We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chicago blues festival”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #150 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“chicago blues festival”
Reviewed August 8, 2010

the hotel was just across the road from grant park,very handy for the festival,and a very short walk to buddy guys legends club just round the corner on wabash street,chicago city centre i found easy to walk about.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank johnvGlasgowUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    768
    816
    417
    444
See reviews for
529
711
173
558
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We just stayed at this hotel yesterday July 31th 2010 and we were only staying 1 night for a concert. It was awful from the start. 1st when we arrived at 5pm the parking lot was full so we had to park 1 1/2 blocks away and had to carry all of our belongings back to the hotel. When we finally was able to check in 40 mins later they told us our rooms weren't cleaned yet. So we waited another 30 mins. Finally when we got into the room , you were over powered by the stench of mold, wet damp mildrew. The bath room sink didn't drain and the carpet floor was wet and damp. This room really should have been condemed and there was no way we would have stayed in the room. Since the hotel was fully booked we tried to get our car after the concert but since it we parked in a parking lot that wasn't theirs and it was closed we couldn't get our car to drive home. Finally after about an hour of complaining they came up with an available room ( after they told us they were booked?) It was close to 3am by time we go the new room so we had no choice but to sleep there, in the 2nd room the smell was a little better but the damp, mildrew stench was still present. Our plan was to hang in Chicago the next day but we knew we couldn't stay a second longer in the room then we needed to and we couldn't get our car until 6am so after we woke in the morning about 5:45 am , we noticed a few black bed bugs in the bed...GROSS. We couldn't have gotten out things and left any faster. I have stayed in several hotels in Chicago but this one was the worst. Never again will I stay here. Since we booked with priceline we weren't able to get any money back. I would rate this hotel at a 1 star.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

DeKalb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2010

My rating has nothing to do with the stay itself; we're not picky, and we loved the rate and location. A month after our stay, however, we saw that an extra $250.00 charge had been billed to our credit card. We had not been notified of the charges, and when we called the hotel they claimed that we had done damage to the mattress. I wish we had been more picky! Then we would have told them when we arrived that we didn't want to have a room with a torn mattress, and we would have been saved the indignity of being accused of causing the damage ourselves! I am disputing the charges with our credit card company, but the hotel has been less than cooperative in backing up their claim that the room was in pristine condition before our arrival. Avoid unless you plan on taking a photo record of your room's initial condition for legal purposes!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Just got back from Chicago and stayed 2 nights at The Congress hotel. Yes it's an old hotel with a classic turn of the century look with the lobby and main floor taking you back in time. But it was clean and the desk clerks and concierge were pleasant and helpful. Our room was a family suite, and was very spacious, with a king size bed in it's own room and 2 full size beds in the main room. The ceilings were about 12 feet high which made the room feel even bigger. There was some peeling paint on the doors ( which must have been very old). The bathroom was fine and everything functioned properly.
The service was great. We needed towels and they were brought up in 5 minutes. Our TV remote was missing from the room where the king size bed was and they had one up to us in like 2 minutes!
The location is also great. It is right across from Grant Park (with it's awesome fountain), and walking distance to the Shedd Aquarium (about a mile), Art Museum (3 blocks), Millenium Park (4 blocks), and other attractions.
One con was the parking garage set up that just wasn't designed for todays traveler, but just deal with it. Another con was that you will hear the El Train outside till about midnight then again in the morning but it wasn't too bad. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

PROS
I was scared of going to this hotel based on reviews. What a sweet surprise! Clean, well kept, antique look and feel, solid construction and EXTREMELY QUIET; seems even dividing walls are made of concrete or something close. Very spacious too.
Reasonably priced in an excellent location in Chicago - on the touristy Michigan avenue and overlooking a beautiful park.
CONS
Internet and breakfast cost extra

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsafiriTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, illinois, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2010

High class amenities like: Styrofoam cups, dated style, ugly rooms. Staff removed shampoos and soap the second day of my stay. The next day my key card did not work in the door after working all day. Went to the desk and asked why it didn't work and she said that I might have had the key next to metal or other cards. Well they originally gave me two keys, the second was sitting in my room in the envelope the entire time, that key also didn't work. Would not stay here again. You can still find cheaper prices for nicer hotels in the same area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank electricpineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

First I must say, I almost cancelled my reservation after reading the comments posted on this site. The only other hotel I could find was the Palmer House Hilton for an additional $200 per night the week before we were to leave. There was a big convention in town and everything was sold out. We stayed 2 nights and $400 is alot of really good food for a family of 6 so we decided on the adventure and kept our reservation. We were in Chicago to visit our daughter 7/16-18/10, who is interning there for the summer. We wanted to be in the heart of everything so we could walk everywhere but without having to auction off a kid to pay for it at the end. With 6 people, a two bedroom suite was cheaper than 2 rooms. This hotel had everything we needed which was a place to sleep, period. We were not there to take in the hotel amenities, we didn't even eat there because out the door there are endless possibilities within walking distance in any direction. We were on our way to Gino's East for Pizza but were told by one of the doormen that Pizano's on State Street a couple blocks down was way better, and that Gino's is just for tourists. Took his advise and it was the best meal we had the whole weekend. The food is one of the best things in Chicago. Why waste your taste buds on hotel food. I will say this - If you are expecting or wanting a Hilton like hotel or like the amenities of a hotel and want someone there to wait on you and you like to lay in bed till noon and want room service or are just a typical complain about everything type person right down to how soft the towels and TP are, this is not the hotel for you, stay at the Trump Tower. This is maybe a 2 star at most. Yes it is old, yes it smells odd in some places (we had a funky smell in our entry way, you got use to it though) and yes there is a picket line, who have the most lazy picketers I have ever seen. They walked around the front in a circle for maybe 10 minutes then sat under a tree for like 20. They don't even care that you are there. They are getting paid to walk around in a circle. Then the next time you look, they are all gone. They were only there a couple times a day. Waste of the union money they are getting paid. Location and cost are the best part of this hotel. You are directly across from the fountain and Millennium Park and on Michigan Avenue and a very nice walk to Soldier Field and right behind the hotel is the heart of Chicago. Because of the strike and all the bad reviews the room prices are very reasonable for the location. The air in our room (#1421) only had the fan working but the air in the connecting room where the kids were worked (and by kids I mean, 15, 21 and two 24 yr olds) so with our door open the whole time it was ok. It was 90 and sunny the whole weekend. There was only 1 bathroom in the suite, wished there were 2 as there were 6 of us. There was plenty of hot water and we didn't ever have to wait for it, so I don't know what everyone else's issues on here was in regards to the water. Our room was clean, beds were somewhat comfortable, definitely not like my bed at home though, so if you want it to be like home, stay home. I didn't think the hotel was as bad as some of these reviews came across. The room reminded me of an older Super 8 or Motel 6 in the middle of Po-dunk Pick your State, only it was a room a historic beautiful building in the heart of Chicago. Yes it needs updating real bad, but I wasn't there to admire the furniture in my room, watch cable or want updated wallpaper. Clean sheets, running water, no bugs on Michigan Avenue. My kind of hotel. And about the hotel staff being slow and rude?? I didn't see it. Checked in fine, got the car valet parked (recommend this, quick and easy) and delivered to me just fine, didn't see any other guest arguing or complaining to any other staff member. I would stay here again for a quick weekend. Possibly not for an extended vacation of more than 4 days (would go broke) and as a business traveler, probably would stay somewhere else. Someone posted about the constant noise of the train? You are near the loop. The train runs all the time. Even in a different hotel you are going to hear it. You hear it everywhere. And another complaint I read was the view from the rooms. Unless you ask for a room over looking Michigan you are not going to get a very good view from anywhere in this hotel. I can't even imagine getting a decent view from the Hilton from all sides. They are in the middle of the city with buildings all around them. It is not like you are going to have a palm tree out your window. You will most likely have some shade of brick, maybe a roof top and if you look down, there will probably be a dumpster in an alley. It's Chicago, not the Florida Keys. If you don't mind a little quirkiness with your room or have super high expectations this hotel isn't that bad for the price and location. I have stayed in far worse and have survived.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schmidy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#137 of 190 in Chicago
1,983 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 190 in Chicago
1,942 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#101 of 190 in Chicago
5,026 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#89 of 190 in Chicago
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Property: The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 520 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 851
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step inside and experience an extraordinary piece of living history during your next visit to downtown Chicago at the Congress Plaza Hotel. This "Landmark of Chicago Hospitality" has delighted business and leisure travelers for over a century. Guests at the Congress Plaza Hotel can explore art institute, millenium park, buckingham fountain, magnificent mile,museum campus all with in walking distance just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Grant Park, our 14-story property is located along Michigan Avenue, providing unlimited access to the city's finest retail stores, the bustling business district and Chicago attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Plaza Chicago
Hotel Congress Plaza
Congress Hotel Chicago
Congress Plaza Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing