible at all of the horrible reviews the hotel was given. Our room had updated decor and was very clean. The construction hours were only during the day and during the week. Now I will say it was noisy during the day, but it didn't matter since we were out and about. The main thing I would recommend is getting to breakfast early before the lines are long and the food has run out. Unless you or your children take naps during the day, I wouldn't rule this hotel out.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJR2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Address: 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3853
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Chicago
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $104 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Chicago Hotel
Embassy Suites Chicago
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing