We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #149 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely old hotel”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I thought this hotel was wonderful. The lobby is very grand as well as the staircases & the elevators. Our room was very nice, yes, the woodwork was a bit scuffed & battered but I thought it added to the charm of the room. We had a lakeview room with of course a nice view of the lake. We had very pretty antique furniture & we could not have asked for more, especially at the $89 per night price. The Congress is nicely located, within walking distance of lots of nice restaurants, parks, etc. I would stay there again in a Chicago minute.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    755
    804
    410
    440
See reviews for
516
697
170
555
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I did not choose to stay here. It was booked for me. The lobby is grand but that was all that was grand. The room was the most basic and the temperature was nonadjustable. I had to open the window and was looking at concrete. Had to pay for wifi each day and breakfast was way over charged with service sooooo ever slow. To top it off there was a picket line outside the hotel and it turns out this property is haunted! My colleague mentioned it to me and I thought he was joking. Sure enough it's on the list and not just that... its number 1 on the list! Never again...!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniaYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Montréal
Level Contributor
173 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Perfectly located on Michigan avenue right in front of those magnificient Chicago Parks. Service is good, hotel is clean, rooms are clean, beds are comfortable. But...it definitely requires to be refreshed in a near future. The bathroom is especially from another era. But in general, we had a nice stay in a place charged with Chicago history.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I think that I will never stay here!!!
Hotel is old-fashion and the room was small and dirty. There was a dirty carpet and heat system was too hot and it was not possible change temperature...
I think this was the worst experience in my life about hotel and after 3 days I decide to change hotel paying the different for anticipating departure...
If you thing to stay in Chicago I suggest to choose a different Hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turistRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ten Boer
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Congress Plaza, ideally situated in downtown Chicago, is a hotel with a long history. It is even rumoured that the place was regularly visited by Al Capone. The hotel breathes some 'old chic', but it seems to have outlived its time and needs urgent refurbishment.
If you want a good bed, clean bed linen and a hot bath in a quiet room, well that is what you can get. At least it is what I got. But do not look at the worn-out carpets, the paint that is falling of the walls, the below average plumbing, plastering and tiling, and so on. And internet at $9,99 ex taxes per 24 hrs for each device you have is way over the top nowadays.That should be complimentary in my opinion.
The in house restaurants are also average. Breakfast is relatively expensive at the Gazebo. Prices in Rafael's Restaurant are better fitting the quality of the meals served.
All in all this hotel seems to be over its top and needs urgent updating. The asset of the hotel being that it is located near university campuses and shops.
By the way, there is a strike going on for over 10 years now. The only thing you will notice is that once a while there is a picket line at the main entrance. But that is all, services are not interrupted. In fact, its more a folklore then a real strike.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the inside of one of the towers, or at the backside. A room at the side of S Mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harcourt, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great location on Michigan Avenue, close to everything downtown Chicago. The concierge guys are very helpful - great suggestions for food and activity and how to get around.

You can walk to the Bears game and in the other direction to the Magnificent Mile. In addition the El Station is nearby. Will be going back again very soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

After making the reservation for our stay during the Chicago Marathon I then came across some bad reviews for the Congress Plaza, but my partner & I really enjoyed staying in the historical and characterful hotel. Also, the location is perfect if you're doing the marathon - it took a matter of minutes to get the start line in Grant Park!

Our room had nice features, high ceilings and a great view from the back of the hotel of the city. The room looked like it had been recently renovated and was very comfortable.

The staff were also friendly and helpful. During the weekend there was no sign of the staff on the picket line (some staff have been on strike for nine years!) although they had returned on the Monday. I am sorry that they have reason to be on strike but as a guest during this big event where hotels in the city are all very busy, they didn't act in a intimidating manner nor make you feel uncomfortable for having chosen the Congress Plaza.

A unique place to stay! If you are interested in the Mother Road, it is also one that is recommended in Route 66 guidebooks.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicklet_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#129 of 189 in Chicago
1,957 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#99 of 189 in Chicago
4,946 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 189 in Chicago
1,932 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Property: The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 520 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 851
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step inside and experience an extraordinary piece of living history during your next visit to downtown Chicago at the Congress Plaza Hotel. This "Landmark of Chicago Hospitality" has delighted business and leisure travelers for over a century. Guests at the Congress Plaza Hotel can explore art institute, millenium park, buckingham fountain, magnificent mile,museum campus all with in walking distance just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Grant Park, our 14-story property is located along Michigan Avenue, providing unlimited access to the city's finest retail stores, the bustling business district and Chicago attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Plaza Chicago
Hotel Congress Plaza
Congress Hotel Chicago
Congress Plaza Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing