We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #150 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could be better!”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The entrance and lobby were quite impressive, and staff was professional. Wonderful location which allowed us to visit Chicago as long as we wanted. Valet parking was expensive but worth it considering that it is hard to find a place to park in downtown Chicago. The rooms (regular I think) were decent but looked very very old. Wallpaper was starting to fall apart and the corners of the room were not very clean. It was nice to have adjoining rooms. Decent hotel but would only go there once. You're basically paying for the location....but you can find better rooms at that price in downtown Chicago!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matchamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    772
    817
    417
    444
See reviews for
531
714
173
559
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

These are my observations of the Congress Hotel from 8/1/11 to 8/3/11. We arrived two hours before check-in and asked about storing our luggage after walking from Union Station in the 90 degree heat, but the desk clerk asked about our reservation and gave us our keycards to room 1158 in the north tower.
The room: was clean, AC was working great, good water pressure, hot water quickly - some reviews have been critical of these things. The view was of the south tower and the center section of the hotel below. The bed was a standard king with newer furnishings, but it looked like someone previous had left the hot coffee pot on the desk and ruined the finish. the bathroom had newer fixtures. The shower was well above my 6'2" height. I did notice that whoever remodeled the bathroom used a different shade of tile for the last row and didn't put anything over the exposed edge of the corner. The room was quiet except that the Ltrain was behind the hotel, but it is Chicago and part of the character of being downtown. They were setting up for Lollapalooza this weekend and blocking off Grant Park.
The staff was always helpful and courteous.
I booked the room from the hotel's website as they offered a better discount than the major booking websites(run of the house=$111/night + taxes). I believe it was a good bargain after watching prices for a few weeks.
We would stay again because of the price and location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesH1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The saying “You get what you pay for” is not true at all in this situation. We took deluxe suite with lakeview. First, we could hardly see the lake because we were on fourth floor which was way too low. Park view was fine. The room itself is outdated on so many levels. Jacuzzi looks more like a tub. Overnight, we could hear people laughing from the room next to us which was very annoying. AC had no temperature control. Only ON or OFF option.
The only good thing I can say about our experience is that the bed was comfortable and the location of the hotels was great.
For the $400 price, I don’t think this was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkoDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We had an amazing stay at the Congress Plaza Hotel last weekend. The location gave us prime access to all of the wonderful attractions that the city of Chicago has to offer.
This is an older hotel with rich history and architectural charm. We found the staff to be courteous and efficient. We even had access to our rooms before the official check-in time. Given the location of this hotel, we felt that the price was truly a value! Our room was facing the "L" side. My 83 year old train buff dad was ecstatic! Others may prefer Michigan Ave view. Clean rooms, comfortable beds...what more could a guest ask for! We will definetly stay at the Congress Plaza Hotel again and recommend it to our family and friends!

Room Tip: Our room was facing the L side. For train buffs, it's heaven! Also for anyone who wants to exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shar2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The exterior and lobby area of the hotel had everything you want when in historic Chicago. Plus the location is good - right along the Lake and makes center city easy to walk to. But if you plan on spending any time in your room either sleeping, bathing working then forget about it. My room was dirty - towles were shoved in the air conditioning unit to keep it quiet plus it didn't even cool the room, the rugs looked like they were used at a frat party and the paint job in the room looked like it was done by Stevie Wonder. The furniture looked like it was stolen from the set of a porn movie. All-in-all a terrible stay. Factor in that I had security following me around the lobby and souvenir shop like I was some kind of shoplifter just made things worse. Stay away from this hotel - based on what I saw - there has got to be hotels that are so much better for the price - it ain't cheap.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eldiablo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This was our 2nd stay here, the other time was last year. The first time we were given a suite and this time a two bedroom suite.
This is an older elegant style hotel but very well kept and renovated frequently. Fully staffed at all times. The rooms are very clean. Service is excellent & immediate. The toilet got stopped-up at 1AM, we called the desk & the plumber was there in 5-mins, fixed it immediately.
The beds were very nice & comfortable with great room service.
We ate dinner in their restaurant with no complaints about the food & service.
The hotel is in a terrific location, across from Millennium & Grant Parks, the Buckingham Fountain, as well as the Downtown Loop is next door. The lake yacht harbors, Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum are all an easy walk. Michigan Av buses stop in front that go to the Zoo, Museum of Science & Industry as well as other places.
We will stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jphuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

The Congress is a mixture of good and bad. We went on a family trip to go to the museums and do a bit of shopping.
The good: the Congress has a great location and good prices. They offer an early (1:00) check in and for $50 you can check out as late. This is very convenient if you're trying to maximize vacation time. The desk staff is very nice. We had no problems with either check-in or check-out. Our room was large enough to accommodate a roll-away easily and the beds were quite comfortable.
The bad: they've let this once grand hotel slide into a shabby state. Our room (and indeed the entire floor) had a strong, nauseating, musty smell that stayed with us even when we returned. We had to wash even unworn clothes back home. The shower pressure was like someone pouring a cup of water on your head and we had to wait 10-15 minutes for warm water. There were stains everywhere and the carpet was so dirty our socks were quickly black. The air-conditioning had two temperatures: off and freezing. Overall you can tell this was once a grand hotel but it needs significant attention in order to be comfortable now. One odd thing; they seem to have fired their concierge staff and given that task to the bellmen. The problem is that the bellmen don't speak much English and obviously don't enjoy answering questions (I assume because no one tips them a dollar a question). I asked the distance to a local restaurant and was told "That's more than two miles away" no offer was made to give directions, call a cab or make reservations. If this is the service they plan to give they should just close the concierge desk and stop pretending to be a first rate hotel. They need to make up their minds whether they want to be a discount "motel" or a real full service hotel. We'll pay a bit extra and stay at a full-service hotel next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StV6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#138 of 190 in Chicago
1,984 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 190 in Chicago
1,944 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#102 of 190 in Chicago
5,036 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#87 of 190 in Chicago
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Property: The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 520 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 851
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step inside and experience an extraordinary piece of living history during your next visit to downtown Chicago at the Congress Plaza Hotel. This "Landmark of Chicago Hospitality" has delighted business and leisure travelers for over a century. Guests at the Congress Plaza Hotel can explore art institute, millenium park, buckingham fountain, magnificent mile,museum campus all with in walking distance just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Grant Park, our 14-story property is located along Michigan Avenue, providing unlimited access to the city's finest retail stores, the bustling business district and Chicago attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Plaza Chicago
Hotel Congress Plaza
Congress Hotel Chicago
Congress Plaza Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing