We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly dated but still good option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #109 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
United States
Level Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Slightly dated but still good option”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I travel a lot for business and pleasure and Marriott is a brand that offers consistency. I know what I am going to get when I book a Marriott. I like that. This Marriott is starting to show its age, but still offers the business and leisure traveler great value.

Please note that the cost of sodas in the gift shop is the same as from your room. If you can book a club level room, it is worth doing so at this hotel. You gain access to the club room for sodas and other beverages including bottled water. It also offers a decent breakfast and evening meal. So worth the cost of club level.

There is a decent pool and fitness area. The bar is smack in the middle of the lobby and a bit noisy but plenty of seating area. The restaurant (Harvest) is quite good and offers the usual Marriott breakfast buffet as well as ala carte menu options. The business center is quite good and there is also a kiosk in the lobby to print boarding passes.

There is a Starbucks in the lobby as well.

This location is great as well for enjoying many local restaurants and attractions, many within walking distance.

My only complaint was the noise level. Chicago is NOT a quiet city and since I had a room with a beautiful view that included a sliding glass door, I had a hard time sleeping some nights. I recommend an interior room or specifically request a room away from the street.

Overall this is a good option for someone looking for a high end leisure hotel or a reasonable business hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prs2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    1,018
    593
    222
    102
See reviews for
451
398
104
1,254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is a decent hotel and most of the staff is Great. The downsides: There is no microwave or refrigerator in the room, the pool area is cold (and when we asked if there was any way to turn the heat up the woman working in that area said "well i'm not cold" and basically told us to shut up) The thermostat read 68. And there is no spa, just a pool. The restaurant had a buffet or you could order from the menu ,however, they would not allow one person from your party to have the buffet and the others order from the menu or vice versa. Breakfast is not included unless you get the package for a bit more, and no complimentary coffee in the lobby (there is a Starbucks though) The upside: obviously its right on the mag mile, we had a room with a decent view. They will bring robes upon request, which we asked for, for the pool area, very comfortable beds, the provided shampoo and such have a very nice citrus scent. All and all I really think I would choose to stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciciryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Recently stayed here on a conference. A good conference hotel with all of the facilities that you would expect from a Marriott. Great service, rooms perhaps in need of some updating. Great location, reasonable access to congress centre. Good atmosphere in the bar area. Wouldn't like to stay on a city break if there was a conference in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacksprat100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

All of the staff at this hotel are so friendly.

I especially felt welcomed in the Harvest Restaurant. All of the chefs and wait staff truly go out of their way to make you feel at home.
The breakfast buffet is a little pricey but you are paying for the convenience. I ordered the All American breakfast buffet which includes everything and a drink. The quality of the food is excellent and very delicious. They offer a complete hot breakfast with eggs to order as well as the usual breakfast items. If you don't leave full, it's not their fault! Anything you need, they will get it for you so that makes up for the price of the meal. $23 plus tax.

The staff at the valet parking are also top notch. $56 per night for valet parking. Self parking is about a block away and since I wasn't familiar with downtown Chicago and my company was paying the bill, I opted for valet parking. Self parking is still around $38 per night.

I stayed on the 38th floor with a room overlooking downtown Chicago. What a great view. The king bed was so comfortable. The bathroom was fairly small but other than that I had no problems. Very quiet. For $129 per night, I thought it was a great deal plus i get my Marriott Rewards points.

This is a 5 star hotel in my mind and I'll definitely stay again when I'm in Chicago.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank hobbsnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Nice hotel that is very well located in Downtown Chicago. The rooms are spacious enough but with it being an older hotel, the bathrooms are a little cramped.
The restaurant on the second floor served decent food for a fair price and service was good.
The staff throughout the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. The club lounge is on the second floor which was unusual however it was very well run, had good food and great coffee.
Avoid the lobby unless you like being in a train station. Parking was self park or valet. The garage was very close and to self park was not any worse than staying in a hotel out of the city except it cost $41 per day. This is Chicago though and that is to be expected. I will stay here again next time I am in town.

Room Tip: High floors are great except if it is windy in winter. There is a lot of glass to radiate cold so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornGrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very nice Marriott property. Great location on Michigan Avenue. Hotel is good for both families and couples. Rooms are quiet and comfortable. Bed and pillows are updated and very comfy after a day and evening out. Very nice staff. Will go again!

Room Tip: High floors have a great view in most directions
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinefx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We just had the most amazing time here. We stayed for the weekend for the festival of lights. Great location and the most wonderful staff! They made the kids feel so very special from the moment we pulled up!

Room Tip: choose a high floor and a room on Michigan Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themeanys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#73 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,308 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#4 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 540 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3890
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#88 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 1198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're not your average Michigan Avenue hotel. We're your host to help you experience Chicago to its fullest. Magnificent shopping. Renowned dining. Chicago's top attractions - Navy Pier, American Girl Place, Millennium Park, Theaters and Museums- a walk away. And when you are done exploring, we've got renovated luxury Chicago hotel rooms to relax and recharge. With 90,000 sq. ft. of versatile event space, we are a Chicago luxury hotel that provides a polished setting for productive business engagements, cherished social gatherings, and elegant wedding receptions. When you are with us, forget your standard hotel lobby and discover the M.I Greatroom, where business and pleasure come together in an expansive, comfortable, workable place. Grab a bite at Rush Street Pantry, our new lobby marketplace concept, with Chef-crafted food focusing on fast, fresh, gourmet options. At the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel, we don't want to just be your place to stay. We want to help you travel brilliantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing