We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, But That's Not All”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #110 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
West US
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Small, But That's Not All”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was attending a conference here and was mostly happy with my weekend stay principally because of the property's ideal location on Michigan Avenue, close to so many great shops, sights, and places to eat. My room on the higher floor was small, but it was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the view of Downtown Chicago was great. Furnishings were up-to-date. The cons were little annoyances: the closet door was difficult to slide completely closed; the room service menu had pages missing; there was no in-room safe; couldn't find the HBO channel or the on-screen room service menu on the TV; the clean towels were absorbent, but a little on the thin side; and the table service in the bar, "Rush," was exactly the opposite of that. And there was that room service "Marriott Burger and Fries" that came to $31.00 after tax, service charge, and included gratuity. Nonetheless,I hope to return to this property again, though I hope some of the little annoyances will be resolved. Hats off to the congenial, welcoming employee staffing the Elite check-in. Great guy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    1,018
    593
    222
    102
See reviews for
451
398
104
1,254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
pty
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Best location to walk around sights and shopping. Great lobby ambiance the five days we stayed there. Staff was very attentive, smiling all the time and answer all our questions. Rooms looked recently remodeled, the standard room is on the small size as well as the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PtyChirry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Marriott is a well located hotel in a sea of similarly well located hotels. If the price works for you, you'll get a comfortable bed, but dated furnishings. A high floor is important to minimize street noise and maximize a decent view, looking east is a sliver of lake. Don't accept a room ending in 10 or 12, both back up to the elevators. Our room ending in 12 also had a massive cement wall which blocked half the view. We moved to a room ending in 32, which was at the very far end of the hallway, which kept the room nice and quiet. The staff was uniformly friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
199 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this beautiful and well-maintained facility for 30 years. Great, helpful staff in all areas, good food in the dining room, comfortable rooms of moderate size and excellent beds.
Excellent value, in my opinion, and that is why I return year after year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I was there during the Black Hawks parade for winning the Stanley Cup.
The hotel was clean, our room was clean and all of the staff we came in contact with were VERY friendly.
When we arrived we found out that someone had cancelled our reservation. Luckily Neva was able to get us a room, even though there was ALA conference and people in for the Blacks Hawks Celebration. The restaurant in the hotel serves EXCELLENT breakfast. Try the Crunchy French toast. This hotel is located right on N Michigan in the heart of the Magnificent Mile and like they say "LOCATION IS EVERYTHING". Close to all types of restaurants and shopping. We took public transportation because is was close to the hotel. If you want to feel WELCOMED at a hotel this is your place.

Room Tip: •"Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Truddi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Marriott on Michigan Avenue is a great hotel with a great location. You are close to everything.
The front desk attention was outstanding, the smiles, the enthusiasm, the overall attitude was great!
The rooms and baths were small, but typical for a downtown hotel. They were clean and neat and most of all, quiet.
The halls are tired but I saw updating in progress.
The lobby is noisy but comfortable and has a lot of sitting/waiting area. The lobby bar was enjoyable with local brews on tap and a friendly staff.
I have stayed here several times and will continue to use this as home base on my future trips to the Magnificent Mile and downtown Chicago.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Location, location, location. This Marriot has location going for it and the service was excellent. However, for what we were paying, the room and especially the bathroom, were very small. I do not mind small rooms when that's what you are anticipating -- in Europe, in boutique or older hotels, in NYC independent hotels, and I usually am impatient with fellow Americans who kvetch about room size. However, most major hotels, like the Marriott, in the U.S. tout their spacious rooms and bathrooms. I think someone below may have compared their bathroom size to that in a Motel 6, and that's not too far off the mark -- it was more like a powder room with a tub installed almost touching the toilet which almost touched the sink counter. Bathroom also slightly worn in addition to tiny -- when I took a bath could see patching under the faucet. We had a corner room right by the elevator, which was not too noisy considering that proximity. And we were pleased to have an OK view (from the 19th floor). The bed was comfortable, though it took up most of the room and there was little room between it and the tv stand/dresser. Rooms need to be updated for more plug-ins, especially bedside-- and I know this is picky, but there was a sticker on the tv stand/dresser/desk combo pointing to electrical plugs -- even the sticker wasn't on straight. Details matter, though. We were lucky to have free in-room internet due to the conference my partner was attending; otherwise, that's a pricey $14.95 per day. As an example of the high quality of service, my partner initially had trouble getting connected on her iPad, but a quick phone call had her on in no time.

There's likely only so much Marriott can do to upgrade the rooms unless they're set to do a major overhaul, but in the meantime, why not do some little things to make your guests genuinely more comfortable? For example, Marriott has seems to have switched their in-room coffee service to one of those little individual cup drip brewers that you insert the plastic tray in. Why in god's name when you know you have two people staying in the room do you only provide one serving of coffee?? Sure, I know I can call down and request more, but I shouldn't have to nor should I have to do it every day. Each room should have at least two servings of coffee in it. And make that a better machine and better coffee. (I suspect they have some sort of arrangement with Starbucks so that you are forced to get up, stumble downstairs to get and pay for your coffee, and bring it back up to your room). And how about some more substantial towels? Our bath towels didn't have anything on those at Motel 6 either. No place to hang hand towels. Maybe attending to these kinds of small and inexpensive perks would help one feel more attended when the room itself is less that stellar for the price?

So kudos for location, partial view, and friendliness/helpfulness of folks who work there. Boos for room size and datedness, lack of small amenities that could make up for the shortcomings, especially given the $200+ price tag (conference rate). I'm finding the lower-end Marriott properties much preferable to the "biggies."

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teenyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#73 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,306 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#4 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,288 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 540 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3890
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#88 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 1198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're not your average Michigan Avenue hotel. We're your host to help you experience Chicago to its fullest. Magnificent shopping. Renowned dining. Chicago's top attractions - Navy Pier, American Girl Place, Millennium Park, Theaters and Museums- a walk away. And when you are done exploring, we've got renovated luxury Chicago hotel rooms to relax and recharge. With 90,000 sq. ft. of versatile event space, we are a Chicago luxury hotel that provides a polished setting for productive business engagements, cherished social gatherings, and elegant wedding receptions. When you are with us, forget your standard hotel lobby and discover the M.I Greatroom, where business and pleasure come together in an expansive, comfortable, workable place. Grab a bite at Rush Street Pantry, our new lobby marketplace concept, with Chef-crafted food focusing on fast, fresh, gourmet options. At the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel, we don't want to just be your place to stay. We want to help you travel brilliantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing