We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit run down, but decent value in expensive mid-town Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #150 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A bit run down, but decent value in expensive mid-town Chicago”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Congress plaza had clean rooms, comfortable beds and new bathroom fixtures, but much else was lackluster and dull. Outdated heating cooling system was a bit annoying. Staff was friendly. Very few amenities - makeshift excecise room and no pool. The lobby is a post-art-deco gem though.
Great location right across from Grant Park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank am170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    772
    817
    417
    444
See reviews for
531
714
173
559
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My stay at this hotel was much different than alot of the review--thank goodness. We had 2 rooms for the weekend of the Chicago marathon. For the location and ease of reaching the start of the race the hotel was a 10/10! great location for the price. The hotel is old and if u want a brand new hotel, then stay at a brand new hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They were always helpful b/c I called and changed my reservation several times. Check in was fine, staff gave us good advice on restaurants, security was available, they even sent a maintenance staff quickly to fix the door adjoining our rooms. Breakfast was good. Before arriving I was so scared about the old age of the hotel and fire escapes but we checked and had good access to fire escape and stairway too! Elevator was fine and worked quickly with full capacity since the hotel was sold out on Sat before the marathon. No problem with the bed. Only negatives: yes as in other reviews water did not get very hot, but was still ok, very aged by all the coats of paint on the doors and wood trim.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyvac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Here's the deal...the hotel is in a fabulous location, right near Grant Park, the museums, restaurants, Soldier Field etc. HOWEVER, the hotel is in desperate need of a renovation; everything is just kind of run down. I get the impression that a renovation will never occur because they know people will stay there anyways due to their location. This is no 5 star hotel, but if you want a base location with a decent place to sleep, the Congress plaza hotel will be fine.

Also, I found their customer service to be pretty underwhelming. I asked for a rollaway bed, and was told it would be brought up to the room immediately. Four hours later, when the rollaway bed was still MIA, I stopped by the front desk and was told they would bring it up shortly. I mentioned that I was told that four hours earlier and the gentleman at the front desk told me that was the best he could do for me. Any request I had took FOREVER - valeting my car, getting checked luggage, etc. It was all a bit of a hassle.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the lake, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTJumpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I do not understand what prompts people who have not even been in this hotel write bad reviews about it...oh wait a minute, maybe because they get paid for it. Who would pay for someone to do such a thing? I have a few ideas, imagine you want to buy a central location(OCCUPIED BY SOMEONE ELSE, IN THIS CASE CONGRESS PLAZA HOTEL)and want to develop it and make lots of money, what is a good strategy? Well drive it out of business with bad reviews by keeping people away, and then buy it, demolish it and here we go!!
I Like this hotel and will stay there again when I visit Chicago again. In the meanwhile please be cautious about believing every thing you read on line, especially reviews of anything, products or otherwise, there is an agenda sometimes behind them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIgnal Mountain
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This place has serious history! Loved it... Loved it!

The large bay window in room directly overlooked Grant Park, giving us a sweeping view from Navy Pier to Buckingham Fountain to the Field Museum of Natural History to Soldier Field. All that framed by Lake Michigan.

There has been much updating done throughout the hotel over its 100+ year history. We love the 12' ceiling in our room with huge crown moldings. Our bathroom has recently been redone with new fixtures and tile from floor to ceiling.

Yes, I'd recommend it. And the price was reasonable.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking Grant Park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg4hand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

When I opened the door to the room, I immediately smelled mildew. It was so humid in the room, you could see water damage to the picture hanging above the bed. The bed was also horrible. The mattress was shot. When you sat on the edge it would make a loud creaking noise and you just sunk in it. The bathroom was in bad shape too. Tiles were cracked and broken. The shower head shook so bad while the water was on, the wall plate came loose from the wall and fell around the shower head. The staff was unpleasant as well. While we attended an event in one of their event rooms, a server stole our camera off the table. They have a security department, and apparently this happens all the time.

It's a great location, so if you are going to get drunk and rowdy, don't plan on sleeping, and don't own any valuables, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewakko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel is disgusting. It was booked via my business, but otherwise I would have checked out on the first night. From the beginning the tone was set by the rude guy at valet. The restaurants were dingy and the rooms felt like old NYC style apartments. Ripped wall paper, terrible springy mattresses, gross bathroom, very loud AC unit. I asked to be switched to a different room because I didn't even feel safe in the one that I was in. The second room was larger, but not any better. I would never stay here again, not even if the room was free. It's spooky and feels like there are ghosts here. I can't wait to go home!

Room Tip: If you are reading this and you still choose to stay here, God help you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candace J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#137 of 190 in Chicago
1,984 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 190 in Chicago
1,944 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 190 in Chicago
5,038 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#88 of 190 in Chicago
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Property: The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 520 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 851
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step inside and experience an extraordinary piece of living history during your next visit to downtown Chicago at the Congress Plaza Hotel. This "Landmark of Chicago Hospitality" has delighted business and leisure travelers for over a century. Guests at the Congress Plaza Hotel can explore art institute, millenium park, buckingham fountain, magnificent mile,museum campus all with in walking distance just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Grant Park, our 14-story property is located along Michigan Avenue, providing unlimited access to the city's finest retail stores, the bustling business district and Chicago attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Plaza Chicago
Hotel Congress Plaza
Congress Hotel Chicago
Congress Plaza Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing