We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
CongressPlazaHotel
$189
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/30/21
eDreams
$189
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/30/21
Lol.travel
$159
View deal
Trip.com$177
Traveluro$164
Agoda.com$189
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,416)
Filter reviews
3,416 results
Traveler rating
358
988
1,010
524
536
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
358
988
1,010
524
536
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grant park buckingham fountain a lake view room an older hotel art institute lake michigan field museum the bean few blocks the magnificent mile lakeview aquarium doorman
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 3,416 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

Convenient location at a reasonable rate.
Clean room, friendly room service staff. Front desk staff could Improve on greeting their guest, make them feel more welcomed.
All in all nice stay, I would stay there again

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
congressplazahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2019

Thank you for your feedback, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences encountered during your stay at The Congress Plaza Hotel, we look forward to the opportunity to host you for a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

This hotel is one of the oldest in Chicago and it can't hide it.
The lobby and the rooms have a past atmosphere. This does not mean that the hotel is bad but don't expect any modern amenities(old heating system, sockets, etc..).
The room was really spacious. Due to the price we chose room without park view.
The staff was just doing their job. I have no complains but I have not received any exceptional service. I didn't try the breakfast as it was really expensive. There are lots of cafes around, where you can have a nice breakfast. The hotel couldn't be better located. You can explore the whole city center on foot if you like walking.
I would stay again there in the future since it is one of the cheapest hotels (but not cheap), it is comfortable and centrally located

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
congressplazahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2019

Thank you for choosing The Congress Plaza Hotel, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you for a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019

I booked 28 nights (total more than $6000) at The Congress Plaza Hotel for our Company Sales Team to attend a major convention at McCormick Place. Seven total rooms, some more nights than others. We even shared rooms with some team members to save $. Reasons for booking here was to save about $3000 from staying at the show site, proximity to entertainment downtown and close dining options. I’d say view since they advertised it, but they placed us in rooms facing another hotel. There was no view.
Our reservations were all confirmed through Expedia. They were all confirmed when I checked in day one, but with a long time taken at the desk to sort out the reservations for many staff coming and going at different dates. Still, all seemed well. I left a Master schedule for all our rooms and guests, by names, at the front desk. The rooms were all over the hotel, not in one area for staff activity conveniences. Everyone had a different style room. Only ONE of our 10 guests had a room that was acceptable. The rest were unclean, doors were not properly secured, windows barely opened (be aware -- you do not control the temperature in your own room). The hotel either has heat on or AC on for ALL rooms, regardless of room preference, and the default temp for all rooms was "set" at 74 degrees. Outside it was 75-80 degrees most of the week. AC was NOT available during our stay.
We were asked to check out and check back in each of our 7 days there, or else we would be locked out, despite never having to change rooms. This was due to the way Expedia booked the rooms vs. the way the hotel booked the same set of rooms. They could not figure it out. This confusion resulted in our room keys malfunctioning EVERY DAY. We all had to return to the front desk on multiple occasions after having gone up 10-12 floors to our rooms. The front desk told us our cards were being de-magnetized at the show. Not true. It was their reservations challenges. Had I NOT confirmed available rooms left for later arriving guests EACH DAY, those guests would not have had a room, despite our confirmations day one (and again day two) at the hotel. Keep in mind, all our rooms were PREPAID in FULL. The showers leaked onto the bathroom floors, soaking up floor mats each time we showered. One room had a doorknob connecting the adjacent connected room that had been loosened by the other room to where there was a 1” gap to see into our room!
The last straw was when our President received a call at 11:30 p.m. one night from the front desk, awakening him, asking him why he was still in that room. He was furious. He still had two more nights on his PREPAID room. His key worked, so obviously they had him in there, but their crappy reservation/scheduling systems did not reflect his complete stay. Still, why would ANY hotel call a room so late at night with such a ridiculous question? Answer: None would. Except for the Congress Plaza.
Everyone but one guest had a HORRIBLE experience at this hotel. After complaining for the sixth day in a row, the Hotel Manager, Shaquille, told me our beef was with Expedia since they were paid in full by us but paid the hotel only 80% - as was their agreement with Expedia - so he had nothing left to refund us for our inconveniences. There is plenty more that was inconceivable about our stay here. SO UNPROFESSIONAL. We should have checked out day one and gone to another hotel, one where the rest of the hotel was as nice as the lobby. Very misleading! Bottom line? Completely unsatisfactory service and, after clearly outlining our dissatisfaction, ZERO $ offered in compensation.
DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Room tip: Choose another Hotel
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank dismayedaboutCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

This hotel was extremely beautiful in the lobby and the elevators were great. But when you get to the floors where the rooms are it becomes a bit old looking. Although it is old, the rooms are fairly big and the bathrooms are spacious. The door handle on our bathroom did fall off, but all in all it was a great hotel.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tekayahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
congressplazahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Congress Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2019

Thank you for your feedback, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences encountered during your stay at The Congress Plaza Hotel, we look forward to the opportunity to host you for a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019 via mobile

Horrible service. I will never return. Rooms outdated, ancient furniture that was damaged, neither ac or heat worked. Called done 3 times before an engineer came up and told us the ac and heat did not work in the entire hotel. Front desk and restaurant staff rude and unhelpful. The wait staff was too busy hitting on my companion. They had one slow person working desk at 3 PM checkin.i read some of the other reviews and those were not remotely close to our experiences. I have copies of text messages from hotel staff and pictures to proof my points.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
5  Thank Hadleyhodgkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews