We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great for business travelers...Family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Ranked #84 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2011

VERY busy hotel... packed with tons of families

I have never seen a happy hour with so many families and children --- and long lines.

There were lots of children running around the hotel in the evening, and in the morning.

The hotel restaurant (food and service) were the highlight.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusTraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,094 - 2,100 of 2,477 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

This hotel is in indeed very clean and the staff is very courteous and professional. They do have a good breakfast buffet with a wide variety of foods and an omelett station. I had a non-suite room and the only negative is the strange configuration of the room. It has very long hallway which leads to the sleeping and bathroom areas. As with all other Embassy Suites it is very much catered to families with children.
Walking distance to Magnificent Mile and the Navy Pier.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelMouseSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We just returned from a family reunion and I cannot say enough about the hotel. The hotel staff was simply incredible to our 60+ family from all over the states. The free breakfast and happy hour served as a major part of our reconnecting and the entire experience could not have been better. The breakfast was plentiful and yummy with enough to make everyone happy, omelets made to order, pancakes, eggs, hash browns, cereal, donuts, bacon, sausage, oatmeal and more. There was something for everyone including - vegetarians and those on gluten free diets. The room for breakfast and happy hour was gorgeous with a beautiful plant wall. The lobby had plenty of comfortable chairs to just hang and chat. The happy hour had more than just wine and beer. The location was perfect - within walking distance to a lot of Chicago sights (millennium park, navy pier, taste of Chicago, the river tours, Billy Goat Tavern, the beach and more) - which made it super easy to transport our group to where it needed to go. We walked just about everywhere. The rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious. Our group ranged in age from 80 to 3 and everyone had a great time. I can't say enough about the whole experience and would recommend this hotel to everyone and anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgeanne525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at Embassy Suites during the 2011 NEA Representative Assembly, the staff and all the employees were courteous, helpful, and accommodating of all our delegation. The rooms were well kept, clean and spacious!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ganas3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We found the location of the Embassy Suites to be great for walking around downtown and Michigan Avenue. Our room was very clean and a great size for our family of 4. There was a starbucks that we used every morning right under the hotel because we were not impressed with the inroom coffee. The free breakfast was on par with most Embassy Suites but after one try at the very busy buffet we found other breakfast options for the rest of the trip. Likewise, the manager's reception seemed very crowded so we only visited it on the first evening of our trip. However, in Chicago why would we waste our effort on a crowded buffet we could get in any city when there were so many great options right out our door!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentuckyDerbyGirl270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

This hotel was a very nice hotel in one of the best locations in the city. We were only a block away from the red-line and bus stops which were very safe and cheap. The only downside is that the lobby and eating area need to be upgraded they were very 90s looking. Overall I would stay here again.
P. S. There was barely no line at the free breakfast in the morning. So don't let that discorage you.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wardk30712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My husband & I stayed here for weekend get away. The hotel was very nice and the rooms were very spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. It was a busy weekend in the city so the line did get long for breakfast at certain times, if you got down there early enough there was not a problem. The hotel staff was very helpful. The hotel is in a great location, there are so many restaurants and stores within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mollyd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Address: 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-3853
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Chicago
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $105 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Chicago Hotel
Embassy Suites Chicago
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing