We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #146 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Value Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a very pleasant stay in the CPH, staff very polite and helpful, great location right on Michigan Avenue and close to the shopping in the downtown area, fantastic view of the millennium park and the lake from our suite room. If you are looking for a good hotel at reasonable rates then you can't go to far wrong with this place.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Brighty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    721
    785
    397
    423
See reviews for
497
663
167
536
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Porte, Tx
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here on New Years Eve. I had read the reviews and was ready for the "outdated and worn atmosphere of the hotel" I love old things, and I love history so I didn't think it would bother me, and it didn't. The lobby is beautiful, with wonderful mosiac tiles and a chair given to them by the white house. The rooms are quite large and have super high ceilings.Yes, the bathrooms are small, but the hotel is over 100 years, so what do you expect. Our carpet was not worn or stained and the beds were comfortable. We had breakfast in the restaraunt and I was not expecting much but it was actually very good, and the portions were large. We also had buffalo wings and beer in the lounge, and the wings were nice and crispy, very tasty. The bartender was very friendly...as was all the staff. The locations was great, and straight view to the Buckingham Foutain. Is this a 5 star grand hotel that glitters and sparkles? No. But for the $ we paid to stay here, in downtown on N.Y. eve it was well worth it, and I was not dissapointed.

Room Tip: It probably costs a little more but try to get a view facing the lake.... :) We had a side view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovefurryfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I trusted my husband with finding a room for us in the city in December 2012, and nearly had a heart attack after reading the reviews for this hotel.

First night: We checked in late at night. Friendly and professional staff. Our room was on the 12th floor. The hotel itself is a historical gem, however there is much room for updating, especially in the bathrooms. We started unpacking, then decided to go explore a bit. We ventured down our hall and through a door which opened to another hall with a large, dark staircase. With our minds full of the reviews about ghosts, etc., we hurried back to our hotel room where my husband basically begged me to leave and find a different hotel! We stayed, went to bed, had a great night's sleep in the large and comfortable bed, and awoke the next day feeling 100%. In the morning, I chatted with one of the maids who had been working there for over a year, and said many of the maids had been working there longer than that. She said none of them had ever seen any ghosts or anything, although they had heard the stories. Let's face it, no black woman is going to clean hotel rooms for over a year in a haunted hotel. This place is not haunted.

We were pleased to find many cafes within proximity of the hotel, and the cab drivers knew exactly where to return us to after we had left for the day. Additionally, the hotel is relatively close to your typical Chicago touristy sights - we easily walked to the Bean.

Second night: Our family joined us at the hotel bar for drinks. The place has an old, casual, pub feel, with a really unique looking (copper?) bar. The bartender was very, very nice. Another hotel patron ordered a giant sundae of some sort that looked really delicious. The bar was clean, the bar bathrooms were clean and fully stocked, the drinks were good. After a few drinks, 4 of us decided to go exploring. We went down a lot of pitch black hallways (a handful of floors are completely dark), climbed a lot of dark and creepy staircases, and snapped a bazillion photos, in hopes of seeing "something." Finally, 2 of the 4 of us grew tired and returned to the bar. My cousin and I kept up the "ghost hunting," mostly just being silly. We were on one of the lower floors, acting like teenagers, when we were surprised by a security man, who had surely been alerted via security cameras that there were 2 girls poking their noses where they shouldn't. As luck would have it, the security guard was incredibly friendly. He explained the hotel just didn't turn the lights on for certain floors during certain parts of the year, because they don't get any business on those floors. Like the maid, he said he also had never seen or heard "anything," except stories. He was on his way to lock up the Gold(?) Room, and said we might as well go with him. We got a brief glimpse at the gorgeous ballroom, and were very appreciative for his kindness when he could have easily treated us like trespassing criminals!

In summary, once we got over our initial fear of the eeriness of the dark hallways and staircases (which we weren't supposed to be in ANYWAY), we were quite comfortable here. Every staff member we encountered (front desk, maids, security, valet, etc.) was extremely courteous, friendly, and eager to help. The spookiness makes staying here more fun than staying at a cookie cutter, "blah" hotel. If the price stays the same, we will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Anne, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here a year ago and it was the worst place to stay. Small rooms ugly bathrooms and very expensive. I did not like this hotel. The only nice thing was the location but this place sucked. Not a very good hotel do not stay here anymore

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We go to chicago for christmas time every year to see family . The congress is usually our choice , sometimes we try others . But we agree the congress has so much character and a great view of chicago , we always go back . The hotel is old , but has so much history . The location is excellent for shopping , goin to millers pub , the billy goat , shaws crabhouse . If you want good price and a classic chicago hotel = this is it!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: get a lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We wanted old and charming. We got old, no charm, nor a staff that seems to care anymore. For the upgraded lake view, parking cost and incidental, we should have spent the $160 per nite elsewhere. "Hotel rescue" please help this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshineandbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patna,India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Was attracted by its location on South Michigan avenue close to almost every important thing in Chicago. Last time had stayed at Hilton and was impressed by its location and appearance from outside. Very poor upkeep and old smelly carpets in the rooms with thin walls allowing you to get disturbed by activity in the adjacent room. Large rooms and bathrooms with separate closet for hanging your clothes but basically get put off by smell

Room Tip: Higher than 7th floor and preferrably close to the elevator, further you go worse the upkeep and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajan_patna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#126 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#96 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Property: The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 520 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 851
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step inside and experience an extraordinary piece of living history during your next visit to downtown Chicago at the Congress Plaza Hotel. This "Landmark of Chicago Hospitality" has delighted business and leisure travelers for over a century. Guests at the Congress Plaza Hotel can explore art institute, millenium park, buckingham fountain, magnificent mile,museum campus all with in walking distance just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Grant Park, our 14-story property is located along Michigan Avenue, providing unlimited access to the city's finest retail stores, the bustling business district and Chicago attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Plaza Chicago
Hotel Congress Plaza
Congress Hotel Chicago
Congress Plaza Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing