We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #110 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed August 29, 2006

Very clean, comfortable room and friendly staff. The hotel's Italian restaurant is fair. Better off to eat at Joe's Steakhouse across the street. It is superb. This hotel is adjacent to great shopping-- A good place to stay in the heart of the shopping district. Beds and pillows are comfy too.

  • Liked — modern, clean and comfortable room
  • Disliked — dripping faucet in shower
  • Tips/Secrets — if you have vertigo, stay on a lower floor
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlton's Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    1,013
    590
    222
    101
See reviews for
448
397
103
1,238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2006

As a Marriott Rewards member, I know what to expect of Marriott Properties. This hotel was exactly as expected. Formal enough without being stuffy, decent service and value. The location can't be beat!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
Thank biztrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2006

Stayed at the Marriott Aug 12-14. Absolutely loved this hotel. My girlfriend and I went for a girl's weekend away and thought the location was just perfect for what we needed. Shopping right there & close to everything. We walked all over even to Navy Pier.
At night it was so nice to crawl into the big comfy bed and we slept like babies. For us it worked. Only thing to complain about is not knowing where everything was, our room at least, did not have any info on what the hotel offered. When we go back we will once again stay at the Marriott.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
det,mi.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2006

We stayed at the Marriott Hotel in Chicago the 2nd week of July(06) and had a pleasant stay.The room was standard but the view on the 35th floor looking east to the lake was great.
The bathroom was small by any standard and unvented.
The pool was good and the fitness room excellent.
The location was prime for our needs as we ate at a lot of different locations.Never did we eat in the hotel.We did have drinks at the bar in the main area on the 1st floor.
Overall it worked out good for my wife and myself.
:)

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank loneagle113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2006

I spent a week here in early July -- and have stayed at this hotel about a half dozen times over the years. Service is excellent, rooms are OK, restaurant not great. But, if you want to stay in downtown this is a very good choice. Restaurants abound nearby and many attractions are easy to reach. You'll be in the middle of much of what Chicago has to offer. The hotel is older but has been maintained well. Big minus the lack of Internet service -- it's wired and costs $15 A DAY in the room. A big minus if you want to be online.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Expensive Internet service
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ehm1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2006

Don´t get me wrong, it´s a nice hotel with a supreme location. It´s just that I´ve stayed at the Marriott Courtyard with equally good location and paid a $100 less. Even the room at the Courtyard was better, and the only thing it lacked was the five-star lobby that the Marriott has. The fitness room was nice and breakfast too, so overall it´s ok but not great.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2006

We stayed at the Chicago Downtown Marriott in late June. If your business takes you to the downtown area of Chicago, this place is a must. This hotel sits on Michigan Ave and within walking distance to all of the great shopping located on the Magnificient 5/8 mile. The hotel is average on appearance. The lobby offers a nice sit down area, bar, and coffee shop. The rooms are SMALL in comparison to other Marriott's we have stayed. The rooms did not have coffee makers or hair dryers. The pool was a lap pool only 12'x38'. There is a nice work out room that offers cycles and free weights.

Valet parking is offered for $35 a day or self parking for $22 a day. We opted for self parking and found it to be a bargain as we walked or bussed to all of tourist locations.

Overall, I would rate this hotel as average due to the small rooms, lack of a swimming pool, no coffee pots or hair dryers.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KansasJayhawkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#76 of 187 in Chicago
4,238 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#4 of 187 in Chicago
153 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 187 in Chicago
3,224 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 540 N Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#88 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 1198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're not your average Michigan Avenue hotel. We're your host to help you experience Chicago to its fullest. Magnificent shopping. Renowned dining. Chicago's top attractions - Navy Pier, American Girl Place, Millennium Park, Theaters and Museums- a walk away. And when you are done exploring, we've got renovated luxury Chicago hotel rooms to relax and recharge. With 90,000 sq. ft. of versatile event space, we are a Chicago luxury hotel that provides a polished setting for productive business engagements, cherished social gatherings, and elegant wedding receptions. When you are with us, forget your standard hotel lobby and discover the M.I Greatroom, where business and pleasure come together in an expansive, comfortable, workable place. Grab a bite at Rush Street Pantry, our new lobby marketplace concept, with Chef-crafted food focusing on fast, fresh, gourmet options. At the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel, we don't want to just be your place to stay. We want to help you travel brilliantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing