We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Old and outdated but good part of town.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #139 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old and outdated but good part of town.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed St Pats weekend and its in a good location, staff is friendly and our room was clean. We were on the city side so we heard the el allll night. My son said the hotel reminded him of "The Shining" although we never saw a ghost. Great pizza place around the corner. The beds were hard and pillows even harder. I felt like I was sleeping on a rock. I love Chicago and will always return but will definitely find a different hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TLL574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    651
    726
    357
    388
See reviews for
444
599
151
493
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Although historical (built in the late 1800s) and beautiful in certain areas (ie. ballroom, lobby) the majority of the hotel needs some serious updating (ie. rooms, bar). It's "ok" as far as cleanliness is concerned, and the staff is alright (ranging from friendly to not-so-friendly). Finally, although the location is decent (right on Grant Park) there are very few restaurants/bars in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We came from Ireland and found in my opinion , a lovely old world hotel which wants to move on but for whatever reason its not being left develop a pool and spa area. After 9/11 tourists were very scarce flying anywhere in the U.S.A. and the hotel reduced wages to keep staff until things picked up again, instead of shutting down. This didn't please some union or other and they went on strike, The people striking are not workers in the hotel but come from other hotels in the area. Now there's a sort of Mexican standoff thats about to come to an end as a strike cannot last longer than 10 years.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The room that we had overlooked the Fountain and if there is a ghost in the hotel , I can only suggest that he or she had such a lovely time there that they probably never want to leave.
I cant wait to go back there and enjoy the delights of Chicago from such a wonderful location

Room Tip: Look for a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Yes it's old and past it's prime, but it was a delightful experience. The building is over 100 years old, so no it doesn't look or smell new, but if you go there with the idea of experiencing a little history it is worth the lack of hot water and the high cost of parking. We were on the 10th floor, north tower.The staff was pleasant, and the beds super comfortable. Our room was clean, We paid extra for a view of the lake, and it's within walking distance to great shopping, dining and the sites. Went exploring thru the hotel. Observed no ghosts, Saw plenty of people checking in and sitting in the lobby but never once saw anyone going in or out of a room. Had the feeling we were the only ones there. The hallways were creepy, and I was a little scared. I would stay again!

Room Tip: Higher floors, lake view side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

cold room, old hotel, not brekfast included, internet not free....(10 dollars a day) the hotel is in a great position,in the middle from north michagan( all the shops) and the best museum. it s 5 minutes from milleniunm park, and 10 minutes from the museums... but for the price is not suggest...good luck

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was part of St. Patricks Day trip I planned and that went very poorly. The staff from the reservation agent, to the accounting agent, to the front desk associate had poor communication and customer service skills. It is really unfortunate that hotels like this one still are able to sell because of their proximity to the vibrant downtown area. Very dissatisfied with service and hotel property. Make sure you cancel your reservation at least a week before your arrival because they will hold your card pending charges for over week. Please save your money and time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

While on business in Chicago, I went through hotels.com to find a decent priced hotel. The Congress Plaza came up and prepaid for 5 nights.

My room is on the 13th floor. That's somewhat unusual in most hotels but this place has one. Night 1 was fine. Night 2 however was strange. I'm not a believer in ghosts or the paranormal. I've stayed in thousands of hotels over the years on all continents. Never did I associate haunted and hotel in the same sentence. After last night, I searched through Google and found this hotel to have the title of "most haunted hotel in Chicago".

I woke up during the night briefly only to have my laptop, which was turned off, suddenly turn on and start playing audio. Shortly after, I could hear the zipper of my luggage unzip itself. I'm not necessarily convinced this place has anything unusual going on but it got me looking up to the hotel to see if it had a history. Judging from other comments and information on Google, I don't seem to be the first to encounter strange activities.

Aside from the strange behavior, the hotel is dated. You can tell it's been around for a long time. The room was too hot even with the heat turned off. Bed is not the most comfortable but it will do for a business trip.

I still have 3 more nights to sleep there. For better or for worse, I've got a few more days to "experience" this place.

Room Tip: For downtown Chicago, this is one of the best priced hotels. Nothing to rave about but it's chea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank byted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#126 of 185 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 stars 1,788 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#38 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 1,747 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#94 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 4,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Property: The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 520 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 851
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step inside and experience an extraordinary piece of living history during your next visit to downtown Chicago at the Congress Plaza Hotel. This "Landmark of Chicago Hospitality" has delighted business and leisure travelers for over a century. Guests at the Congress Plaza Hotel can explore art institute, millenium park, buckingham fountain, magnificent mile,museum campus all with in walking distance just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Grant Park, our 14-story property is located along Michigan Avenue, providing unlimited access to the city's finest retail stores, the bustling business district and Chicago attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Plaza Chicago
Hotel Congress Plaza
Congress Hotel Chicago
Congress Plaza Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing