We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, just ok hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #109 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great location, just ok hotel”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I would agree with what seems to be most of the other posts here. The location really can't be beat if you want to explore Chicago on foot. Walked everywhere. Rooms are on the smaller side, which is ok for a city center hotel. The room and hallway decor is very dated and dirty, really in need of updating. Bathroom toilet and bathtub were chipped and looked dirty. Furnishings were threadbare. Also on the 33rd floor still heard a lot of traffic noise! They really should have done a better job soundproofing seeing as it's a downtown hotel. I've stayed at the Conrad Hilton right across the street and it is a million times better...that's coming from a Marriott platinum member. Service was very good and friendly throughout the stay.

Room Tip: get the highest floor you can away from any noise
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank a b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    1,026
    594
    224
    103
See reviews for
458
407
104
1,266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I selected the hotel primarily based on the location and my loyalty program with Marriott. The location is fabulous, right on N Michigan Ave, walking distance to all the wonderful shops and several bars and restaurants.

The hotel lobby is dominated by a very noisy bar; it was crowded everytime I crossed it. Considering the size of the hotel, they should have more check-in attendents manning the desks. I had to wait approx 15mins to meet an attendent.

The room was of adequate size and it was nicely furnished. Mine was on the 20something floor and overlooked magnificient mile with partial views of lake Michigan. The bathroom, though small, was adequate and stocked with Bed Bath & Beyond toiletries.

I did not try any of the bars/restaurants at the hotel and bought my breakfast at the Starbucks in the lobby.

Overall, the hotel was nice and I may stay again for the location, but I did find it to be noisy and crowded.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vbh812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
230 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a 4-star because of the location. If you want/need to be downtown near Mag Mile and you like Marriott's this is your choice.
Here are some tips to help you
1) Staff is really friendly and helpful with directions. It's easy to get turned around here so just ask if you need to get somewhere
2) The rooms overall are really 3-star quality. nothing special - no fridge in room, tv is rather small, bathroom is ok, decor is average. Again you are staying here for the location
3) no free wi-fi
4) starbucks in the lobby area
5) nice bar area on the main floor
6) it's noisy so request an upper floor if you can. that will also give you a better view too
7) Fitness Center - a good selection of cardio. Decent weight room with free weights but nothing special. There is also a lap pool and spa. All of this is on the 9th floor. When it's sunny you can also sunbath on the open deck area
8) MI Ave and lots of other shopping is within easy walking distance, however (as with most of Chicago) if it's not hot out, bring a jacket because it gets cold and windy between the buildings

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank thehelpfuldad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We checked in for a business trip my wife went on and her company put her up here. The hotel is centrally located downtown, near the Grand St. L station. The staff has been extremely helpful and the room is comfortable and reasonably sized. The only drawback is the street noise, mainly a lot of sirens at night, and also through the door, you can hear people talk pretty easily.

We had a nice view of the city along Michigan Ave, with a peek of Lake Michigan, also a pretty early and bright sunrise which was mostly blocked by the curtains. Lots of great shopping and great restaurants nearby as well. Also the elevators come quickly, which is a big plus for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drillerdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I used to stay in Marriotts all over Latin America and the US (California, Chile, Bogota, Sao Paulo), but never found a property so poor like this. Rooms are not nice, front desk staff act like they are doing favors to you (my reservantion included club lounge, continental breakfast and internet and was not given to me by check in), no room service after 9:00 pm (Big city as Chicago no room service after 9pm?). Really this property needs much more to be at a level of a Marriott.

Room Tip: Avoid get rooms ending on 03 internet doesn't work in these rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcelo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

First, Concierge Gloria helped us get our bearings! She Is such an asset to the team! Great location of the hotel. friendly staff and overall, a great stay! Smaller rooms, but that is to be expected with a city location.

Room Tip: we had a city view. Nice, but I suspect a lake view would have been better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizTooMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Located just on the Magnificent Mile,very convenient. Has a parking package, the garage is just across the street, can park until 4pm the following day.
Rooms are smaller, and older, just OK, nothing fancy. Lobby is small too. Check in/out really fast. We were early like 11am, but they checked us in anyway (checkin time is 3pm). Very helpful staff. Driehaus Museum is about 3 blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pooloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#68 of 189 in Chicago
4,383 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#8 of 189 in Chicago
241 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 189 in Chicago
3,331 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 540 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3890
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#88 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 1198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're not your average Michigan Avenue hotel. We're your host to help you experience Chicago to its fullest. Magnificent shopping. Renowned dining. Chicago's top attractions - Navy Pier, American Girl Place, Millennium Park, Theaters and Museums- a walk away. And when you are done exploring, we've got renovated luxury Chicago hotel rooms to relax and recharge. With 90,000 sq. ft. of versatile event space, we are a Chicago luxury hotel that provides a polished setting for productive business engagements, cherished social gatherings, and elegant wedding receptions. When you are with us, forget your standard hotel lobby and discover the M.I Greatroom, where business and pleasure come together in an expansive, comfortable, workable place. Grab a bite at Rush Street Pantry, our new lobby marketplace concept, with Chef-crafted food focusing on fast, fresh, gourmet options. At the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel, we don't want to just be your place to stay. We want to help you travel brilliantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing