We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
CongressPlazaHotel
$189
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/30/21
eDreams
$189
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/30/21
Lol.travel
$148
View deal
FindHotel$179
Trip.com$177
Agoda.com$189
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,416)
Filter reviews
3,416 results
Traveler rating
358
988
1,010
524
536
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
358
988
1,010
524
536
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grant park buckingham fountain a lake view room an older hotel art institute lake michigan field museum the bean few blocks the magnificent mile lakeview aquarium doorman
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 3,416 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2019

The desk staff was a bit aloof, snippy. Thought I was in Paris for a fleeting second. Of the three historic, Drake wins but more costly. Congress ties with Palmer House. Chicago Athletic, just down the Michigan from the Congress, is probably best of the four. Definitely ask for a viewing of the banquet room, security will bring you up. Musty like the Overlook.

Room tip: Ask for a renovated room! Walking around, the older part of the hotel was dank and claustrophobic.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justnotherjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
congressplazahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Thank you for choosing The Congress Plaza Hotel, we look forward to hosting you for a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2019

I stayed at the Congress Plaza with my daughter and four granddaughters. We booked a family suite expecting two queen beds and a full out couch. We were thrilled with one room with a king sized bed and the other with two queens. Ask for the South Tower or North Tower on Michigan Avenue. We were on the 9th floor and were able to see Navy Pier from one of our windows. The Pier had fireworks on Saturday night that was an extra treat. Yes it was louder on the weekend but quieter during the week.
We walked to all the major sights including the theater to see Hamilton that was amazing. This hotel is historical. My granddaughter researched it and found it was where Al Capone stayed and had meetings. It is definitely an olde but a real goodie.

Room tip: Dunkin Donuts is in the next block. Great for quick inexpensive breakfast.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 118sydneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
congressplazahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

Thank you for choosing The Congress Plaza Hotel, we are delighted to hear your visit to Chicago was nothing short from exceptional. We look forward to hosting you for a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2019

For our recent family reunion, we stayed at the Congress Plaza Hotel and were disappointed. Unlike other hotels, they don’t offer free breakfast and, while the lobby and architecture is impressive, it has seen better days.

The staircase balustrades are ornate and classic but now exhibiting the ravages of time and minimal maintenance, with chipped paint and water seepage spots on the walls.

The passageways to the rooms are maze-like and winding. Room towels are not full-size and the bathrooms are small, with chipped tiles.

The only thing going for the hotel is it’s central location on South Michigan Avenue, placing you within walking distance of major museums, restaurants and recreation parks.

It’s really a shame that such a valuable property is not living up to its full potential!

Date of stay: June 2019
2  Thank veer2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
congressplazahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2019

Thank you for your feedback, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences encountered during your stay. The Congress Plaza hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Chicago. We are constantly updating all aspects of the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and hope you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2019

The hotel service was excellent. The rooms were older but very clean. The prime rib sandwich was excellent at the restaurant. We enjoyed our stay and will be back next year. Asking me to type 200 characters, so adding this :)

Date of stay: June 2019
2  Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
congressplazahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

Thank you for choosing The Congress Plaza Hotel, we are delighted to hear your visit to Chicago was nothing short from exceptional. We look forward to hosting you for a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2019

It's a great location, very close to several sights and places to visit, such as Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Cloud Gate, etc. The hotel itself is decent. The rooms are on the small size, but nice.

However, be aware: there isn't free parking if you drive your own vehicle there. We were told by two different people at the hotel to park in the PARK 1 lot behind the hotel. It turns out that is *not* the place to park. Our car got towed and we had to play $220 to get it back.

Then we were told that in order to avoid having it towed, we had to park in the garage - at the rate of $44 per day. The garage attendant said that the hotel would validate our parking and off-set the cost. Turns out that wasn't entirely true, either. The hotel does validate parking, but it still costs $34 per day.

There also isn't a co-op laundry on-site - or anywhere even close. I tend to travel light, relying on doing laundry at some point. This is the first time I've had trouble finding a laundromat to get my clothes clean.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 419ebhinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
congressplazahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are extremely sorry that you dealt with so many frustrating and unacceptable issues during your recent visit with us. As you can tell by most of our reviews, these issues are not common to the hotel and we are both surprised and disappointed by the lack of service you experienced. We do not own the parking garage. They have there own rates. Valet parking is $49 a night and self parking is $44 per night. If you have any questions regarding parking rates please contact the parking garage at 312-922-4128.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews