We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms nice and clean but small bathrooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #109 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rooms nice and clean but small bathrooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

About average for a U.S. Marriott. Not happy at all that the Executive Club not open on Saturday. A city (and hotel) servicing conventions weekly should have the Club Open 7 days a week!!! Hotel rest for breakfast very nice and friendly staff. Lobby bar seating is pretty awkward in that there is a lot of wasted space, need more/smaller tables versus large and fewer chairs. Also loud with the large screen TV's. Nice if your team is playing, but if you want As quiet business conversation forget it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmella G, Senior Executive Assistant at Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to forward your comments regarding your recent stay. We follow standards of operation in that our Club Lounge is opened Sunday - Friday and closed Friday evening through Sunday morning. I am sorry for your disappointment and thank you for your kind comments rgearding our restaurant breakfast being enjoyed and friendly staff/hosts that assisted you. We appciate your feedback regarding seating in the Rush Lobby bar area and TV's. We look forward to welcoming you back and the opporunity to Host You Brilliantly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    1,006
    588
    222
    101
See reviews for
445
394
103
1,221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
200 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Having been to Chicago many times, I wanted to stay at this Marriott on Michigan avenue for the great location it has. Being on North Michigan avenue can't be beat.
I was given a room at a high floor and away from the elevator which was what I usually request.

The big bad was extremely comfortable, the bathroom had all what I needed and the work space was good too. Wi-Fi worked really bad and had to stand beside the door to get some decent signal, a pity that a great hotel has bad internet signal in 2014.

On the ground floor there's a Starbucks open and a big bar with lots of big screen TVs to have a good social time. Overall a good hotel with lots of nearby places to walk to. Although a bit outdated, it's still a great place to stay in Chicago.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a city view, especially towards the lake or Michigan avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with a large group the took over the whole hotel. The hotel is well run and they did a great job of accommodating my group. The rooms are on the small side but comfortable enough. The location is perfect. My only real complaint is the internet service in the rooms. They give you 2 options. The basic wi-fi is $15/day. Faster service is available for $20/day. The faster service is for those who want to stream videos etc. The basic service is sub standard at best. I had the basic service and it would often take literally 5 min to download my email on my iPad. Often getting messages that I am not connected to the internet. I would go look up the address of a restaurant and again it would take several attempts. Several times I just gave up and had to use my phone to get my email. Often a email would say 'this message has no content'. I would then use my phone and be able to read the message. I stay at hotels frequently and this does not happen at other properties. Some of the chains give free internet just for being in the loyalty program. Internet that works. If you are going to charge for internet, and $15/day even for a multi night stay is expensive, it should at least work and be reliable. Otherwise everything else was fine. But if you need to use the internet you have to get the high speed at $20/day (gasp!) because the 'basic' just doesn't cut it. Time for a upgrade!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank sgsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a work event. I've stayed at many hotels for work events and this one has plusses and minuses. Two big plusses for me were the location (right in downtown Chicago) and the lobby/gym area. The lobby is smooth looking and vibrant, with decent food. The gym had two parts, separated by an indoor pool, which I didn't even know about. Both gym areas were good and had personal TVs on the cardio machines.

The rooms themselves weren't anything special - normal size for the main room and surprisingly small bathroom, but that didn't bother me too much. The sheets did not breathe. That is what bothered me the most as each morning I woke up super hot. I wasn't on the "high floor" part so I didn't have a great view, but at least it was quiet as high as I was.

Overall, I would stay again.

Room Tip: The higher the better to get high enough over the tops of the buildings surrounding it and high abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OurGalVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas Z, Front Desk Manager at Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to forward your comments regarding your recent stay. I was glad you found the hotels fitness centers enjoyable. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests needs and ensuring each guests stay is a spectacular experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again and the opportunity to "Host You Brilliantly".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

This Marriott is ideally located in heart of Chicago and very close to all great venues such as millennium park and great restaurants and shopping malls. The hotel has good restaurants and the rooms are quiet clean. Even though this place is expensive, considering the location its a good value. Best part is you can walk to all great places in this area. Had a good stay and I recommend this place to people who want to explore Chicago

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the top floor. View is amazing from floor 35 onwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shekar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

This is a very good Marriott in the heart of Chicago. If you are fortunate enough to get a high room facing the city you'll enjoy a great view. The executive lounge needs a refresh, but other than that this is very good hotel for both tourists and business travellers alike.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fry_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Great rooms and excellent location . I stayed with my husband and 2 grown daughters for 6 nights. All 3 rooms were excellent and the location was perfect for sightseeing. The staff are fantastic, everyone was very helpful. I recommend the buffet breakfast in the hotel, lots of choice which is great if your staying a few days. Room service is also excellent , which we greatly appreciated after a couple of very busy days sight seeing. This hotel is also an excellent seminar venue.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank janelle016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#73 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,168 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#3 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,161 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 540 N Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#88 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 1198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're not your average Michigan Avenue hotel. We're your host to help you experience Chicago to its fullest. Magnificent shopping. Renowned dining. Chicago's top attractions - Navy Pier, American Girl Place, Millennium Park, Theaters and Museums- a walk away. And when you are done exploring, we've got renovated luxury Chicago hotel rooms to relax and recharge. With 90,000 sq. ft. of versatile event space, we are a Chicago luxury hotel that provides a polished setting for productive business engagements, cherished social gatherings, and elegant wedding receptions. When you are with us, forget your standard hotel lobby and discover the M.I Greatroom, where business and pleasure come together in an expansive, comfortable, workable place. Grab a bite at Rush Street Pantry, our new lobby marketplace concept, with Chef-crafted food focusing on fast, fresh, gourmet options. At the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel, we don't want to just be your place to stay. We want to help you travel brilliantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing