We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Nearby Hotels
$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$643
$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chicago South Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$217
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$292
$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$675
$550
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western River North Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$319
$299
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$361
$351
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$488
$375
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$474
$437
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,944)
Filter reviews
2,944 results
Traveler rating
280
854
875
451
484
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
854
875
451
484
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrant parkbuckingham fountaingold rooma lake view rooman older hotelart institutelake michigansoldier fieldshedd aquariumthe beannavy pierking roomfew blocksthe magnificent milelakeview
Filter
Updating list...
1,737 - 1,742 of 2,944 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Bit scruffy and outdated, but totally ok hotel to stay few nights. No free WiFi is a big minus. The best thing is the peaceful location within walking distance from Millenium Park and The Loop. Still, would choose another hotel for the next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susannaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Room was small and outdated. Did not want to walk on carpet in bare feet. Bathroom was OK. At least it was spacious. No wash cloths in the bathroom. Had to use a hand towel. Our room was on the second floor by the elevator doors. The "elevator" was a small 2-3 person car. I felt unsafe in it and it was hot! I couldn't find any steps to the second floor. Would have had to jump out the window in case of a fire! Doors to all the rooms on that floor slammed shut!!! They made a huge loud noise. People were coming and going ALL night and were loud in the hallways. I was running my first 1/2 marathon the next morning and did not sleep one wink due to all the slamming doors and noise. It was absolutely horrible. The only advantage to this hotel is that its close to the lake and within walking distance to other attractions. There were what looked to be homeless people sleeping on the ledges outside the hotel when we got up the next morning. There was also a group of people who appeared to have stayed all night in one of the main floor seating areas. They had stacks of red solo cups and several empty 1/2 gallon liquor bottles on the table in front of them. They all looked stoned out of their minds. Pay the extra money to stay at a nicer hotel. I couldn't wait to get out of there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was charmed by the old hotel with the classic lobby and the location. Once I got to my room, the old charm ended. I was so disappointed. The carpet in the room was so old and patched. It did not even seem clean and I did not want the kids to play on it at all. The wallpaper not only was old but it was yellowing making it look dirty. The bathroom was newer and clean and nice BUT the bathtub was so tiny my kids hardly could fit in it.

The linens on the bed were scratching and the pillows were hard foam and so uncomfortable. Our view from the 10th floor was very nice but the old windows let in every outside noise and the air conditioning never got the room cool the entire weekend.

Also the elevator was horrible. The doors closed so fast and the sensors did not work seem to work correctly. One time our stroller got jammed in the doors as it closed as we were trying to enter. Since my son was not in it at the time, we were able to laugh about it.

We did enjoy the location. We were able to watch to Grant Park and Shedd Aquarium which was nice since it was impossible to get a cab outside the hotel the entire weekend.

The staff were all pleasant and helpful.

I was just not happy with what we paid for the state of the rooms. We were in town for a race and the location was great but I was so disappointed in how the room was.

Room Tip: Request a high floor room in you want to get away from the street noise.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffery F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The view was amazing and the front lobby is nice. The room was awful. It was not clean with a dirty Q-tip on the floor when we arrived. Everything in the room needed redone. The carpet was stained and buckling. The baseboards were scraped and needed painting. There were enough outlets, but are on the baseboards. The towels are in the shower and there are no towel racks outside of the shower. The bathroom is spacious as is the closet. Pay the extra money and find a better place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IowaMidwesterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

It's an old hotel, but not bad. The carpet in our room was old, but clean. The bath tub was slow draining so we stood in water when showering. The bed was comfortable, if you like a firm mattress. The rooms are spacious though, but need new furniture, for they were all scratched up. There are no extras, so make sure you bring your shampoo, conditioner, soap, etc... The hotel itself is a long walk to the river and other central city attractions, although it is close to the Buckingham fountain by about 2 blocks. We were on the 7th floor and had an good view of the lake, but we did not get an upgrade, this is exactly what we booked.
Do not eat at the buffet for breakfast,,, Everything was dry, cold and had been sitting there for a long time and at 20 some dollars a plate, it only had about 14 things to choose from, and that included bread and desserts... Not a normal buffet, not worth the money! The good side is that we spoke to the manager and she refunded us one of the two buffets we ordered and allowed us to order off the menu at no cost. The staff was friendly.
WE also arrived early, and we had to wait 4 hours for our room, but were able to put our luggage in a holding room.
The parking there is 39.00 per day and you have to walkthrough the parking garage and around the outside of the hotel and on to Michigan ave to get in the doors with your luggage:( Our truck had dings in it from being stored there...
Oh one last thing, the air is not that cool, we had it on high with the drapes shut and it never really got cold in our room.

Room Tip: It is worth it to get a lakeview room if possible, otherwise you will be dealing with the noise of the "L" (subway car that goes around the south part of the city about 3 stories up.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews